1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

A few questions before I start my build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by getti, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey guys,
    So now I got it all wired up and I uploaded the @RacingMat code. The motors spin continuously but the pots don't do anything. What am I doing wrong?
    [​IMG]
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,098
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,371Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Not my area of expertise but I would think you need to give more details about what you have or have not done, like installed drivers and tuned tolerance level, or not?
  3. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I installed the arduino drivers and set the baud rate as per the instructions. Then I uploaded the code and the motors started spinning. That's all I could figure out.
  4. Rastus

    Rastus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    11,424Coins
    Ratings:
    +151 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @getti I know zilch about Ards but I imagine that the pots should be set to 2.5v which is the mid and stopped position. Use a multimeter on the center/slider position on the pot and set to the right voltage hope that helps. Good luck!!
  5. Linkup

    Linkup Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    819Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Isn't the first thing that happens is the motor controller turns the motor until the degrees of rotation is meet for a total of 180°. 90° forward and back then it sets at 0° and awaits for input from SimTools? There are definitely other ways to do it and I just read someone explaining this, but it could be for another interface. Note that if POTs are readers then they can't read anything if they are just sitting on the desk? I'm about to start testing the same thing and have been reading a bit about it this morning.

    Edit: Noorbeast posted the related bits below.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
  6. jangomoose

    jangomoose Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Balance:
    784Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Can't quite see but I think you have the wiring from the pots into A1 and A2 on the arduino, They should be connected to A4 and A5. At least that is how they work on my rig using racingmats code. If I remember correctly there are two different wiring suggestions from Racingmat on different threads one saying A1 and A2 and the other A4 and A5
    Also if it is wired correctly the two led's on the mm will turn off and on as you turn the pot, middle off, clockwise or anti-clockwise on.And it is vitally important to get the pots to rotate in the correct direction when attached to the motors otherwise the motors will spin non stop.
    Hope that helps
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,098
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,371Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don't use the code but @RacingMat states the following:

    The code is written to put the simulator on middle position at start :
    /* init position value*/
    int DataValueL=512; //middle position
    - if your pot is fully turned to max, as Arduino reads potentiometer value as motor position, Arduino believes that motor is in max position.
    - but the order is to be in middle position
    - so the Arduino will ask the motor to go reverse in order to go to middle position
    - your motor is turning
    - but while your pot keeps still, the motor will turn non stop !

    - when you manually turn the pot backward to min, Arduino reads that motor is in min position
    - but the order is still middle position, so Arduino will tell the motor to go forward
    - motor runs non stop until the pot is in middle position

    In the code, you have a tolerance parameter : when the pot is around middle position (<middle+tolerance and >middle-tolerance), the motor stops.
    You can broader Tolerance value to stop your motor more easily manually.
    • Informative Informative x 4
  8. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    The wiring diagram is pretty clear and it says pots on A0 and A1. Pretty sure the reason both lights are on is cause it's spinning continuously in one direction no matter if I turn the pot.
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  9. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I can't see any Tolerance value in the code. Also I tried changing the rotation values but it doesn't seem to do anything. I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to this code stuff. Greek to me...
  10. Linkup

    Linkup Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    819Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I'm assuming this is it. I'm completely new to this type of code also.
    {
    int Tol=20; // no order to move will be sent to the motor if the target is close to the actual position
  11. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The code works (for testing reasons) without simtools.

    You don't even need to connect the arduino to your computer with a usb cable...you just need to power it with its own psu(9volt 1000+maH preferably).

    In this configuration the arduino tries to put both mottors in the middle position.

    If everything is connected as required the motors start spinning until you set both potentiometers in their middle position.

    Then the motors stop.

    So if both your motors spin...then you are OK with the motor connections.

    But if they don't stop or change direction when you turn the pots...then there is a mistake on the pots connection that you need to correct.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Did you try A4 and A5 analog inputs?
    Should solve your issue.
  13. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    SOLVED!!! Thanks for that. The wiring diagram should be updated for @RacingMat code to show analog A4 and A5.
    So what's the next step to get the interface working with simtools?
  14. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Got everything working on the model, thanks for the help everyone. Still have to figure out what a "profile" is but it seems to work pretty good for now. Also planning to add traction loss to the model but I might start building the full size rig first.
    Here's a video: let me know what you think..
    • Like Like x 3
  15. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  16. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +114 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi getti,

    I'm George from Hungary.
    I'm also just want to build a seat mover, as you did.
    I have already the motors, and the PSU's. I have read your posts about the building,
    I have understand almost everything about the mechanical part, but at the electronic
    installation maybe I need some help.
    So. I need the followings, right?:

    UNO R3 ATmega328P CH340G USB Driver Board for Arduino DIY

    also I need:

    Dual VNH2SP30 Stepper Motor Driver Module 30A Monster Moto Shield Replace L298N

    The UNO R3 unit connects to the PC and simtools by USB?

    The Stepper Motor Driver connect to the UNO, and connects to the motors, right?
    The power from the PSU's connects to the Motor driver, as in your pics?
    The Motor Driver's output connect to the motors, but I can see some other connections to the motors
    just at the end of the rig, maybe the pot. meters?
    If I need pot. meters, what kind of them I need?

    Can you send me a complete wiring of the final working unit?

    Many thanks for help me.

    George, Hungary.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,098
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,371Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please start your own project thread here and re-post your questions on it, not on another member's build thread: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/forums/diy-motion-simulator-projects.22/

    I sound like a broken record :(: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...tion-loss-wipers-arduino-mm.8904/#post-114816
    • Like Like x 1
  18. George Dobransky

    George Dobransky Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +114 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Getti,

    Should you show me the final and working diagram for wiring or some link for that?

    Thanx,
    George