1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF racing platform 12v dc 3.6kw arduino and mm/SMC3

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by bruce stephen, May 3, 2016.

  1. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    2,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +535 / 2 / -0
    Good to hear you don't need to wait for more parts to show up and that everything is working. It will be interesting to see how everything works out with the limit switches, I never got a successful tune with the limit switches on my first actuator so I wasn't aware of the -1800 to 1800 issue. Take a look at the Machine Zero function in the positioning tab, you might be able to set machine zero to -1800 and then using the same scaling function in simtools.

    From the describe help file

    Machine Zero

    If this is zero, the zero position and origin are the same.
    This is the offset from the origin that is considered the zero position. All other positions are relative to this zero.

    edit - you might also have to adjust the travel values in describe to be 0-3600 after setting the machine zero offset.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Honestly I think you are correct, the limits are not really needed, the "crash"(hard stops) tune is fine so far. so as long as i dont loose steps it will be fine. plus it removes more parts from the design and no wiring to run.
    the video is the start up routine.

    20180301_082638.jpg
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I ordered another encoder from US digital today but this time I ordered a 200cpr instead of the 50cpr im currently using.
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,019
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,813Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,695 / 30 / -1
    Version 3.6 (June 14, 2014):
    Kangaroo machine zero now allows negative coordinates.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20180314_122522.jpg
    This is the encoder I'm going to use. Its 200 ppr instead of 50. It gives me 7200 reference points total after tune compared to the 1750 with the 50 ppr.

    This is live for speed heave as i run over curbs.
    • Like Like x 4
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I was printing more components for the actuators today when my 3dprinter started smoking badly. I shut it down and removed the cover to the electrical system only to find a burnt driver. It doesnt look like it killed anything else but we shall see when parts arrive.
    20180320_155832.jpg
    20180320_162304.jpg
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,373
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,079Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,430 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Scary stuff, what model printer is it?
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    its an mks gen version 1.2 control board but the problem is it has the a4988 ic which has poor heat dissipation. I had been in the control box earlier to swap out a fresh hotend. the printer had been running for a few days. I suspect I dislodged the heatsink while fiddling around. this printer has a ton of hours without incident. good news is the relacement driver costs less than 2dollars. so maybe the control board is ok.....I hope;)
  9. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,426Coins
    Ratings:
    +378 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    It's good you were around it when it happen
    • Agree Agree x 2
  10. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    yes I have a new respect for this printer. I cant count the number of times I have left the house or went to bed with this running. I'm a little "gun shy" now. I have been toying with the idea of automatic fire suppression for the sim lab but its quite expensive for a good co2/halon system.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Hoddem

    Hoddem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    335
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    2,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +535 / 2 / -0

    If you can get away with localized, take a look at fireboy extinguishers. They use a halon replacement and are heat activated. I use a lot of these at work as first response for tanks of flammable liquids. I have never had to rely on one, but they appear sufficient when we test them. They can be picked up from boat supply stores online.

    I have always avoided the co2 systems for fear of someone being in the room when it goes off.

    Sucks that your printer did that, I leave mine running when I’m not around all the time. Now you’ve got me rethinking that.
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So i got my printer going finally. Ended up just ordering a replacement controller from the manufacturer.

    I took the time to redesign the carrier assembly so that it fits inside the profile of the vslot rails. This will allow me to put covers over the exposed ballscrew and carrier assembly eliminating a number of "pinch points" which will make it safer and give me a cleaner look.

    I printed the clamp from polycarbonate filament as i broke the petg g model by overtightening the bolts. .
    20180420_090509.jpg
    20180420_085752.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
  13. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20180425_163751.jpg
    20180425_163817.jpg
    Actuator with cover
    • Like Like x 5
  14. DreamsOf2DOFw/TL

    DreamsOf2DOFw/TL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Solar Photovoltaic / LED Video Wall Foreman
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Damn, i was hoping the less exotic 3d printed materials would prevail.

    I really like your efforts to 3d print as much of your actuator assembly as possible. Quite inspiring. :thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  15. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    More of the same. This is just a calibration with the newest design.
    • Like Like x 6
  16. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have them on 24v finally. version 1 and 2 are shown below using 24v i could turn them up a little more but i am using the axis settings for the old 6 dof. It seems very fast and I am excited to move forward.
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 2
  17. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ok holy #$%&, so i used b axis to set up a more aggressive profile for testing. The actuators almost jumped from the bench to the floor. I had to stand and hold them until the replay stopped. Only three laps but omg. When my wife gets home i'll make a video. I dont think they are useable at that power. These motors (e30 150 ampflow) are heating after 1 hour no load just the inertia from direction change. I may use fans or possibly switch to the e30 400. The motor swap would only require longer spacers. Everything else is a direct match.
    • Like Like x 3
  18. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,221 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Full bore...
    • Winner Winner x 5
    • Like Like x 4
  19. DreamsOf2DOFw/TL

    DreamsOf2DOFw/TL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Occupation:
    Solar Photovoltaic / LED Video Wall Foreman
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Holy Buckin Broncos, Batman!
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
  20. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,436Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Damn Bruce, have never witnessed anything like this. Dont even wana look at my bodine motors anymore lol
    • Like Like x 1