1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF racing platform 12v dc 3.6kw arduino and mm/SMC3

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by bruce stephen, May 3, 2016.

  1. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    gathering parts and supplies at this point.
    20160511_131636.jpg 20160503_153436.jpg
    20160502_121554.jpg 20160510_131640.jpg

    UPDATE:This is the most recent photo 7/13/16
    20160623_153204.jpg
    • Like Like x 7
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016
  2. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So the concept is much like other Stewart platforms. I will add a surge plate to the seat (seat mover style) utilizing a seat adjuster. I am going to attempt to move the center of gravity to waist height for added leverage. The front mounts (knee) will be separated a little also. this is a very early sketch and Ive already made some changes in my mind and it is very basic so don't be too harsh lol.
    20160503_154654.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2016
  3. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,324Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,377 / 28 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That NRG is what a buddy bought, Imo not the most comfortable thing ever....but a thicker pad/foam could be sourced if needed. I personally found it a little hard on the back side compared to mine.
  5. MAYA One

    MAYA One Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    340Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Early success!!:cheers
  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thank you for the heads up. Unfortunately they sold it to me, charged me then sent me an email 3 days later staying they were out of stock and would give a refund. So the seat search continues............
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    27,745Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,851 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @bruce stephen whish you great success, very interesting project! Subscribed!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,734
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    8,941Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,548 / 10 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Finished yet?! :)
    • Funny Funny x 2
  9. Rocco

    Rocco New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    What type of motors are you using?
  10. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    bodine
    20160510_203049.jpg

    I may use a worm gear motor for the seat surge though. the bodines are 13 lbs each so id like a smaller, lighter one considering it will be on the platform.

    edit: also added a pic (above) of my rod ends and pots, the extra 360s are for scaling
  11. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    20160513_200731.jpg
    more stuff showed up yesterday so im beginning testing and wiring
    20160513_133153.jpg
    had a couple hours to spare today so i cut and welded the base frame. it measures just a little over 5 feet wide.
  12. welen123

    welen123 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    HongKong
    Balance:
    70Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    a big project.:popcorn
  13. Rocco

    Rocco New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    A trio of Arduinos! How many motors can a single Ard control? Looking forward to seeing your progress. :)
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    27,745Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,851 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Depending on the code and motor drivers up to 4 motors (afaik)
    • Like Like x 1
  15. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I'll be running 6 ards total.(max interfaces for STv1.3 and v2) Just one per motor except for the surge which will be added as a second motor on one of the ards. Thought is less load on each ard = faster processing. Maybe it doesn't matter tho.. But I'd possibly like to mount each controller at each motor then run the spaghetti through the base frame. But we will see I may make a separate pit box style enclosure to hold all of the power supplies and controllers. I haven't decided yet. I've got a busy weekend but I'll get some time to mess with the monsters. I got them soldered and ready to be load tested last night so that is probably next.
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016
  16. mariana fino

    mariana fino

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    waiting for the vídeo,good job!!!
  17. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I threw this together to save me some future hassle testing my monsters.
    20160515_200107.jpg
    20160515_200115.jpg

    Update: 12 for 12 no bad apples. :D

    Edit: The test bench was made using a project box I got at radio shack awhile ago, an arduino uno r3, an adafruit pi half size Breadboard, two 10k potentiometers, three plugin posts from a shield kit.

    I then drilled out the holes for the monster plugs to sit using a 1/8" bit, bent the posts I wasn't using to help hold them in place. Next I hot glued them in place along with the uno and breadboard. I then drilled the holes for the pots and wires. The wires were then connected. I also added a small dc volt indicator to the 5v. it is wired for two motors to make it easier to isolate a bad side and get them hot quick.

    20160517_085736.jpg
    20160517_090023.jpg

    build time 30min.
    • Creative Creative x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
  18. dedas

    dedas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    i'll like to see the final results, you got some heavy duty parts. :popcorn
  19. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,923
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,623Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,822 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    england
    Balance:
    748Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Thanks for sharing this, its going to be an interesting one to follow

Share This Page