1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom 4Dof upgradeable to 6Dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by mariano68, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    What did the ballscrews cost each ?
  2. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    They are Chinese, I got them a year or more ago, I don't remember but sure the same as the rest of the guys that got them there.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,777
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,912Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please be aware that you can dual language post but it is part of the Forum Rules that you also include English, doing so via Google Translate is fine: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/forum-rules.9527/
  4. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Returning to the project...
    I had to put it on stand by because of the lack of space to put the simulator, as it has a footprint of about 170x110cm, So, I built a little external room for it in a lateral corridor of my home, it took two days with some help...
    Not the neatest but big enough to put the computer and sim inside and have all the privacy I want, cause it is outside the house :). I used all recycled materials from other jobs. It is 240x170cm. I got my " Man's cave" and I can keep building my new 4dof sim.
    20180709_170123.jpg 20180709_170136.jpg 20180709_170324.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
  5. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Finally got my first 3d printer!
    Ender 3:
    20180904_091314.jpg

    Time to learn fusion 360...
    • Like Like x 3
  6. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    V2 of my linear actuator is coming...
    First part printed with a 0.8 nozzle, (ball nut support) perfect fit!
    20181015_215647_HDR.jpg 20181015_220009_HDR.jpg 20181015_222133_HDR.jpg 20181015_222211_HDR.jpg
    Upper part ready too...
    20181015_041002_HDR.jpg 20181015_222211_HDR.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Can we see a video of the actuators working

    What power and rpm are the winch motors ?
  8. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    As you can read, it is still a work in progress...
    Also two diff motors for testing, big 1hp winch and a smaller but already with encoder mounted servos.
  9. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Prototype actuator base, ready
    20181018_193441_HDR.jpg 20181018_131642_HDR.jpg 20181018_193431_HDR.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  10. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I will put this here too...
    Got an old friend to jump up into my project, he is doing the electronics now, already got the encoder (2000cpi) to work with arduino, but arduino and also the sabertooth will get out of the ecuation soon... I want my little 48v servo motor to work at that 48v!
    For now:

    Just quoting my friend Hernan:
    In more technical terms, the pic receives the quadrature signal from the enconder, and generates a pwm proportional to the position, that is filtered and sent to the arduino as a 0 to 5V signal, as if it were a pot.
    inside the pic you can count all the laps that are needed, so that the 0 to 5 V end up representing the number of laps multiplied by the resolution of the encoder, in our case it would be something like 70,000 positions.
    But, in the arduino all that goes to the bin, it must have 10bit input, 1024 positions. So that is worse than reading my tester hahaha.

    BTW, that red part, its the bottom of my new actuator design.
    • Like Like x 4
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2018
  11. thefost

    thefost Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Any chance you were able to make progress on the build? I'm planning on making something similar.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,777
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,912Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Amazon is a convenient option.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Hi guys, coming back... hug:
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2020
  14. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I can't see the pic o_O
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,777
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,912Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  16. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    • Winner Winner x 1
  17. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +393 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I'm looking for a 48 or 60V motor driver, any clues?
    Thanks anyway!