1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial A layman's analogy guide to PIDs

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by noorbeast, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +318 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Great Tutorial on how tune the PID on motors using JRK software, thank you for doing this!
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Simon collins

    Simon collins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Fabulous guide - Thank you. I've just received JRK's today and your guide will be very helpful. x
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Michael Keymont

    Michael Keymont “I’m racing a Ferrari in the Matrix...” Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    Creative Technologist
    Location:
    Bellingham, MA - USA
    Balance:
    375Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great job on this video! Very helpful to see this process in context while driving.
  4. Jamin01

    Jamin01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    282Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Fantastic info @Avenga76 and @noorbeast . I now have the confidence to tweak and test. One question I do have is (and it may be a newbie type question), how do I get SimTools and the JRK configuration software to run at the same time, as you appear to be able to do, @Avenga76 ?

    When I try running them at the same time one or the other complains. Any advice would be appreciated.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,774
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,227Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,212 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimTools 2 is different from its predecessor as it implemented using the JRK API directly, so you can no longer run SimTools 2 and the JRK utility at the same time. The upside is that using the JRK API makes SimTools 2 even more responsive.
  6. Jamin01

    Jamin01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    282Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Bummer. Thanks for letting me know though. We'll have to work on feel alone.

    At least we seem to have now got it working as intended. Thanks for all the help and guidance. Onward and upward from here!
  7. Map63Vette

    Map63Vette Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineer
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Balance:
    720Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    So random question, but should PID tuning be done with a loaded motor or unloaded or does it matter? In my head it would seem like you'd want to tune as close to "in use" as possible, but on the other hand it seems like if it's a control system that it should be able to account for different conditions since that's the whole point of a control system.

    I have some JRKs showing up today and have some motors to play with already, so was wondering if it was worth putting time into trying to tune motors before I actually built anything for them to control.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,774
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,227Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,212 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I do mine in-use.
  9. fzxj520

    fzxj520 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    SimTools is a generic Motion Simulator
    Balance:
    1,145Coins
    Ratings:
    +74 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Halloween2go

    Halloween2go Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Balance:
    545Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Avenga76 thanks for posting your video on this I defiantly appreciate it. My Rig always seems to overshoot or be lazy, but now I believe I know what the issue is... and Mr. fzxj520 That hardware video was awesome. I had to watch again and take some notes because I was thinking about it differently than I should have. Now I think I have it sorted. Mr. fzxj520, thanks for posting this. I appreciate it.