1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

A motor disconnects in the middle of a race

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Morket, May 5, 2020.

  1. Morket

    Morket New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. I have a home simulator running on ps4 and pc, but when I have in Project cars 2 a few laps around the circuit one of the motors loses voltage, as if it were going beyond the limits and protecting itself. It does the same as when you raise a potentiometer above the pwm in smc3utils.
    I do not understand what is happening, and it happens to me in one motor as well as in the other.



    hola. Tengo un simulador casero funcionando con ps4 y pc, pero cuando llevo en Project cars 2 unas cuantas vueltas al circuito uno de los motores pierde tension, como si pasase de los limites y se protegiese. Hace lo mismo como cuando subes un potenciometro por encima del pwm en smc3utils.
    No entiendo que esta pasando, y tanto me pasa en un motor como en el otro.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,330
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,930Coins
    Ratings:
    +295 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    has the motor driver tripped out ?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,883
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,629Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,682 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Does it happen during normal driving, or in something harsh like a crash or shunt. If the latter then try decreasing the Game Manager % to 97 or even less.

    Other that that my guess would be a PSU or control board shutdown.
  5. Morket

    Morket New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    the motors reach enough temperature normally. I use Chinese motor shield, one for each motor, and a single power supply, can this influence anything?
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,883
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,629Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,682 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Are the shields adequately cooled?

    Personally I run a psu for each board, as a psu is pretty cheap and our rigs generate huge spikes. As a quick test try a 12V car battery, as that can absorb spikes. If that resolves the issue then likely another psu would do the trick.