1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

6 DOF from scratch

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pierre Lalancette, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello everyone.
    Just a little update to tell you that I checked the motion compensation more carefully with the Pimax, and it DOES NOT WORK unfortunately.
    It does something, but not the rig correction like we expect it to do.
    Sorry if I mislead people to think that it was working.
    Damn!
    • Informative Informative x 3
  2. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    thank you so much. most appreciate contribution! you enjoying your build lately?
  3. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    wow..
    i am worried about next gen HMDs that are going inside out tracking... :/
  4. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Unfortunately, not really. My back is hurting me and I have to stay away from my build, which is really hard to do since I just got Elite Dangerous to work (Thanks @Wagnard). I could do some small correction on the rig, but I don't want to take any risk with it until I've done my maiden Elite Dangerous flight. So, we all stay on the ground for now.

    I also got Live For Speed running. I have no Idea what I did special to make it work.

    DCS and Dirt are the next games to start, but not until Elite.

    Last Friday, I did one of my best run with Asseto Corsa. I found out that some force got inverted since the many iterations of Hexapod Interface. It's getting more and more fun with all little tweaks here and there. I'm getting a better driver and I can push the simulation a bit further since I hit the wall a bit less than usual.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    amazing.. i hope to get to a point to tweat profiles with you.
    im about elite DCS assetto and dirt.. add xplane too.
  6. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Today, I had obligation at my home town, so I have extra time on my sim.

    But first thing first, I found a use to my puck with carbon tubes.

    IMG_2234.JPG

    It makes a great Vive controller holder.

    IMG_2235.JPG

    Also, I made 2 run today.

    The first one, is an not calibrated one, that turned out to be disastrous.



    The second one as a basic calibration. It's really soft but was quite fun. Unfortunately, my back told me it was enough. You can see that I'm doing the basic fight tutorial, and I get kill like a noob at my first try.



    I could feel a bit of drift from VR when my rig was moving, but not serious enough to ruin the experience.
    • Like Like x 4
  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  8. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Last week, I had another present from Santa Post.

    IMG_2240.JPG

    It turned out to be the mini arduino needed to setup my handbrake. I may wait for this one to build a lighter platform before adding more stuff on this one, since I don't control it much yet.
    The link to the tutorial so I don't loose it (as usual).

    IMG_2241.JPG

    Another thing I did last week, is to set up my SCM3 as I think I should. No certitude (as usual). First, I got my actuator near the limit switch.

    IMG_2242.JPG

    Then adjusted SMC3 to stop the motor if it goes to that point. For me, the value of 90 was the sweet spot. I also removed the reverse power as it was pushing my actuator the other way to the end every time it got lost, but it kept on doing it even after. So, I might as well put it back. But the main thing, is that I slowed down my motor by half.
    Okay, I know it can give me wrong result if the motors are not fast enough. But I won't be worrying... less be worrying about destroying my rig. I can always push it more later.

    smc3.jpg

    Talking about pushing it too far. I added more range to my actuator in Hexapod. Two things happened. One, is that I got to the limit switches and all when down. I hit my litte table, but luckily, my computer was far enough. Man, it was a pain to put it back up.

    IMG_2247.JPG

    But, my monitor (the second thing) was not so lucky. I forgot to push it back far enough and it was pushed to the ground. I did not notice it until I got out of VR.

    IMG_2246.JPG

    And now it looks like this. It's never fun to break a perfectly working piece of your equipment, but, let see it this way: Nobody got hurt. It only money (me still crying) and it can easily be replace (while I still cry).

    IMG_2248.JPG

    Luckily, I had another one laying around not doing much. So I replaced it with ease. I made sure it was far enough this time from the rig.

    IMG_2249.JPG

    If I had knew, I may had wait before buying new headphone. But that's the beauty of it. You never know what's going to happen.

    IMG_2245.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
  9. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    the toys keep coming.. lol.
    very nice. i hope i can be at your current state of build in 6 months..

    my next hard problem is the anti rotation tube to ball screw adapter, but im trying to figure the whole 3d printing situation, i ended up ordering all these stupid surfaces like PEI and boro silicate plates for the print bed.
  10. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    3D print can be tricky too. It took me a few months to get it to a working state, which halted my rig construction, which got me in a high state of frustration at the time. But it was a necessary evil, and now I'm glad to have it as a tool.

    Also, just like you @hannibal I have a problem with the spacer in my balljoint holder (how do you call that part again?). So...

    I broke it again:

    IMG_2250.JPG

    That thing must wake up in me some sort of masochism because it keeps on giving me troubles, and I come back to it every times.

    The screw stripped again, because it does not have enough to screw on.

    IMG_2252.JPG

    This is when I though about the spacer problem that @hannibal had with his 1605 ball screw. I checked out if I had those spacers. Indeed, I do. So I went to my mechanical friend to get advice. Luckily, he took the time to tell me that those space where dust guard and on the side of the ball joint, it was not a necessity. He even told me that mine was loose and not doing a really good job. So, he advise me to remove it altogether on that side and add 2 screws on the other side.

    IMG_2255.JPG

    Now, my problem is that I don't have those extra screws. Should I order them and leave my sim down for now? Remove all spacers and run the rig on only one screw? Where do I get those?
    Back to the never ending asking yourself what should I do now?
  11. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Just found and ordered the lock nuts.
    My rig is down for a couple of weeks. :think
  12. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    it was called a bearing block..

    i debated on removing the spacer to get alot more shaft for the couple to clamp on , but i left it in because i felt that the spacer allows the screw to sit on the inner ring of the bearing, in a manner that isolates the screw from the bearing to avoid premature main bearing failure... along with that, i felt the combination of the two spacers and two bearings inside the bearing block gives more line up for the screw (less wobble).. but that is just my theory..

    i have feeling that locknuts not going to cut it.. those nuts have a setscrew on it.
    i feel that after getting more shaft by removing the 9mm spacer and installing a 7mm spacer instead, not only gave me more plum coupler clamping surface area, but also more thread for the nut to screw on. but i think that setscrew locks in the nut, along with the plum coupler butt against the nut prevents it from slipping out..
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
  13. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    "It's Christmas, `cause it`s snowing in the head".
    It`s a bad translation of a funny French song. Seriously, it't quite popular around here. Don't believe me? Here the version made by Celine Dion.

    https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1178897615479808

    Anyway, this is why I feel like Chrismas:

    IMG_2256.JPG

    My carbon fiber plates. Those are so thin they feel like glass. I want to use those to reinforce my structure. But I have no idea how to cut them, how I will assemble them. Man, I am asking myself so much questions, I feel like I'm going back to when I was building my rig for the first time. For now, I will keep on with the wood structure until I learn a little bit more about carbon fiber. I have 10 of those, at 75$ CAD a piece. I let you do the math.

    IMG_2257.JPG

    But since I did not received my locking screws, my wood rig is still down, leaving me with not much to do. So, I print parts that will be needed to provide a little more space for the coupler, because the end rod goes way deeper in it without the dust protecting spacer. Now, there is almost no space between the motor rod and the 1605 rod.

    IMG_2259.JPG

    IMG_2258.JPG

    Also, I printing part to protect against the hi power connectors that are used for the motor. Security above all!

    IMG_2260.JPG

    And I'm doing things I never had the time to do properly, like fixing my kill switch.

    IMG_2261.JPG
  14. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,828Coins
    Ratings:
    +341 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @SeatTime should be able to give you some hints how to cut carbon fibre stuff. As far as I remember, he even has the equipment for building such material himself.
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,823Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,455 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I would not know were to start....Working with Carbon Fibre can be a bit of a art form, with allot of specialist consumables and hardware required. Note: the complexity of the parts just to build the cradle for my latest sim (see below). It can all turn into a wet noddle if you don't know what you are doing. Of course not impossible for a newbe, as there is allot of information available on the net, but the required learning curve is great and you will likely make allot of mistakes in the beginning. Depending on the requirement, you often need to play a balancing act of special foam core and carbon fibre cloth and rods, all molded/cured under a high vacuum. They do run courses for this stuff. Why so much carbon plate, what does you design look like?

    NewSim_Rear Support_step1.jpg
    Laying up CarbonFibre Rear Support_new simshell.jpg

    Installing rear support _1.jpg
    front support -1.jpg
    With carbon rod/plate and more cloth added and bonded. Lots of forces need to be managed here in a motion sim.
    New rig carbon cradle.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks.
    I have not intention in making part out of carbon sheets. I want to make a structure out of tube and assemble them by making corners out of my plates. A bit like you did here:

    Carbon Rig with Bracing.jpg

    I also want to use some of them to make platform for joystick and wheel. This is why I ordered so many of them. Maybe it's my first mistake to have so many...

    They are 3mm. I don't know if they are strong enough to make the corners. I wonder what tool should I use to cut them. Do I keep it simple or do I experiment like crazy?
    I did not ask any question before because I did not want to abuse your knowledge before trying to get some info from the net.
    I have no intention in deep carbon fiber manufacturing. All should be made out of tubes and plates.
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,823Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,455 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I mainly use a angle grinder with a thin cutting disk for stainless steel - don't forget your PPE!!. With my full carbon rig I first made connectors that slid into the larger tubes - note the connectors were carbon fibre filled.

    Carbon Tube Joiners.jpg

    Once I had the basic shape built,
    DSC02464.JPG


    then started to re-enforce all joints with 3mm plate which were 'pinned'/bonded with 10mm carbon rod.

    Carbon Rig with Bracing pin placement.jpg
    Also later added 10mm carbon rod bonded into 12mm tubes at strategic spots to make the whole thing more ridged (best seen in this video).



    There were also some bespoked items made out of moulded carbon that were used to connect the actuators and seat etc. The rig without the seat, steering wheel etc was super light at around 2Kg.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    301
    Balance:
    2,039Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    bonding is done by 3M 2216, that expensive stuff?? wow..
  19. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +584 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Angle grinder... Hmmm. I do not possess such a tool. I wonder what will happen.
    PPE. What do you mean? Protective Equipment?
    2 Kg. I don't expect such a result, but that's the spirit.

    Thanks a lot for the information.
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,823Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,455 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very important... PPE - Personal Protective Equipment - overalls, Respirator, protective gloves (small carbon dust can irritate your skin), eye protection and some type of vacuum system to catch the carbon fibre dust when you are cutting, its not asbestos, but still not good for your lungs/health.
    Good video on cutting etc.

    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 2