1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question 6DOF Prototype Dorna EPS-EB Driver Parameters?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Denus304, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Can anybody help me here as i have built this platform but cannot seem to program the correct parameters.

    I am using: Dorna AC servo Motor 80DNMA1-0D75DHAK
    Dorna EPS-EB servo drives
    Novotechnik LWH-0150 linear potentiometers
    Thanos AMC1280USB deluxe 2017 with version enc_6dof_AMC1280USB_v3.0_rev2a.hex

    I have been in contact with Thanos and he has been a great help but he has been quite busy so i thought i would just ask here if someone has used these servo drives and set parameters etc.

    So far i have everything powered on but when connected to sim tools the motors on drive 1 and 2 seem to only spin in one direction but they DO respond to sim tools with the rpm varying but not much.

    From what i have researched i have come to the conclusion that i need to set the parameters on each drive for positive and negative speeds and torque limits etc.

    Also have i also positioned my seat on backwards ? :) that is not hard to fix if i have ?

    Any information anyone could give me would be much appreciated as i dont want to see this rig do to waste and have spent a lot of money getting it to this current stage.

    I will attach some photos

    Many Thanks

    Dean



    20180917_213325.jpg

    20180917_213404.jpg 20181009_192901.jpg 20181007_133201.jpg 20180805_163913.jpg 20180805_162904.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    - 56Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi Dean, that's a really neat little platform. Nice job! Your seat is mounted correctly, as all of the direction will be controlled in simtools, and as long as you have your actuators wired in the correct order. For starters, I see 2 of your drivers are showing an error code. Are all 6 of your drivers setup with the same parameters for normal operation? Also, are hexpod parameters set correctly and communicating with the AMC? You should test DOF using Hexpod first before linking to simtools. Once that's working, simtools will be fairly easy to setup for direction of your given simulation.
  3. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi Flash66

    The first 2 drivers are connected to motors that are unbolted from the actuators and dont usually give an error , they spin very slowly on idle but driver 2 comes up with the error that you seen .. the third driver that has that error now only comes up with that error because i entered parameters that Thanos had told me what to do but i think i have entered them incorrectly.
    This is the info that i had entered :

    Unlock servo: PA000 = 58
    PA04=1 (control selection)
    PA110=0 (Select Analog votage input for speed control)

    so i tried entering those parameters on the third driver and now it comes up with that error.

    Driver 4 5 and 6 are untouched!

    But with the simtools software the driver 1 and 2 respond but none of the others do.

    With hexpod i havent played around with it enough to understand it could you please let me know what i have to change in that software and should simtools be turned off completely whilst using hexpod?
  4. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Also thanks for the reply and glad you like my sim, i work with cars and computers and can fabricate these quite easily.

    With Hexpod do i need to purchase the activation code?
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,185Coins
    Ratings:
    +256 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey Dean,

    I'll try to get this working for you, its just hard to get back soon enough to much of my email correspondence lately.

    Can you write down what these error codes mean from the manual? We can start by taking care of these first.

    Bear with me here ok?

    Thanks
  6. lromaniuk

    lromaniuk bny

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Occupation:
    Software Programmer
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I have found manual on the manufacturer? page
    Err.07 Err.06 -> Motor overload
    causes:
    1. Motor model parameter (PA9) not match - Contact DORNA directly
    2. encoder line malfunction - Check encoder line wiring, model and check cable terminal contact status
    3. motor power line malfunction - Check motor power line wiring, phase sequence and check cable terminal contact status Motor encoder malfunction Replace servo motor
    4. Motor stall or overload; Motor torque is more than rated torque - Re-confirm load status or replace a bigger servo Increase torque limit (PA48) Increase overload curve (PA81, PA82) Increase servo 5. acceleration/deceleration time constant (PA39, PA40)
    5. Servo drive malfunction - Replace Servo drive

    And solutions that point directly to and Err.07

    Err.06 -> Increase overload curve (PA120, PA121)
    Err.07 -> Increase overload curve (PA122, PA123)

    Edit:
    PA120 to PA122 are basically thresholds (percent and time) at which driver will trigger errors when overload happens. Keep in mind that you can overload up to 300% for short period of time so i would leave those factory defaults.

    Unfotunately in manual that I've found there is no information what value PA9 should have for specific motor. That may be the root of your proble, Check that with manufacturer before fiddling with other settings.

    Still let Thanos have a look at it.

    Edit:
    Here's the link to manual I've found
    http://en.dorna.com.cn/uploads/soft/180507/EPS-EB Manual.pdf
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  7. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi Thanos and Iromaniuk

    If i set PA04=1 .. the motors spin backwards and come up with err.07 (only when connected to the actuator)
    When not connected to the actuator the motor spins but at very low rpm then comes up with err.08 (as you can see with driver number 2)

    So the other drivers were set with PA04=0 so thats why they say 0 on the display but as soon as i changed them to PA04=1 i get the same error.

    Anyhow i did something stupid i changed them all to PA04=1 and when turning them on i held the down button on the AMC1280USB and the whole simulator launched upwards and fully extended.
    In the process it snapped one of the linear potentiometer connecters(not a huge problem as i can fix this) but i had to unbolt every motor to get the platform to retract!!

    Thankfully it did not do much damage and could be alot worse.

    The AMC1280 did not respond to me after this and had mixed letters on the LCD. I was able to redo the firmware thankfully but now when i plug the main power supply into the AMC1280 it does not power on, It only powers on when i connect the USB or the 24dc power!

    So i am guessing the controller is now no good to me Thanos. I tested the main power plug i was using and there is no problem with it.

    I am super frustrated with this right now there must be a more simple way of understanding how this works.
  8. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Ok here are some pictures of all motors unbolted but with parameter PA04=1 Set

    As you can see that motors 1,2,4 are spinning at -700 rpm and motors 3,5,6 are spinning at -2000 rpm
    If the motors were connected to actuator they give the Err.07 (in other words they are trying to spin in reverse and with nowhere to go being fully retracted on startup they go into error mode)

    So because i can see the 3 of the motors spinning at -700 and the other 3 at -2000 it tells me that the motor directional speed is set within the driver or controller!

    The second photo is the hexpod settings which i am still not sure if i actually have to purchase the activation code to use it or the freeware version will still work the same?

    20181013_101829.jpg 20181013_102025.jpg
  9. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Here is a picture of all motors unbolted but with parameter PA04=0 Set

    All motors sit at idle with no response from the software or controller

    Iromaniuk i have the user manual and have studied it thoroughly for a few weeks now but am still unsure on how to set directional speeds and torque settings etc... i am only reaching out here in case of someone else has used this setup before and had the settings i am looking for.

    Also still unsure if the main board in Thanos's AMC1280USB is broken. The LCD still does not light up when connecting the main power plug like it used to, it only powers on when connecting the usb or the 24vdc.
    I know you are busy Thanos but if you get time this weekend it would be great .

    20181013_102552.jpg
    20181013_102648.jpg
  10. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I have studied as much as i can about the drivers and cant figure it out so i will wait for Thanos to get back to me.

    I have so much interest in my simulator i cant wait to get it up and running :(
  11. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    So i have been playing around with it quite alot , Thanos must be super busy which is understandable.

    But i have had alot of progress tonight, i was playing around with the open and closed positions, joint spacing etc. I can get the motors to fully respond to the software but still no luck in getting them to go backwards
    So when i power them on they spin at very low rpm on all motors , motor 6 goes into an error after about 5-8 seconds. The other motors stay at a constant 15-30 rpm but if i put my hand on the cog 3 out of the 5 remaining go into the same error. (i am guessing this is a torque limit parameter that needs to be set)

    So when i operate hexpod or simtools software with the sliders the motor rpm responds correctly up to nearly 2000 rpm and is very responsive,, it just doesn't go into negative values which means my actuators wont retract.

    I am at least getting somewhere with teaching myself.

    Does anyone know if my linear potentiometers need to be the same length as my actuators as they are only half the size?
  12. lromaniuk

    lromaniuk bny

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Occupation:
    Software Programmer
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I think your linear potentiometers stroke should be the same as stroke of your actuators - if shorter they will limit maximal stroke of your actuators.

    How it should work is that AMC is suppose to send speed signal (-10V to +10V => below zero volts CCW rotation - above zero volts CW rotation - zero volts means no rotation (you can set dead zone in your servo driver) to your driver to match wanted actuator position in contrast to where your actuator is (which your linear potentiometers is suppose to tell to the AMC). Very simple closed loop.

    You can measure voltage going out of your linear potentiometer - it should be 0 Volts when actuator is fuly retracted and 5V at the end of linear potentiometer stroke. I am assuming you are powering your linear potentiometer form AMC. Than measure what is going out of servo signal conditioner to your servo drivers.
  13. Denus304

    Denus304 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Thankyou @Iromaniuk i will work on this today and see what i come up with.