1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

80ST-M02430 need breaks?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Serak907, Nov 13, 2021.

  1. Serak907

    Serak907 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi there. Ive noticed that most of the vendors on aliexpress appear to offer the 80ST with or without breaks.
    The links posted in build threads have sent me to these vendors, yet I haven't spotted any conversation regarding this option.
    Would someone be kind enough to clarify?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +935 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    No need to have brakes if you park the rig all the way down. Just don't cut the power if the actuators are extended up, they rig will free fall...
  4. Serak907

    Serak907 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thank you for the reply.
    Ive been hesitant to get started on this project.

    As I stated above, there are multiple vendors apparently selling the same servo and controller, however, there is just as many different prices/shipping as vendors. Can I trust that they are all selling the same product? Is there anything specific that I need to look for when comparing these motors and vendors? For instance, as far a the controllers go, many of the controllers pictured in the many different stores have the same name (AASD-15A). For the most part these controllers pictured look the same. However, there are some slight variations, ie different button interface, there may or may not be a plate blocking the small plug located directly above the two serial ports, and so on.

    Thanks
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +935 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    They use stock photos, best is to ask them if it's actually AASD-15A drives and if the servo power cable is also shielded
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Serak907

    Serak907 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thank you so much. I really appreciate your input.
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2021