1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

6 DOF from scratch

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pierre Lalancette, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Wow! Thanks.
    This will be useful. There is some values that do makes me wonder. Damn, so many adjustements and so little time! But you and pmvcda sure save me plenty of that time.
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,470
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Pierre Lalancette once you do get it up and running can you let me know how those motors hold up, I have been looking at upgrading to them (because they are the cheapest) however I'm wondering if they are going to get too hot or not.

    No pressure but come on crack on !! :D
  3. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I only got a 5 to 10 minutes run with them, at a low pace last time, and I touch them just to see. I could not even feel any heat. But I am yet to do a real run.

    I'm on it! Expect some results in 5 months, 3 weeks and 2 days. :)
    • Funny Funny x 2
  4. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    First thing I did was to shorten the support rod.

    IMG_2146.JPG

    I got lucky last week as I saw this Saitek to sell for 75 buck. I thought it was the same x52 that I had, like the picture of the on the selling site, but it turn out to be the x52 pro. Not bad. I told myself, I'm gonna install this this weekend. Man, little did I know all I had to do to calibrate the rig.

    IMG_2147.JPG

    I was testing my rig and I did a couple of run, just using the controller. I must say that I don't really know what I should look for as what are the most realistic sensation on the rig. I guess it would be easier to do it with VR, but my VR was not set up and we are waiting for some friends over. I'll set it later.

    I broke another actuators. Same things, end screw stripped. Fortunately, I can turn it over the other side. Man, I must be too hard for those poor ball joints.

    So I made a movie of it while it still works.

    • Like Like x 4
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,470
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yay !! Nice work dude. Do you have the filter on as it seems very lazy ?

    Those shortened connectors look loads better :)
    I'm not so sure about you laid back seating position though.

    Keep it up ya getting there :thumbs
  6. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    edit: *** Found it, hidden in the start up menu of windows, the update app. I remembered I had to use it to install FlyPT Exapod Interface. ***

    Before I do anything else, can someone guide me to how to install a plugin?
    I thought this would be simple. Somehow, it proven to be a impossible task for me.
    I could not even find a tutorial. Must be blind. It's so simple, people don't bother to explain...
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  7. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    You were right! I missed the filter that is applied on all actuators at once. I even remembered reading about you having the same problem.

    When I removed it... Yeah, baby!:D

    At last, the calibration turn out good. It can be improved (it can ALWAYS be), but I am so happy now.
    I still need a better way to get into it, but I'm doing my aerobic while I'm at it. When I'll get the setup right, I should be able to lower it down with FlyPT Hexagon Interface.
    In this set up, I could hardly see the screen of my computer. This is why I was hitting wall and going off road. Not because I am a bad driver.
    I add transverse wood supports as my rig was so wobbly. I't a bit better now.
    I've done about 2 runs like this, and I could not feel heat on my motors. So far, so good.
    The "main" for Live For Speed is set at 80%.



    Now, I need to set up my real computer and have my VR ready for it.
    I must fight the urge to redo the platform (wood? Aluminium? Carbon fiber tubes? A mix?) and just setup the minimum. I'm still in the test phase. So just temporary install of the pedals, the wheel and the hotas.
    Set up Elite Dangerous. I did that rig for that game in the first place.
    Set up other games (Assetto, No limits, Dirt...)
    Keep on improving.
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 2
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,470
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Wooohooo!!!!! So happy for you after all this time .:cheers

    Looks like it's all moving well at 80% too, get it cranked up i wanna see you fly out ya seat :grin

    The platform does look a bit ermmm how do I put it ermmm ruff? Lol :D id possibly look at making a better design maybe

    How were the motors doing any heat in them after the testing ? Seems like they are plenty powerful enough.
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,203
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,134Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice:thumbs. Nothing better than enjoying the fruits of all your labor, well done.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  10. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +100 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hey ! I' m very happy for you … i follow you . For your frame , it cost me only 100$ can to do this aluminium frame , look my mine !
    this week 'i will complete steering and pedal set up ( joystick and RUDDER PEDALS too )add like 100$can for this too . I will send you some pics !:thumbs
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  11. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks guys.

    Like I said, I only did about 2 runs with it, but I could hardly feel any heat on any motor. I will keep on monitoring them as I crank up my seat time.

    The platform... I know. I've seen your @Flymen. Really nice (like the rest of your rig). I will improve, one day... I want to do it myself, when I know it would be much better done by a professional. :rolleyes:
  12. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I was able to run Asseto Corsa with my rig. I reinstalled Simtools, making sure that my Windows Defender was off. I did the same with the plugins, making sure to put all 3 files in the plugin updater, and not just the dll like I did before.

    I also succeeded to run it on my Pimax. I was quite choc on how much it was immersive. I edited the 18 min videos to remove the 12 minutes it took me to start everything successfully.

    So, it is only for car race so far, but I can finally say that I have build a 6 DOF from scratch!



    Ok, the wheel is as high of my face. Man! you guys pick up on details... Future iteration should improve the accessories ergonomics.

    I have a few problems. The yaw rotation was always correction the rotation once in a while in a violent matter. I was rushed in rotation from side to side every now and then. I was taking me out of the simulation every time. I have the washout filter applied to yaw in simtools. What else can I do to get rid of it?

    I also felt a bit of inverse roll in the turn. I want to try to reduce those as they don't help that much to the feeling of driving. Getting road's bumps on one side felt like it should though.

    I did about a 55 min ride with it today. This is when I got my other problem. I felt sick. Sick like if you don't stop right now, it won't be pretty. Maybe the calibration needs a lot more adjustment, but isn't it always the case? I had to take a nap and I still feel dizzy almost 12h later. Let's hope a good night of sleep solve that one. I cannot do much about how old I am and how a girly princess I get when shaken like that for almost an hour.

    @SilentChill, after 55 min, the motors where a bit warm. Some more that others, but I wouldn't have get any burns no matter how long I would have left my hand on it.
    • Winner Winner x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,257
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,566Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,380 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Congrats on getting your rig moving and thanks for sharing it :thumbs

    Feeling ill in VR is a sign that you are pushing it for too long, and as you have noted, have inconsistencies between what your brain expects and what you experience. Part of it is likely to be your own sensitivity, and that will improve over time. Part of it will likely be getting the Pimax and rig dialed in. So avoid long sessions and focus on tuning, stop as soon as you feel the least bit weird, don't push it, as you have already experienced, the effects can last long after the session. Dial back on the motion, in VR you need fast and precise movement, you don't need to exaggerate it, particularly while you are getting used to the Pimax and rig.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,470
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Awesome stuff, does look a bit off on the tuning, I'll have to send you my tuning centre and filter settings may help a little

    I may have to get some of those motors then they looking good :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  15. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have dial down the motion on my rig. With the gain and range of Hexapod Interface, it was almost fun to do. Still, setting those rig is quite a challenge. There is so many little adjustment here and there, it's overwhelming at first. Also, I have worked so hard to get the most out of those actuators, I had to fight the alpha male in me who did not want to turn down the power (My rig is bigger than yours!). But it was so much better. I've turned it down quite a lot, even too much. But, judging by the number of time I lost control and hit a wall, it's better this way for now.

    Only a 10 to 15 minutes rid today, and it was enough.

    I solved my yaw problem by adding a low pass filter to it. I did not find another way.

    I installed MatzMan666 motion cancellation. I made it work, but did not test it on a ride yet. I'm trying to raise awareness on Pimax facebook page about the lack of support from Steam and hope that Pimax could do something about it. I don't have high hopes, but at least, I'm trying.

    Did a little test with NoLimit2, but it didn't work. I leave it for now.

    dial_down.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +100 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    If you was a bit sick with assetto corsa be careful with No limit 2 !! because it was the same for me , after 3 or 4 rides it was enough for me !
    --No limit2: you must put at the game set up ( ( --telemetry)).https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/no-limits-2-v2-2-and-higher-how-to-activate-telemetry.198/
    - With the *Define Hexapod* some range was a little bit over for my set up ( Rig) like : Yaw , Roll and Pitch , all was at 25 and when I did manuel pose , all of them down about 17-18 (1 inch near from the limit switch ) ... for all the rest it seem ok !
    - Other problem I have is , when I put the filter (Low pass..) I can`t see diference between Actuator Original and filtered , I don't know what I do not correctly!!
    - For the Menu *Settings* ( Current: last config), If I did all ajustement with SMC3 , can I change those with this menu or is just for Pmvcda rig Menu ? and if yes ... what I can change with center rotation x,y,z ?
    and for the end .. I have the same problem then you ... too much power ...(My rig is bigger than yours!):grin
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  17. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    257
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,927Coins
    Ratings:
    +300 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Awesome work man! I remember way back when this thread started. That's a heck of a lot of progress! Bon Travail!
    • Agree Agree x 2
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It's better to have more power than not enough. But we have to be smart enough to tone it down to the right value (With great power comes great destruction).

    Thanks for the info on No Limit2, I haven seen that one at all.

    On the picture above, you can see that I put a Low Pass Filter on the Yaw at the value of 50. It worked great for me. Nothing else to do.

    For the menu setting, I don't think we can change the P.I.D. when connected to Simtool. If I remember well, they are grayed out when we press Simtools Start. I only adjust them with SMC3. I think they are use for other configuration, like Pmvcda rig.
    The Center of rotation is the position of the center of rotation (Doh!). If you change them, you will see the red/green/blue gizmo move, and the rotation forces will move around this new position. I bring it down and a bit back to fit my seat position at the height of my as... Hips.
    • Like Like x 4
  19. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,171Coins
    Ratings:
    +618 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Merci Tim McGuire. Google Translation : Bring us to your Tim Horton leader so we can plan the destruction of you world!

    When this thread started, I had not a single clue of what I was doing. Now, I can proudly say that I have two years experience at building simulators.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,470
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Do you only have 90mm range of movement in your actuators ?