1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6dof motion platform ‘lite’

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Tino, May 9, 2014.

  1. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    490
    Balance:
    4,711Coins
    Ratings:
    +178 / 2 / -0
    @Tino, yess...one of the wiper gears got loose, i guess because it was old, , and also i guess i broke some how one of my jrk cards, actually in my second sim (the one i am doing at a turtle speed) i am using levers.

    best regards

    fer
  2. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    Hi @ferslash

    Sounds good, I hope levers will help.
    I look forward to your updates!
    Regards,
    Tino.
  3. 741852cp

    741852cp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    97Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    More mechanical transmission, energy loss and bring the gap.
    Personal opinions. For reference only.;)
  4. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    • Like Like x 3
  5. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    • Like Like x 1
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,982
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,958 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice one...very light weight!

    They are over twice the price in Australia AU$349.95 compared to the USA US$159.90, hardly justifiable, even taking into account the currency difference: it should be around AU$171.33 o_O
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  8. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    Hi noorbeast,

    Thanks! I really like the design.
    It think it's $300 in US, but 299.95€ in eu without shipping or import taxes!
    http://www.fanatec.com/us-en/play-and-gaming-seats/csl-seat-us.html
    I got if for £177 with shipping new from ebay.

    It requires some modifications, but it's a great base to work with and will save me a lot of work when building my 6dof sim :)

    Here are some more reviews:




    http://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threa...iew-clubsport-family-vs-t500rs-in-gt5.274349/

    I'm starting to like Fanatec stuff, wish I could still find somewhere Fanatec csr elite wheel.

    Their new clubsport stuff is amazing work of engineering, but base+wheel+pedals are easily over €1000:eek:
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    id be curious to see how sturdy it is. Static is fine, but throw motion on it and it may flex a bit more
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,982
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,958 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have the Fanatec Clubsport pedals and base with both BMW and F1 wheels. They are expensive but I do consider them worth it...much like my Warthog.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,982
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,958 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes it would be interesting to see how it lasts with a brutal race sim, I suspect it would be a lot better with a flight sim. One of the cons in the video was it being slightly out of shape and flexing, and that was static.
  12. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    exactly my point. I built a 2 DOF sim for a mate a while ago, he presented me with a cheap steel tube static sim. The amount of engineering, welding, strengthening and goodness knows what else was HUGE.
  13. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    I'll let you know once this thing arrives how sturdy it is, but I have a few plans how to strengthen it.
    I've had a look at few reviews and everyone seems to think that its' very study.

    I was very happy to find this rig and I think it will do perfectly for my 6dof platform.
    Alternatives were to weld my own steal frame for seat and pedals, or try to do something with PVC pipes.

    Lightweight, strong aluminum frame should work quite well.

    FYI, this is how it performs without any strengthening:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=A0EU4cizwMI#t=140
  14. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
  15. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
  16. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,656 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok motors seem fine, we have them with 200W motors attached at same ratio resulting in 150-180 rpm.
    So look like a starting point but you would be restricted to about 65mm centre to centre levers , no much range of motion or weight capabilities.
    But would be very snappy. mmmm
    At 2:1 the force increases to 28Nm approx. and speed to 60 rpm, now that's looking better , 100mm levers would lift approx. 280N - 28Kg so 6x = 168kg
    At 3:1 the force increases to 42Nm approx. and speed to 40 rpm, now that's slower but fine, 100mm levers would lift approx. 420N = 42Kg so 6x = 257kg

    Now most 240v 6 dof units move at 14 - 30 rpm range for motion cueing so really the end result of the 3:1 looks good if I have my math right.
    Hope that helps
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    Hi eaorobbie,
    Thanks for you reply.

    I'll be trading speed for torque with chain sprockets so Ideally I'd like to get 160 RPM motors with >15 Nm

    I don't quite understand why bigger 6dof platforms have slower RPM range, surely more is better?
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I think the earlier 6 DOF platforms had bigger motors as they were moving huge weight. Maybe.
    since the development of motion software, people are now willing to try something different, like 12v wipers, and have found initial success with not so much cost.
    Here in AU, to build a DIY a 6DOF platform in 240v works out nearly $800 per DOF. that $3200 . Thats a HUGE hit of cost for a beginner.
    Now with 12v development, the cost about halves , if I was to use the 200 watt motors and JRKs.
    240v motors mostly run at 30 rpm as there is no need to get them to run faster. they have the power to turn a gearbox if you need faster speed.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    Thanks @bsft !

    12V DC FTW!
    Bdw If you don't mind watching silly rambling in Croatian, here is a interesting video of the same seat Rinoseat GTR (before it was licensed by Fanatec)

    http://max.tportal.hr/Rinoseat-GTR-Video_10085_0__0.aspx


    :popcorn:cheers

    @2 min 13 sec you can see a guy lifting the frame with his pinkie :D
    @5min 12 sec you can see another guy jumping on the wheel stand :thumbs
    (Guy jumping actually owns that seat)

    I bet you couldn't do that with your friends steel frame seat?
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    I got my Fanatec CSL seat yesterday :)

    Took two hours to assemble :mad:, but I'm so happy I found this seat.

    Extra padding is required for comfort, but once assembled the whole cockpit feels very sturdy.
    (Except maybe the top bit of the seat which just snaps on the rest of the seat, I'd recommend to at least duck tape it, so it doesn't feel loose. )

    For a racing cockpit I'd say it's OK, but for motion sims, OMG! 12kg of pure awesomeness, IMHO this thing is perfect for motion simulators :cheers
    • Useful Useful x 1