1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

AMC-AASD15A servo controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Nov 6, 2019.

  1. BURGUIERE MATTHIEU

    BURGUIERE MATTHIEU New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    221Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Ok, because the idea is to control motors, 3 which will rotate 3 different axes, Yan, Roll and Pitch, a circle in a circle, in a circle, I simplify.

    Using with DCS ! you see ?
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yes, sure, but how you are going to deal with the cabling twisting? Each servomotor needs to be attached to servo drive with power cable and encoder cable... also each servo driver needs a DB25 cable to the AMC-AASD15A controller.

    Even if all is somehow wired (wireless obviously :p ) you still have the power source issue...
  3. BURGUIERE MATTHIEU

    BURGUIERE MATTHIEU New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    221Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
  4. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,546
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,133 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Optimus_Phime

    Optimus_Phime New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Director Of Technology
    Location:
    Miami
    Balance:
    131Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    @Thanos any updates on the availability of the AMC-AASD15A servo motion controller
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I placed back in stock a few more pieces as I was getting them ready, and were sold out just an hour later. Sign up for the waitlist to get notified automatically when they are back in stock.

    I'm trying my best to have them in stock for longer each time.

    If you are in urgent hurry, maybe you can try ordering from PT-ACTUATOR:
    http://www.pt-actuator.com/a/products/p5/119.html

    Thanks
    Thanos
  8. Optimus_Phime

    Optimus_Phime New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Director Of Technology
    Location:
    Miami
    Balance:
    131Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I should be on the waiting list i signed up over a month ago ? Let me see if i can find the email.
  9. Optimus_Phime

    Optimus_Phime New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Director Of Technology
    Location:
    Miami
    Balance:
    131Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Screen Shot 2020-06-12 at 4.56.31 PM.png
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Optimus_Phime

    Optimus_Phime New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Director Of Technology
    Location:
    Miami
    Balance:
    131Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  12. pooh

    pooh Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Balance:
    309Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    guys, quick question as i haven't found an answer in the manual (i believe it's worth adding):
    what kind of LEDs can be connected to the controller? i have DC 12v ones, will they fit or will i smoke something? i understand it's powered by USB so 5v only...
    aasd.png
  13. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,771Coins
    Ratings:
    +890 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hiya @pooh thanos will give proper explanation , but i think youll find that these are low powered 5Vdc led's as the current supplied via usb to amc AASdDboard is limited, the other option is to use relays and seperate power supply where the control signals from the AMC are used to triger the relevant releay/ Light option ...thier is a Wiring diagram showing this on his Githun ...i dont have link at moment but suspect it will be the same place you got the diagram you posted .... Wiat for Thanos to give you proper advice though :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    No you can't use 12v leds connected directly on the AMC-AASD15A controller only 5v leds (or 3v leds with 470ohm resistors), but perhaps you can use some drivers if you absolutely need to use 12v leds. See this diagram:

    higher_voltage_Indication_LEDs_for_AMC-AASD-15A.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Hershann

    Hershann New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Just received the PT actuators and AMC AASD15A boards - will need help in next coming days to help with set up and initial test runs!

    Hershann
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Sure,

    Dont forget to get a download package with coins:

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/shop/


    Thanks
    Thanos
  17. Hershann

    Hershann New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the Dirt

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    Kitchen installer
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    751Coins
    Ratings:
    +545 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi @Thanos whats the best way to get one of these AMC AASD15A in the uk ?
  19. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Depends how soon you need it. If you are not in hurry you can just get it from my Tindie store with USPS First Class international (currently can take 6 weeks to deliver).
    https://www.tindie.com/products/tronicgr/amc-aasd15a-servo-motion-controller/

    Or you can email me and do direct order and use a faster shipping forwarding service like the MyUS ( https://www.myus.com/uk/ ). I don't charge shipping fees to the forwarder, and as soon it arrives to their location in Florida, you can choose what delivery courier you want, like Fedex, DHL etc)
    my email: tronicgr (AT) gmail (DOT) com


    Thanks
    Thanos
  20. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Thanos

    I´m really happy to announce that my order is placed and payed ;)

    Kind regards
    Peer
    • Like Like x 1