1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF racing platform 12v dc 3.6kw arduino and mm/SMC3

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by bruce stephen, May 3, 2016.

  1. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,443Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Awesome job dude, this looks so good. How much does your rig weigh? Where did you get the spring props from?
  2. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    top part without rider is about 140 lbs not including arms and levers. i weigh around 160lbs. thats around 300lbs loaded, the springs reduce the load by about 180lbs total. i am using three 60lbs. i updated my parts list to include the springs in post #3 they came from ebay about 10 dollars each. i got the 10mm ball studs to mount them from summit racing for 1 dollar each.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  3. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,756 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Jealous <-----(me)

    Great job!:thumbs
    • Like Like x 2
  4. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,504
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,966Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,192 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice job. I'm well impressed your motors that they are holding out with all that weight and not getting hot :)
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @SilentChill they were getting hot after only 30 minutes before I added the gas springs. I sat in it and played off and on for over two hours last night with only a couple errors and 1 break (rod came loose). The monsters were running 125f before and last night after a run the hottest was 98f. The springs help a lot.
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Excellent :thumbs another working DC motor 6DOF - it was not too long ago that we were told by certain experts that it was not even possible :p.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Glad no one told me. I might have believed them. Ty to the guys who got it done before me and didn't listen to the experts. The inspiration and confidence was drawn from all your hard work.
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you tested with something that isn't Dirt Rally ? Cant say ive been terribly impressed with the overall telem that is output.
  10. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Nick Moxley I totally agree I'm not a huge fan of any of the code masters titles. They have an arcade feel to them. I have been running raceroom, and AC but one has no traction loss and on the other one it's broken. so the purpose of using DR was to show TL. I had 0 gain and 3 return in the vid.
  11. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    for you nick:D yeah im still slow thats why the video is so short

    p.s. hey @Historiker, notice the shoes. :cheers
    • Like Like x 5
    • Funny Funny x 1
  12. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,443Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thats it, I am bringing my sim home and fitting it in my room somehow ;)
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Its looking good, but I like to have more movement/feel more force - in simulating a racecar - it's why I built a 6DOF:D. Each to his own I guess.

    • Like Like x 3
  14. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,756 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oh my god?!?! Did I really see you turning left AND RIGHT?!!! :p:p:p
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes I like your profile much better. You have a much more range. I see where I need to adjust some tho ty for the example.
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yea, we are pretty out of control in OZ.
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,756 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @SeatTime, not you....the joke was directed at Bruce but your message and mine crossed in the void :)

    @bruce stephen considering your driving habits I had considered only sending you the right shoe :grin
    • Funny Funny x 2
  18. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I use both feet lol. Even if it's just to go left.
  19. Racing Mike

    Racing Mike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Chile
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    have you calculated the load if necessary use gas springs with these motors? The motor power I orders is similar with yours. My platform and pilot is about 120KG. I didn't order gas spring.
  20. Racing Mike

    Racing Mike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Chile
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi, how do you consider the rod ends position? which determine the center of gravity.
    From the car structural drawing, looks it should be position 1/2 and 4/5 (F1 maybe higher).
    car 1.jpg