1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6dof joystick

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Tino, May 11, 2014.

  1. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    Hi,

    I've seen a couple of interesting videos about Stewart Platform 6dof joysticks:

    http://lynxmotion.net/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=7517&start=30#p74136


    This should work great for space sims, it would also be a very good use for your 6dof test platforms, once you have built a full size simulator!

    There is currently no Force Feedback joysticks on the market (last one I believe was Logitech G940), especially no 6dof joysticks that I've heard of.
    Anyone else thinks that it would be cool to have a diy 6dof joystick?
    Last edited: May 11, 2014
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
  4. traveltrousers

    traveltrousers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Timbuktu, Tombouctou, Mali
    Balance:
    889Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    my version :)

    • Like Like x 4
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. Scratch

    Scratch Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +182 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Traveltrousers, that is cool!
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,662 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Well done any chance on sharing the idea, if not do understand, nice concept.
  7. Tino

    Tino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Balance:
    1,289Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 3 / -1
    Great project, have you thought about adding FF motors or do you plan to use only springs?
  8. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,662 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    I actually have one in protype myself for a different application that is being developed for SimTools, make use of an Ard and 6dof reader. You just plug it in and hold the box in space and as you move it , it send serial signals to an app that then records it for motion data.
    Its not a joystick but the Ard code could be modified into a joystick code. Possible, but I do like @traveltrousers a lot. Has the same potential to be use for the same application.
    • Like Like x 2
  9. cityparker

    cityparker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    I can not wath the video,why?
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,476
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,536 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you are in China that may be because of restricted access to sites like YouTube, which is where the video is hosted.
  11. cityparker

    cityparker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    82Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    I understand ,thank you .I have an idea.