1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF motion platform (P3D)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Victor Urnes, Jul 12, 2019.

  1. Victor Urnes

    Victor Urnes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello!

    We are building a 6DOF platform for P3D.
    The actuator we are using have the following spec:
    10kN.
    500 mm/s
    1000mm or 1200mm stroke (We have not decided yet, we are waiting for offer from supplier).

    The weight of the plane is about 700kg.

    Do you have some recommendation for the platform geometrirally?

    And which motion controller we should use?

    Also open for other tips regarding the planning and building.

    Thanks
    Victor
  2. Victor Urnes

    Victor Urnes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    I aslo have one question too,

    What happends if one actuator fails? It could be loose wires or component error.
    That's pretty much forces involved into this. How could we prevent that?
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,344
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,422 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I suggest you go with the AMC controller by @Thanos, have a good read through its capabilities and functions and then post any specific questions: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/amc1280usb-motion-simulator-controller.336/

    It would be helpful if you be more specific about what you are actually planning, it sounds like you intend using an actual cockpit and if so what are the dimensions. Even a hand drawn concept with rough dimensions would be informative for members who could then give some advice.
  4. Victor Urnes

    Victor Urnes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Okey. We are using a Piper Aztec 230. it is about 120cm wide. 250cm long. The cylindral projector wall has a radius of 1.7m. As said, total weight is 600-700 kilograms. The projector will sit on the top of the plane.
    Thanks.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,344
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,897Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,422 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Is the user(s) + peripherals weight in addition to the 600-700 kilograms?
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    496
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,448Coins
    Ratings:
    +433 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Certainly you will need at least 1.5kw servomotors with 250mm/s actuators for such load. 300mm stroke maybe, 400mm stroke actuators better for larger diameter platform to allow stability without having to anchor the platform to the floor.
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,523 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That's no toy :). The inertia in throwing 700Kg around would be massive. Recommend the foundations and most of the other parts be properly engineered. Hate to see someone getting hurt. As you are in the United States, you could lose your 'house' when they sued.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    496
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,448Coins
    Ratings:
    +433 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    This kind of full cockpit sim is not for "home" use. A special building or even a hangar is suited for these kind of simulators. Most of them have extra wide beams to extend the floor contact of the bottom triangle. But yes, if they plan to have the simulator sway or surge too much close to the edges of structural balance, anchoring to the floor is always desired, especially if the mass on top of the platform is placed high...
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,352Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,523 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just wanted to be sure he did anchored it to the floor .... It's also surprising what people put into their homes for personal use. Here's one of many I remember seeing over the years.

  10. Victor Urnes

    Victor Urnes New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    6-700 kilo is included users :) Yes Thanos, we have ordered 3kW motors and 1000mm stroke actuators. We buyed it from DGReletriccylinders. We are well engineering all the parts, so it should be safe. We will also force test the platform before mounting the plane on it. And yes, we will anchor it to the floor.

    I will not have it in my home. It will be placed in an old shipyard, or we will build a building for the simulator. We have not decided yet.
    Thanks for tips!