1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

6 DOF from scratch

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pierre Lalancette, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Oh, man! Sorry about the confusion. I was sure I was at the latest version.

    All is.. almost.. fine.

    Motion is good, and I got it connected to Simtools. But now, I need to set up the filters and everything changed. Assetto corsa is shaky now and I have no idea how to set it up (did not try to understand yet). I guess I'll have to read about your new way of doing things.

    The software is great. So many things you can set up.

    Now that the faulty heim joint is change, I centered the actuators.
    The platform is advanced, but so many little things to add.
    I can say that I am back into calibration.
    • Like Like x 2
  2. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    453
    Balance:
    2,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +161 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
  3. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,956Coins
    Ratings:
    +934 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    You can make wind with Mover also. I'm going to get some fans to test it. But don't know yet wich ones.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,956Coins
    Ratings:
    +934 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Give me some time and I will try to put here a setup for you to try Assetto Corsa with just Mover.
    I will include vibration from suspension, from rpm and some from speed that you can activate or not...
    • Like Like x 1
  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    453
    Balance:
    2,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +161 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    genius @pmvcda !!!!
    are you the real tony stark? :p (a.k.a iron man)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Indeed, you are the man pmvcda! I give you no time, since mine is short and ticking away. But, I'll take any information, anytime, anywhere. I'll just keep on doing mistakes until you tell me how wrong I am.
  7. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,956Coins
    Ratings:
    +934 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Here it is, to start...

    Sem nome.jpg
    Explanation follows...

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,956Coins
    Ratings:
    +934 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    So the idea here is a kind of a showcase of what you can do.
    In the image, you can see the rig module, and I checked all the poses.

    Uncheck all, keep just the rpm.
    And test.
    You should feel the rpm vibration.
    Low rpm more vibration, more rpm less vibration

    Now check just noise of value.
    The value here is speed. What this make is generate vibration when speed increases

    Now check just suspension.
    This one moves the rig just with the suspension travel of the car. Could be enough this one.

    Try also just the motion. That's the one that uses the motion cueing.

    In the end check all to feel all at the same time.

    EDIT:

    I used a range of 100 to keep the rig in the limits. Increase the value if you are sure it's safe (you where using 150).
    Also, if you fell it's to much movement, lower gains in the motion, or even better, go to the rig module and use a lower gain. Changing in the rig, affects all the info received by the rig.

    If the movements are to harsh, instead of gain, apply a EMALP(VALUE;xxxxx) filter in the actuators to make them softer. xxxxx=1 is no filter, bigger value softer and softer it get's, but also starts to lag.

    Tell me how it feels, so I can help adjusting the values. It's a personal taste at play.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  9. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Unfortunately, when I tried to open your file, it crashed.
    error.jpg
    Now, every file I try to load crashes. Mover do open though.
    I will reboot my computer to see.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,956Coins
    Ratings:
    +934 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    :(
    Sorry. That's a Mover problem...
    Old files are not compatible.
    You can try this:

    Close Mover
    Go to where you have the executable of Mover and copy the setup I sent you to the same folder.
    Delete the LastSetup.FlyPTMover that's inside the folder
    Rename the file I sent you to LastSetup.FlyPTMover

    EDIT:
    Or, just delete all modules before loading a new setup

    Don't forget to verify your COM ports, I don't know if what I used is correct.
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  11. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    It opened!
    I'm testing it.
    I had understood the use of many source to provide different action that will add together. It's pretty cleaver. It opens so many possibilities.

    edit:
    Some values I want to keep handy. rig.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  12. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I did a run with assetto corsa, and my rig worked... So far.
    It was working with @pmvcda Mover, and the G27 / pedals. I used a starter files from Pmvcda. It was pretty good. There is still adjustment of course, but the base is there.

    I made a video, but, it was terrible. I'll wait went I'll do a better one to show off the carbon fiber platform.
    • Like Like x 4
  13. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Today, I have cut carbon plates. At first, they looked cool, but I had to make them practical. Then, they looked less cool.

    IMG_2388.JPG
    To hold those plates in place, I had the idea to do plastic brackets. After only 2 iterations, I had a good result.

    IMG_2390.JPG

    Then, I did a third design for under the plate, as my tubes are not all the same level.

    IMG_2395.JPG

    Those plate are used for the side part, holding the joysticks. They are easily removable.

    IMG_2396.JPG

    As I wrote this, the last part of the other side is printing.

    IMG_2393.JPG

    The sim start to look sexy.

    IMG_2394.JPG

    Finding the place where to put the keyboard will be a challenge.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    453
    Balance:
    2,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +161 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    please becareful with the carbon dust.
    its like asbestos.. you dont want to breath any of it.
  15. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yes, don't worry. I have my setup outside with gloves and mask.
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Winner Winner x 5
    • Like Like x 2
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,322
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,074Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,622 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Great to see it all working well :thumbs and I'm guessing that room would normally be in darkness to help with immersion?
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    No. Usually, I have my Pimax. So, no need for a dark room. It`s in the basement and I'm afraid of the dark, its Halloween soon, the moon, werewolf, vampires, politicians...

    Seriously, in that video, I have two problem. First, after all the modification, I still had an actuator skipping steps and getting out of place. I found out that the potentiometer gear part had hard time to turn. After a lot of inspection, I put some petroleum grease and it helped a lot. Still, I think I will have to redesign to remove any support from the potentiometer and use gears. My biggest problem is that it was made with SolidEdge and now I need to transfer it to Fusion 360. Oh, well. But, that's the least of my problem.

    My second problem is that the rig is uncomfortable. It`s something to adjust it and passing 45 min on it. The seat is not tilt enough to the back and I have the feeling I am constantly push forward. After a while, my legs are getting numb. I was quite discouraged. It's hard to change something glued all over. But, like all problems, there is a solution. I have to look for it.

    But, at least, simtools, mover and Elite's plugin are working perfectly. That was great! I also set up the Pimax with the new Pitool. All was great. I now need to test the motion cancellation.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  19. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    696
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,769Coins
    Ratings:
    +699 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Just tested the motion cancellation from Pimax. It might be a placebo effect, but it did feel different. I felt more the movement. It was less I am going in that direction with the rig and more like I am just moving. I need to get it fixed better on my rig now.

    It was not a long run, so it was not as uncomfortable than before. I do feel little tinkles (is that the right word?) in my legs.
    • Like Like x 2
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,518
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,095Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,235 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Looking good matey :) You have come a long long way, all you have to do now is tweaking and tinkering which will never end but the main bulk of it is done , you could always start from scratch again for fun :D
    • Agree Agree x 2