1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF racing platform 12v dc 3.6kw arduino and mm/SMC3

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by bruce stephen, May 3, 2016.

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,321
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,067Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,622 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hopefully 6DOF math updates to Simtools V2 will enable the roll center to be adjustable in software. BFF can already do this. Although dropping the Centre of gravity of a rig also helps in reducing inertia.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @eaorobbie has already been playing with 6 dof math plugin. As far as rod end placement I just took a look at the overall placement of the top to the bottom. Placed the top on buckets to see how it balanced out then I welded on the wings on the side of the rig. I did have to move the ends around once. The thought behind my design was to try to emulate the feeling of the four corners of the car. I don't do much flight so i didn't really take that into account.
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Iracing at MIS
    • Like Like x 6
  4. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Quality work there Bruce,,,,, your rig looks mint dude.. ...........Damn i hope i don't get the bug to build a 6DOF ,,the missus would surely kill me ,,,lol
    • Like Like x 1
  5. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Due to the hasty assembly of my feedback system I have been wearing out pots (hall sensors). Three have died in a month. The rods were not centered enough and caused the bearings in the sensors to wear out (lateral deflection). So I picked up a few parts to try to do the belt setup again. The first attempt was during my 2dof build and never got past testing due to the same type of lateral deflection. This time the pressure from the belt tension will be on two pillow blocks rather than the pot or hall sensor. The pulleys are printed.
    20160730_020710.jpg
    20160730_011153.jpg
    20160730_011323.jpg
    20160730_011345.jpg
    • Like Like x 6
    • Creative Creative x 1
  6. Thirsty

    Thirsty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Balance:
    593Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    Amazing rig...admire your skills.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    ty for the kind words
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20160807_194542.jpg
    Found a plate at the flea market today.:D
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20160807_132100.jpg
    20160807_131921.jpg
    I only have the rear two motors converted so far but over ten hours and no problems. I printed a bracket for the position sensor.
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I can still see a bit of deflection on the pot from the coupler....if you look at the 3 central slits, they are smaller gap than the 2 outer slots which would tell me there's a bit of deflection going on there......then again it might be an camera flash/reflection thing. When you rotate the shaft can you see those gaps increase on the opposite side ?

    I would advise using Button head style screw's VS Flathead/Countersunk screws, That will allow you to drill the hole in the pot mount slightly over sized and give you the ability to adjust out those small inaccuracies.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Pretty even but yes there is a slight bit on the pot. I bent the coupler drilling it to fit the pot. The other side is better. Hopefully its not enough to matter but maybe ill swap out the coupler. pan heads would probably work better. good idea. :nerd
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2016
  12. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Ah, trying to drill the couplers i could imagine being a challenge if the bit snags a little.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I was going thru videos and found this. It shows my left rear motor shutting down then there is a puff of smoke when the monster DIES. This was the burnt one early in the thread. the monster was working by itself and as you see didnt have much of a chance.(watch bottom right)
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,577
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,417Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,514 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Those little disasters...feel like

    [​IMG]
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Justin Dail

    Justin Dail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Georgetown South Carolina
    Balance:
    316Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Thanks for posting your mms and heat sink link I bought from same buyer and all is well on the ones I tested thanks again
    • Like Like x 2
  16. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  17. helisfreak

    helisfreak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    515Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1 / -0
    Hi Bruce,

    Do you have clear picture of where you mount the spring you mention? You said it reduced a lot of weight on the motor, but I can't seem to figure it out? Is it suppose to help holding up the rig? or just pull it back to position?

    You also mention the Bodine motor was running your MM hot on your 3DOF, this is why you're using 2x MM per motor... Have you ever thinking of using Peltier thermal cooling on the MM?

    I used one peltier for both of the MM, it consume about 50watts... but both of my MM is actually ICE COLD... yes, ICE cold. :)

    So I was thinking to build a 6DOF with my left over Bodine, but only use 1x MM per motor. :D

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  18. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Untitled.png
    @helisfreak its just a nitrogen spring. i use three @60lbs. each. they are placed in the center between the motors on the base and the rod mounts on the top. they offset around 180lbs. they just push, the motors maintain position.

    as far as the peltier cooler i have 5 of them(had 6 lol) but have never really messed with them beyond when they arrived. i hooked one up to a psu, it got hot/cold then went poof in a cloud of smoke. how do you regulate temp?

    gl with one per motor. but at less than 6bucks each I would recommend two per motor. one was fine for 2 dof but the size of this is too much IMO. But maybe with peltier......its just a lot of amps. it runs on three different house circuits to prevent a tripped breaker. the first ride resulted in a slam to the floor because of a power spike that rebooted my pc.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2016
  19. helisfreak

    helisfreak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    515Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1 / -0
    Thanks for the pix on the spring.

    I don't have any temp regulator to control the peltier temp. I just turn them on when the motor is on. The important thing about these peltier is that you need to know which one is the HOT side and a big heat sink and cooling fan must go on there BEFORE you turn it on. Without sufficient heat dissipation, within 3-5seconds it can burn out.

    I guess I can try it and report back here. But I believe it can do it because of the proper cooling it's getting. My MM is running at about 50F (maybe that's too cold). Certainly could put it on a voltage regulator and cut the voltage down to 8volts or so and it won't be as cold. The one I bought is rated 12v 5amps (but real world it only draw 2.5amps @ 12v = 30watts). As you can see I am only using one per 2x MM, sharing the same heat sink. Could probably do 3x MM on the same heat shink. :)

    Only the two big black chip need to be cool right? all the other one doesn't seem to go above ambient without heat sink.
  20. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20160915_173025.jpg
    I found the ones i got before. Maybe I'll mess with them now that I've seen them working. Why arent they used on pcs? Seem like a good solution for main processor. Like i said i had 6 but one went poof.
    • Old Old x 1