1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 4DOF motion simulator with Simukit's solution

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by jjanu, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    I have purchased the parts and am waiting for them to arrive and will update as soon as I start. Out of interest, what Arduino code are you using?
  2. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Good to hear! Congrats on your purchase of the parts. All the codes and instructions are available on the Simukit builder's page of the PCSHM forum. I followed the guide step-by-step and beside very little glitches and hiccups it worked first time. http://pcshm-simulateurs-homemade.c...pour-les-nouveaux-explication-lien-sch-ma.htm

    Arduino codes links are indicated in the top section, along with the Sabertooth's. And do not hesitate to watch my first video and pause on the pictures to see the details about connections and assembly. If need be I can describe some of the visual if it ain't clear.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thanks, I've been looking on building a motion sim for a long time and I'm not disappointed. I've been dwelling on what solution to get: DBOX, SCN, stepper motors. I do not regret the choice I made. It required some elbow grease but the wait paid off! I think that this motion platform is all what we can expect of a sim. I don't know much about it like you do guys since it is my first but I don't see how it can be any better in that price range. Few minutes ago I was in Dirt Rally and "Oh men" that thing rocks! My younger one is sleeping in the room almost next to my sim room and the motors are so quiet she never woke-up although the cockpit was shaking in all directions.:grin
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    Thanks jjanu, as soon as my parts arrive and I get started I'll let you know. Have you installed traction loss yet?
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,338Coins
    Ratings:
    +273 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    He is probably using 1.6 version of my sketch that I still have not shared on this forum :oops::blush... It's very different and better from the 1.23 version here !
  6. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    Out of interest why have you not shared it on here?
  7. steamtrac

    steamtrac New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Just seen on your video: I think the heave axis is running the wrong way around. I think currently you are lifted, when you should go down. Maybe you try to invert heave.
    Buy the way: I am also using the simukit gearboxes. But all the rest ist DIY.
  8. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,338Coins
    Ratings:
    +273 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I just did not take the time to write the changes because there are a lot of things that change compared to 1.23 :blush
  9. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Excellent!

    I'll work on the traction loss assembly this weekend. I still need to buy the parts--wheels, supports, screws, metal sheets. Can't wait to try it out:roll I'll give you feedback when done.
  10. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Fluke, Wanegain is allowing me to upload his Arduino code version 1.6. It's the one I used. Find attached.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    Thanks jjanu.:thumbs
  12. dion

    dion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Wow love your build!! Nice work
  13. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thanks Dion!

    This w-e I've been working on a couple of things such as adding a key starter to avoid anybody in the house putting the sim on tension by accident. I also prepared the platform to receive the yaw (traction loss) option. I've got small wheels installed and the sim is now doing smooth yaw motion but I still need to install the motor and cranks. Next weekend...
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    Cant wait to see how you have implemented traction loss.:) I am still waiting for my kit to arrive and have been told that it will be shipped at the end of this week.:popcorn
  15. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    What version of the Arduino software was the sketch compiled on? I keep getting error messages when trying to verify or upload it. I have version 1.8.4.
  16. steamtrac

    steamtrac New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
  17. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Stafford, United Kingdom
    Balance:
    653Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    I have tried 1.6 and I still get errors. I can use the Blink sketch no problem.:(
  18. jjanu

    jjanu LiveForSim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Multimedia
    Location:
    Québec
    Balance:
    403Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Fluke, have you downloaded the Arduino libraries for the Sabertooth boards? It's a very important step. Without those it won't compile and the motors won't be controllable.

    You can find the instructions on PCSHM tutorial (top of page):
    http://pcshm-simulateurs-homemade.c...pour-les-nouveaux-explication-lien-sch-ma.htm

    Direct link for the libraries:
    https://www.dimensionengineering.com/info/arduino
  19. Ringorumble

    Ringorumble Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Balance:
    234Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 1 / -0
    The best would be to Post the failures which are Reported by the compile window.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,338Coins
    Ratings:
    +273 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Did you install sabertooth libraries ? Can you please report the error in compilation ?