1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF racing platform 12v dc 3.6kw arduino and mm/SMC3

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by bruce stephen, May 3, 2016.

  1. helisfreak

    helisfreak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    515Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1 / -0
    Actually I think that's exactly what they are for... but high performance cpu demand high cooling, or shall you say pc freaks. :)

    I originally bought them to possibly make a air conditioner for my battery box for my Solar system.
    :D
  2. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,173Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    They are not used that much on PCs because the insulation mess to avoid condensation, so if you want to not kill your MMs give them a bath on Dow Corning dielectric grease... Remember that as much as you cool the hot side, the cold side gets colder, so you would easily get a nice ice cube with a MM inside :p
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So temperature regulation will be needed. Thermostat and contactor maybe.
  4. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,054
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    It seems that it takes a lot of tinkering with MM's to make them fine for use when attempting to use them at their higher current ratings.
  6. helisfreak

    helisfreak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    515Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1 / -0
    Well, for my case... it only condensate if I turn on the peltier and my MM/Motor is not turn on. If it's all turn on and running then it never get cold enough to condense moisture. With my current draw it seem to balance out well.

    Like I said previously, you can drop the input voltage to the peltier to reduce power. I will let you guys know if my MM die because of moisture. :) But the chip is not attached directly to the peltier, it's attached to a aluminum plate first.... > peltier > heat sink.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    If you insulate the cold side heatsink so ambient air does not reach it, the heatsink shouldnt sweat;).the board might sweat at low temps tho. I ordered two of the controllers. ill use one to make a cooler for my kayak. maybe someday ill hook one up to a chip but for now ill just stack motos and cool them with fans. my monsters never get above 105f while running my rig so its really not an issue. please keep me updated @helisfreak this is very interesting subject. I may adapt this to a pc in the future.
  8. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,173Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    If you want something cooler...;) PHASE MANU 013.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @mariano68 is that compressed gas, compressor powered or maybe something else?
  10. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,173Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    That's phase change cooling (like a micro AC cooler on steroids :) ) I did some units long time ago.
    PHASE MANU 236.jpg
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
  11. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,054
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    Considering the indicated temperature on the meter and assuming the refrigerant used is stable at room temperature did you use R-32?
  12. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,173Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Nope, R402 :)
  13. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,054
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    Thanks. I see that r402a has a boiling point of -49.2c and r402b -47.2c. So I guess its possible to still get a little colder than that in a closed system or the temperature reading shown is slightly inaccurate.
  14. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,173Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    You can get lower temps going a little on vaccum, as a tradeoff you loose a little cooling capacity, but all depends on the proc. you use, that unit is from 7 or 8 years ago, when the procs. had higher wattage than current generations, so, If I remember correctly it was tunned for 250watts or so.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20161126_133843.jpg 20161126_000022.jpg 20161125_163409.jpg
    I added a new piece of personal fitness equipment to my rig in the form of a simucube based direct drive wheel. All said it came in at just under $1000usd, and about 10hrs. work(including the rim time and rig cutting/welding.
    • Like Like x 8
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,865 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yeah, it's too easy now... :oops:

    you're on your way becoming an athlet!
    • Funny Funny x 1
  17. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Lol @RacingMat, you guys who have had these dd wheels for awhile must be ripped like a body builder...... I am so sore today. (Still grinning tho)

    @Nick Moxley you were right it's overkill. I'm running at about half strength.....

    I also added four Dayton transducer pucks to my race seat. I made up some mounting rings on the 3D printer to hold them in place.
    (Pics to follow)
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Ya im running just shy of the 20nm my motor's rated at. Im at 12 on my MCC, the Bump from 10 to 12 was Big enough, I Could only imagine going to my theoretical max of 16.xx which would be in the 27nm range....errr...ya....No thanks. Yes i want to say that the Power increase has been nice, gives the shoulders and upper back a little workout pending how many laps you put in.


    Remember to PULL on the wheel Dont Push, Your muscles in the Pulling direction are Vastly superior to the Pushing muscles. ;)
  19. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,865 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Funny Funny x 5
  20. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,982Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20161129_101322.jpg 20161129_101350.jpg 20161129_101413.jpg
    These are the Dayton pucks installed on my seat. I also have a aura 50watt i am going to place near the front. the mounting rings were printed.
    • Like Like x 2