1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

6 DOF from scratch

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pierre Lalancette, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Indeed, after some research, it look like a great price for the power. I found some on eBay and decide to go for 6 of them. Investing into the future.
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    It is Christmas again! It`s been a long time.

    IMG_1411.JPG

    I received my Dell 2650. I am surprise how small those things are.

    IMG_1412.JPG

    502 W max. Choose your language for the warning.

    IMG_1413.JPG

    Oh! Great! How am I suppose to connect to those?

    IMG_1414.JPG

    It brings me many questions.

    -Can only 6 of there drive a full simulator?
    -Could I use those in a 24 V configuration if I would get 24V motors instead of 12V motors?
    -Is 24V motors gives better result in a simulator than 12V motors?

    I should get my Sabertooth soon. It seems there was some confusion, but now it is sorted out. It should here soon.
  3. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Those dont appear to be dell 2650 as shown below. but rather dps 500cba Or another version of the dsp-600pb's...just a little less power.

    [​IMG]

    If you want it "switched" add a switch between the 3 turn on Pins. You'll also want to do the fan trick to quite down the fan.
    • Informative Informative x 4
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Pin out for your PSU's

    The pins in the center are 6 across, and 4 down. we will start at the top left and go down, A, B,C,D, and go across 1,2,3,4,5.6

    Short A5 to B5
    and
    C4 to D4

    You will hear a rely kick, and the fans start, then have ~ 12.4 vdc between the pin heavy clips on the left, and the other two on the far right of the connector.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes you can run them in series to get 24 volts :)
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In regards to the 24v conversion, Just PLEASE be careful and follow the directions VERY closely when converting...You Can and will hurt yourself if your not smart about it.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, it seems a DSP-600pb but it's got way more pins
  8. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    This is what is says on my order:

    Dell Poweredge 2650 Server 502W Redundant Power Supply DDS-500CB TH-00H694/J1540

    Oh, well. As long as they work. Thanks for all the wiring advices. They are my references now. I had seen a picture from wannabeflyer2 using similar devices in series to get 24V, so I figured out it could be used as such. But, I'm glad to have a confirmation.

    Don't worry Nick, I don't like hi power electricity that much. When you know that 1 amp can kill you, it is a good thing to give some respect to those little beast. I will test them during my next bath. ;)

    I am still wondering about motors. Is there a signifiant difference between 12v motors or 24v motors on a rig? I have no motor in mind, nor did I do any research. Just asking opinions.
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    ah sheesh, my bad, the PSU's I was thinking were the 2950's.....Not the 2650's.....Sorry for the confusion Pierre.
  10. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Does it means that the wiring you were giving me earlier is not good? Now, I am really confuse. LOL
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    What motors are you using??
  13. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Interesting. I was doing my research at the same time and find this video that gives different pinout. But, I am pretty sure there is more than one way to start those things:
    It says to connect all together A6, B5 and C4


    I will probably test both, to see if I can start a fire.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    None. I have no motor in mind right now. I am open to any suggestion. Budget, availability, power, astral positioning will influence my final choice.
  15. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    "Budget" is a weird word to use on a 6dof rig. To temper your thoughts I would say your looking at greater then 1000k USD. You may be aware of this.
  16. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    1000k USD... 1000 000 USD... Probably not what you meant.
    I probably didn't express myself right.
    I am not looking for the lowest and cheapest simulator I can build. I am just trying to avoid taking always the worst decision there is. Like for motors, I don't know much (read "nothing") and I am wondering if it is better to invest more in a more expensive 24v motor than a equivalent 12v. Maybe there is no difference. Maybe there is too many choice to easily answer this question. This is why I ask questions.
    I have the power, the software, the Arduino, my 10 turns/10 K pot, the limit switches and I receive two hours ago the confirmation that my sabertooth was shipped. Now I start looking for ball screws and motors to build my first ever linear actuator. For sure, I will start with only one. Can't pay for 6 in one go.
    What is my budget. Don't really know. Something that won't put me to bankrupt, that I won't feel too guilty to buy instead of renovating the bathroom, that it worth the money.
    I know in the end, I will probably have spent a few thousand Canadian dollars in it (sobbing).
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,872Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    If I could choose again I would probably go with 24v if I could find some with a fast enough RPM at at a reasonable price. I have always had problem with heat with 12v motors and 24v motors use less amps which in turn = less heat that's my thinking anyway. It depends what you are wanting to build aswell if you are going for geared motors or going down the DD actuator route

    I may even still get some 24v if I ever spot some cheapies somewhere.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    425
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 3 / -0
    Hi would be AMPFLOW motors nothing for you, there E30-150 or E30-400
  19. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +791 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks SilentChill, that`s the information I was looking for.

    That AMPFLOW motor look really nice, for a reasonable price. Half the price in shipping, but that`s the burden of trying to build something. Oh! There is the US exchange, the taxes at the border. Damn, they start to be expensive. But they are really nice motor.

    I tested my power supplies. At first, they didn`t work at all with the wiring I was told. Until I found out I was holding them upside down. They worked fine after that.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Those pesky PSU's, Flipping them selves over for no reason. :p
    • Funny Funny x 1