1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

A few questions before I start my build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by getti, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    527
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +500 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    what arduino code are you using and how many MMs ?
  2. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Sorry I'm really new to this and some of the terminology I'm unsure about, what is MMS? Also I know nothing about code.
  3. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    527
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +500 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF

    If you are using an arduino then you need to upload a sketch (code) there are a few that have been made by members of the forum

    MM are monster moto shield used to send power to the motors
  4. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,884Coins
    Ratings:
    +469 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    It depends on the power (in amps) you need. But basically a 575W power supply will provide something like 45 amps. This should be enough for a 2 DOF, managed by one MM arduino shield.
  5. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok, I have no clue how to do that. I'm trying to take it one step at a time so I'll worry about code when I get to that point. Just need to know how many power supplies to order?
  6. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,147
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    7,711Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,130 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    The answer is one post above yours:
  7. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Buy jrks instead
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    [​IMG]

    Hello motion guys, I'm back. Had a great summer, did lots of racing and now the snow is about to fly so it's time to get serious about sim racing. I've got all the parts needed for my build and I've been working on some plans which I thought I'd share. Let me know what you think.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Looks fine to me, a "go kart" style frame
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah looks good. I like it.
  11. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yea I also decided to use a fiberglass kart seat which weighs almost nothing so should hopefully help make this a snappy rig. I'm thinking about shortening the back piece by 6 inches cause the angle of the rods seems a bit much??...
  12. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    This is what I built:
    Motion part.jpg
    This works well for me and should give you a starting point at the very least.
    I can't really say that I have any issues with this setup.
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  13. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,181Coins
    Ratings:
    +390 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    @getti , check the height of the wheel in your design, or make it adjustable
  14. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks for this!
  15. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes, wheel height and distance will both be adjustable. It looks like it's high in the sketch but thats just cause its a kart seat. It stops below the armpits, the upper body is above the top of the seat.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I bought this power supply awhile back and I figured get it prepared. I just can't seem to read any voltage when I touch the contacts with my meter. Is there something I need to do to get it to make power? When I plug it in the fan spins but that's it....[​IMG]
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,750
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,530Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,603 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See here for details on how to mod a HP PSU, it is very simple to do: www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/how-to-modify-a-server-power-supply-for-12v.5774/
  18. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes, have a look at the link noorbeast posted above. You have to make a couple of connections between some of the small pins of that power supply.
  19. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,667Coins
    Ratings:
    +239 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    [​IMG]
    • Useful Useful x 2
  20. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    4Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Is that 2 connections for the positive and 2 for the negative?... Cause it looks like 4 contacts.
    Also, for the small ones on the middle can anyone tell me which two go together on one side of the switch and which go on the other side of the switch?..