1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

AMC-AASD15A servo controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Nov 6, 2019.

  1. Garyrv7

    Garyrv7 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I've recently set up the AMC-AASD15A controller on my 6DOF rig and on my laptop it works perfectly but I cannot get it to work on my desktop. when you you plug it in on my laptop it correctly identifies the com port and then it is a simple matter to to set it up on simtools However, on my desktop, when I plug it in it identifies it as: Other device - USB Serial Port and doesn't allocate a com port, therefore simtools cannot recognise it.
    Any suggestions, at least polite ones, would be welcome.
    Gary
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Hi Gary,

    Install the FTDI drivers from here:
    https://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/CDM/CDM21228_Setup.zip

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    After some requests to take apart the Scorpion actuator, here are some helpful videos about it:



    And a quick fix I discovered in the process...
    • Like Like x 1
  4. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    440
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,189Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 3 / -0
    They are worth there money very well made. like the dustcover on pushrod
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yeah and minor details can be fixed easy, like with this 7 min to print part:

  6. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I compiled a video to show the difference of the actuator, before and after the fix (removed shims and added spacer in dirt ring)

  7. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Wow, wasn't even aware it was already released, yesterday!!!

  8. Luke Klaver

    Luke Klaver New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    - 261Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hi guys, seeing if anyone has had any experience using the PT Actuator scorpion series running the AMC-AASD15A controller and Project cars 2? Mainly when you hit a wall they are quite violent/harsh, I have lowered the Spike filter quite low to around 1650 but it is still very harsh. The only way to soften the impacts is to drop the game meanager right back but then everything else is to slow. Just seeing if anyone has a fix or any advice?
    That would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers, Luke
  9. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Which motion software you are using?

    One thing you can try is to lower the max motor speed from the servo drives, from 5000RPM to 2000RPM perhaps or lower...

    I have seen many times PT-ACTUATOR AASD-15A servos being shipped with Pn051=5000 (yes 5000 RPM).

    Just set Pn051=3000 (nominal motor speed) or less...

    Thanos
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Just in case you will ever need need to replace a wall outlet.... upload_2021-6-10_11-38-46.gif :grin please don't do it yourself, especially on Live circuit!!! Don't take my example, I always work on live circuits upload_2021-6-10_11-38-46.gif :rolleyes:



    This outlet had bad Neutral contact, and its the reason I needed to replace it. Yes there is live electricity, but all proper tools and safety precautions were taken. upload_2021-6-10_11-38-46.gif :nerd
  12. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    New improved remote panel for the AMC-AASD15A:

    • Like Like x 1