1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

6 DOF from scratch

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pierre Lalancette, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Good work! How much are you paying for the record and how big is the one in the last photo that lights up a hell of a black blue? I want to dress my frame sooner or later.
  2. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    The plate in the last picture is 500x500 mm and cost 75$ CAD each. The tubes are about 30$ for a metre if I remember well.

    The blue reflect is only because of the protective screen they put on it. It will be removed like the plate in the first picture.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Pretty high price!:) I have to save a little bit;)
  4. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @Pierre Lalancette i like to ask, how many batteries are in your setup?

    im trying to build out my power section.. im getting overwhelmed with lead acid, nimh marine deep charge, gel... all the battery terminology...
    im trying to figure out what battery to buy, and how many..
  5. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Those are my batteries. If you are running on 24v like me, you need 2 of those. They are deep charging boat batteries. I can`t remember the spec, but they are high amperage. I have a friends that works in repairing boat and he has many of use batteries that are still good but have to be replaced as a pack. I got those for a fraction of the price.

    IMG_2022.JPG

    Useful information:

    6 DOF from scratch
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    i thought i had to get (2x) 12v batteries for each with a total of (6) batteries (each battery rated for 35Ah)

    so you went with(2) batteries to power your (3) sabertooths? if so, what Ah rating did you go with?
  7. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    6 batteries! No. You only need 2, but they must be deep charge and I think mine were rated 200 Amps. I have 3 DEL PSU 24v 12.5Amps to drive the rig. I never had any power issue.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    basically i was going to build my power setup like the user sixdegreesofflight.

    after chatting with dimension engineering (the sabertooth manufactures) they said each driver should have its own battery.
    i guess i am going with sixdegreesixofflight.

    i would like to do it you way for space and cost savings.. but i like to go what proper operation.

    im glad u have no issues with 2 batteries for your whole setup.

    at least u have batteries, i see some people not evening using battteries at all with their sabertooth, but they wonder why their motors are heating up...lolol
    plus 2x60 is not cheap!
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    I would say they were in CYA mode, meaning theirs. Its just easier for them that way.

    How much heat from regen depends on how much regen current is created. A 2dof or other rig that mostly maintains balance will have little regen. Its all relative. Also the only thing that voids a sabertooth warranty is connecting them to power backwards. Last year I asked them to exchange 4 SyRen 50's that were all broke and that I had for about 8 years with 2 Sabertooth 2x60's and they still did so and at no charge to me other than the shipping cost to send back the SyRens hug:.

    Deep cycle batteries should not be necessary when also connected to a power supply since whenever the batteries voltage drop below the supply voltage they will charge. Deep cycle are for instances like running a trolling motor on a boat where the batteries are usually mostly discharged before they are charged back up again. Doing that repeatedly with a standard car battery will ruin it.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  10. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @BlazinH
    what is your suggestion on best route for batteries?
    i just ordered (4x) gel mighty max batteries to start...trying to follow dimensionengineering and sixdegreeoflight for (6x) batteries..
  11. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Oups, my bad. I though they had to be deep charging. Learning everyday.

    I think that batteries for every sabertooth is overkill (depending of their ratings), but, if it buys you peace of mind, I can't blame you. I do overkill most of the time myself.
  12. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    i think its overkill as well.
    my coworker thinks that 7Ah is enough instead of 35Ah..but im just going by manufacturer direction :/
  13. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,800Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    12V batteries are actually pretty unhappy at 12.0v
    At 12.0v they are considered as ~20% charged or 80% discharged and 12.6v is considered as minimum happy battery.
    Therefore you might want to turn up your power supplies to 12.6v
    Better still would be to get away from switch mode power supplies and go old school linear power supply as the batteries are there for absorbing the regen power.
    linear power supplies are hard to come by nowadays as transformers are expensive but they can handle regen from motor and wouldn't require batteries to buffer power supply.
    If it was me I would go and buy an old school ~160-200A MIG welder (transformer type) and use that as a ~21v power supply, nice and cheapish as you only need 1 and don't need batteries.
    Most welders have gone to inverter (switch mode) types and got rid of the old transformer welder and as result a lot of them have been scrapped for the copper in the transformer but they are still around.
  14. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    this is clear. in fact i might have to have it higher because i am also using the blocking diode. but the question is, "how many batteries in a 6Dof rig with 3 sabertooths...."
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    For me the answer is clear; start with the minimum then add more if necessary.

    And no matter what type of battery used, for health and longivity a float/trickle charger should be used to top off batteries after use.
  16. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Today, my friend came over and I wanted him to try my rig. He's good at racing car games and I wanted to have his opinion.
    Can you see the smile on his face?

    IMG_2318.JPG

    Since I was building my Carbon platform, I had to attache the seat temporary back to the wood platform.
    I also change my HD TV for a 4K. It now acts as a monitor. It's nice for people watching the from the outside.

    IMG_2317.JPG

    The seat attachment is done, now, I need to attache it to the almost finished platform triangle. I'm trying to do all sort of structure to make it as strong as possible. No real plan. Just trial and errors.
    The cat is there for size comparison.

    IMG_2300.JPG IMG_2301.JPG IMG_2306.JPG IMG_2307.JPG IMG_2311.JPG IMG_2314.JPG

    Again, for the platform, I'm trying to make all kinds of structures to make it strong. I'm doing a lot of gluing. Since I'm doing big batch of glue, my balance has enough precision for them. I have almost use all of one of my tubes.

    IMG_2310.JPG

    Trying to figure out the way to attache the platform and the seat. I will need more carbon tubes... $$$... :(

    IMG_2298.JPG

    Because I use attachment under and on the side of the seat, my tubes are not straight.

    IMG_2305.JPG

    I will need to adjust those queer tubes by inserting another tube in them.

    IMG_2304.JPG

    And the platform attachment to the actuators is quite a challenge. I'm doing all kinds of contraptions and crazy ideas. I hope they will hold.

    IMG_2308.JPG IMG_2309.JPG IMG_2312.JPG IMG_2313.JPG IMG_2315.JPG IMG_2316.JPG IMG_2320.JPG

    Also, I was trying to get a job near my home and not 150 km away from it.
    I failed.
    I'm going to teach 3D at a Cegep (school just before university).
    It's 600 km from my home.
    Fortunately, it has other advantages. Like almost 2 months of vacation in summer.
    • Like Like x 3
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,139 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I take it your going to wrap each joint with some carbon cloth ? Your a brave man to take that on ;)
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    No, no carbon cloth. I'm doing all sort of structures to make it strong.
    Will it be enough? I don't know.
    Brave? No. Clueless.
    • Funny Funny x 2
  19. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,136Coins
    Ratings:
    +603 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It's been so long since I have done an update here.
    Well, it's summer, and summers have never been good seasons for simulators. Too many things to do outside.
    But, last week, it was the summer Christmas for me.
    What could be inside?

    IMG_2322.JPG

    Oh, new carbon tubes! I will be able to finish... to never ending my simulator.
    I have smaller one, that used to slide inside the bigger one. But those are a much more tight fit. Lesson learned. Carbon tube are never made exactly the same. I will have to improvise.

    IMG_2324.JPG

    This may looks like an old picture about the making of the rig, but its exactly the opposite. This is today, after stripping all the electronics out of the platform.

    IMG_2325.JPG

    New orientation, stripping out he platform, easier power up setup, we are deep into changes. Let's hope we'll get things done before the end of summer vacations.

    IMG_2326.JPG

    Turning that thing turned out (no pun intended) to be quite a challenge. I made an half life out of myself and got two crowbars to lift it up.
    Archimedes' famous principle: "Give me a lever and a place to stand, and I will move the world.

    IMG_2327.JPG
    • Like Like x 6
    • Funny Funny x 1
  20. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Balance:
    2,169Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    are you back up and running pierre?