1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

6DOF sim / linear actuator diy / sabertooth-arduino

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by baykah, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Merci Baykah!
    Q-Est ce que tes petites billes a l'interieur du top bearing laissent des marques sur l`exterieur de la tige de carbone a long terme ... assez pour changer pour un Bushing IGUS ?
    J' ai les memes problemes ... ballscrew chinoise un peu courbé et je vais devoir ajouter le fameux spacer au bout de la tige comme celui de pmvcda

    Thanks
    The small bearing inside in your top ball bearing print some marks on the outside of the carbon rod in the long term ... enough to change to an IGUS Bushing?
    I have the same problems ... Chinese ball screw are little curved and I will have to add the famous spacer at the end of the rod like : pmvcda
  2. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    616Coins
    Ratings:
    +123 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I took carbon tube of 2mm thick (25/21mm) to be sure they are strong. The mark on mine are light, it is also producing small carbon dust arround.
    For DYI thing I don't think it is so much of a problem.

    Anyway, the igus are expensive.

    I'm more focused on removing the potentiometers .. they will fail long before the rod.
  3. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    616Coins
    Ratings:
    +123 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I just bought a 10 turns position sensor from bourns
    AMM20B5A1CLASL380

    it costs arround 35€, it is contactless and output 0 to 5V on 10 turns.

    I will mount one in one of my actuators to validated things and switch the others after that.

    Goal is to go contactless to replace the potentiometers.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Zwodog

    Zwodog New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Hello. Sorry to interupt. Question from the absolute beginner. Just wondering. As position sensors look quite complicated. I might have missed out the topic in the faq. Did or anybody consider using a analog output IR proximity sensor like sharp GP2Y0A02YK0F instead of pods, belts and so on?
  5. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    616Coins
    Ratings:
    +123 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I didn't see anyone try it but it might work

    According to the datasheet :
    "Distance Measuring Sensor Unit Measuring distance: 20 to 150 cm Analog output type"

    But the graph voltage vs distance is non linear, so it would need a correction within the arduino

    The version 10-80cm maybe more suited, however the non linearity is still the same
    http://www.sharp-world.com/products/device/lineup/data/pdf/datasheet/gp2y0a21yk_e.pdf

    It is not so expensive !, you would need to mount it on top of the actuator to avoir having dust on it.

    If I had time ....
  6. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    good , let me know if this work good ! ( laisse moi savoir si cela fonctionne bien ) merci , thanks