1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6DOF Cessna 172 VR Hardware Cockpit

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by gaco, Sep 7, 2020.

  1. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello,

    I introduced in the Newbee corner.
    The Idea is to build a 3DOF Platform with Cessna 172 Hardware Cockpit for MSFS 2020.

    First I downloaded the Instrument Panel
    Cockpit 1.JPG
    Then I draw the dimensions
    200901.JPG
    Then I was beginning looking for Actuator. But all the recommended motors with wormgear or planetary gear is too expensive and I have a bad feeling for this, so I start to think of taking
    200901-1.JPG
    HPV6 Linear Module SFU1204 Ball Screw Linear Actuator with HGR15 Linear Guides with NEMA23 2.8A 56mm 57 Stepper Motor - 200mm

    idea is to place on bottom.

    I am not realy happy with that , next I will try to add a lever to get max. out of the linear actuators. Advancage of this is the normal G Forces go into the linear guidance, NOT in the spindle (mostly)

    Let´s see,,,
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I am still finding out what I need to connect everything to work. All I read is "Audorino" and "Sim Tool". I have no Idea if I can use AC Servomotors with integrated board and if yes, what should the motor give for outputs to something I do not know to connect.

    On the mechanical side I am ok, and am away from the first idea.

    I will use ONLY a ball screw 1605 with a servomotor directly attached with Kardan on both sides (one side the nut, other the motor or fix bearing block). for the 16mm spindle no linear guidance needed.
    The ball nut will be mounted via Kardan direktly to the upper platform.
    The motor on the other side will go directly on the ground plate via Kardan.

    All how to documentation here is from 2013 or 2014. I can imagine something changed from there to easyer fit into Win 10 or concerning motor parts or drivers. I will continue reading the whole google... takes time

    let´s see...
  4. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Things are getting shape.
    200904-Konponenten.JPG
    Cheap looks different, but it should work and last long.

    Now it´s time to detail my CAD Model of all getting together.

    Did I forget any important component in my scheme?
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +787 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You got the basics covered :thumbs

    You also need to add db25 straight male-male cables for interfacing the AMC-AASD15A with AASD-15A servos. And perhaps get some RFI line filters for the power entry of the servos to filter noise back to the mains line. And if the power cable of the servos is not shielded, you could replace it with shielded cable to avoid EMI noise to your rest of the system. There are videos documenting all these, if you have trouble locating them on my YouTube channel, let me know to help.

    Good luck! Cockpit looks good!

    Thanks
    Thanos
  6. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @ Thanos
    Many thanks, about cables and stuff I did not think about. I am more a mechanical man.

    I did in time my first mechanical calculation concerning the forces. The waves is a result of still free rotating Motors, I have to fix them later on.
    First calculated Z travel 100mm in 1 second.
    Kräfte.JPG
  7. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    From step to step I approach the typical design with single levers attached to a gear :/
    In the picture I made a design with 90° levers actuated by linear stages under connected with rods to the levers (not shown)
    200909.JPG
    But The price is the same when I take worm gears or planetary gears.
    So perhaps I do it like all other and make a Platform with Levers.
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +787 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Beware the worm gearboxes have naturally more backlash than planetary gearboxes...
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    My newest calculation show the moment of levers over 0,5s from Pitch/Roll +20°...-20°
    The motors should have 3Nm at 2000 rpm minimum (using 50:1 planet gear). Ui....
    I think I can begin order the Motors which most of you simmers use ;) (AC 750W Servomotors)
    200916-1.JPG
    200916-2.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  10. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    If I take:
    80ST-M02430 220V 750W AC Servo motor 2,39 N.M. 3000RPM 0,75 KW servomotor Single-Phase

    There is an Option with "Modbus" do I need that?
    What I have to check that it is compatible with Thanos AMC-AASD15A?

    I will not waste 1000 Euro to buy the wrong stuff.


  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +787 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    There is no need to get the modbus version... all control is done via the DB25 connector. Make sure the drive is AASD-15A and the motors have shielded power cables (to avoid EMI woes).

    Thanks
    Thanos
  12. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,358Coins
    Ratings:
    +787 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. gaco

    gaco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Work in Progress
    200918.JPG
    • Like Like x 3