1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

6dof servo project

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by ho123, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. ho123

    ho123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    belgium
    Balance:
    129Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    for school i am making a full scale 6dof motion sim but instead of making it whit normal dc motor i am making it with servo's. my question is: am i going to need a motor driver or can i just couple it to a power supply and my arduino?
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    23,683Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,163 / 18 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi, short answer - you will need motor driver/drivers. Recommend you have a good look at the Sites Projects/FAQ area - building a working full size 6DOF is not as simple as it may first seem to the uninitiated.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,706
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    85,047Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,149 / 34 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. ho123

    ho123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    belgium
    Balance:
    129Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    the school will invest in to my project. the construction will be made with materials from school and fortunately we have 6 used servo's from a robot arm.
    and thx for the help
  5. ACSlater

    ACSlater New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    220Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    why 6dof? Not challenging you, just curious what you believe the realistic benefits are for overall experience
  6. Jun

    Jun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    South America
    Balance:
    7,291Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 1 / -0
    I found a video explain how to use servo (an industrial ones) with arduino.
    But it's in spanish:

    :cheers
    Cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  7. donald

    donald Old Simer New Guys

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Occupation:
    Free Job People
    Balance:
    3Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    This is what am i need, but i can't read spanish....T_T
  8. Ashraf

    Ashraf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Balance:
    835Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Connecting Arduino to the servo driver is a great idea :thumbs
    - have you implemented this project?
  9. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,120Coins
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Translation:
    Sending pulses and direction from arduino to control it's speed and direction in open loop.
    Arduino needs to use a PLC interface between it's pins and the servo for signal level translation.


    This is not close to any useful way to control a servo. No closed loop or positioning... Perhaps if you add external potentiometer to measure some angle rotation or position of an actuator that the motor is attached to?
    • Informative Informative x 1