1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

4Dof-Controller code for arduino mega for AASD-15A and similar driver

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by cubexxx, Mar 19, 2020.

  1. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I created a arduino sketch for generating those pulses needed to control servo drivers such as the AASD-15A used in the sfx100 project and the pt-actuators. The specific parameters are meant for the sfx100 actuator (ca. 110 mm stroke, aasd-driver, 90st motor) but it could easily be adapted to other configurations. There are currently no convenience/security functions. It currently only works with the arduino mega 2560 because I'm using hardware timer registers directly for better performance. For smoother movement I do interpolation, i.e. I distribute the pulses evenly across the sample interval. I use Pn098 = 10 (sfx100 system uses 20) and use it with FlyPt-Mover with these settings:

    flyPtSettings.png

    Feel free to use and modify (at your own risk of course)

    I made the code available on github if you don't want to spend the coins:
    https://github.com/cubexvr/servoController

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 7
    • Winner Winner x 4
    • Creative Creative x 1
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2020
  2. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,698Coins
    Ratings:
    +399 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, JRK
    Wow, interesting.

    Would love to try it, but I suppose it doesn't work with Arduino Leonardo which is commonly used for OpenSFX projects?
  3. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Leonardo has a little bit different timers so it will not work out of the box. Adaption may be possible, I may have a look into it if a lot of people are interested. But arduino mega clones can be had for about 20€/$ and the pinout will most certainly be different
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2020
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,846
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    14,094Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,165 / 16 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    If you do it for Leonardo, would be good to match the pinout. :)

    And yes, this is Open Source :thumbs
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2020
  5. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm be trying this it for my 3x sfx actuators when I get em up and running in a month or so. Thanks a bunch! Those Thanos boards are expensive and I can't give up Mover at this point.
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,342
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    2,672Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,043 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
  7. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Last edited: May 29, 2020
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,342
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    2,672Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,043 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You could actually change the Pn98 (Electronic Gear multiplier) from 20 to 40 for example to use it with 200mm stroke... :grin

    Shh... its a secret... lol
  9. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Right!

    :cheers:thumbs
  10. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Yeah, but you loose half of the resolution by doing that. I'm using 10 so even better resolution, good for smooth movement. And this is open software, so by adapting the source you can change basically everything.
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,342
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    2,672Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,043 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Sure, now you should add some automatic home calibration too, I didn't see that anywhere in the code... :cheers
  12. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    As I said, no security/convenience functions yet, I personally don't need it, I care more about motion quality. If people want calibration (or an end stop switch) they can add it, source is free.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: May 30, 2020
  13. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Gotta admit im a bit torn on what to do. Always want the best haha. The Thanos board will cost me a hefty 400 dollar with tax and all and if the Leonardo is generally enough for the SFX normally the Mega should be fine.

    I got lots of switches and such lying around so im sure adding a endstop would be easy enough. Or some other solution but ill have to research that. Any hint on where to start for a purely programming solution?
  14. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have a couple of questions.

    What's the lowest latency you can get with this?
    Do you have a picture of your wiring/pinouts?

    Code:
    // for sfx100 with pn98 = 10 (pulse multiplier)
    const unsigned int minPos = 0;
    const unsigned int centerPos = 11000;
    const unsigned int maxPos = 22000;
    
    I need to adjust so i get 150mm throw. Do i just do that in the Mover rig gain settings or do i need to modify the sketch? How does these values end up being 0 32 65?

    In relation to that i have an issue too. I get a Gain(logististic/value;550;10);1) There's missing a 0 from your picture. It dont feel at all correct for me. Should it move that much with so little movement of the position test? If i keep the gain/log to 550 and just 1 on gains they move normally with no extra gain

    rig test1.png

    rig test 1 filter.png


    If you wouldnt mind briefly explaining how things relate id be most grateful.
    Cheers!
  15. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Not sure what you mean by latency? I use 2ms calculation time in mover, the aasd drivers themselves have a bigger latency than that. As soon as the data is received from mover output of pulses starts.
    For the pins I have no picture, in the code there are comments which pins are used:
    // pulse 0
    const byte ocr1bPin = 12;
    // pulse 1
    const byte ocr3bPin = 2;
    // pulse 2
    const byte ocr4bPin = 7;
    // pulse 3
    const byte ocr5bPin = 45;

    // direction
    const byte dir0 = 30;
    const byte dir1 = 31;
    const byte dir2 = 32;
    const byte dir3 = 33;
    So first pulse pin is 12, first direction pin is 30, etc
    Explanation for maxPos: These are the number of pulses needed for the maximum elongation. SFX-100 has about 110mm stroke, one rotation of the motor is 1000 pulses (encoder resolution / pn98 = 10000/10), one rotation is 5mm (pitch of ballscrew) so (110/5)*1000 = maxPos = 22000 pulses = 110mm. centerPos is just half of that.
    Now in mover I use 16bit = 65535 maximum. I divide by 3 (in the code "mapToRange" so that max input from mover is close to 22000 ~ 65535/3, that's just to be able to use the whole 16 bit range.
    That "Gain(logististic/value;550;10);1)" or whatever it was exactly was just a try to have a soft limit, you can use whatever you like there, has nothing to do with the controller code.
    Hope things are clearer now
    • Informative Informative x 2
  16. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks, appreciate the explanation. That clears things up quite a bit

    For the latency i meant this bit. Could that be lower for quicker reaction of the driver/motors or isnt there much point to it?

    Code:
     
    // 2ms = 0.5 us * 4000 (can be adapted to needs)
    const unsigned int samplePeriod = 4000;
    
  17. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    That should be the same as in mover, its used for distributing the pulses equally across this intervall. You can make it shorter, then the pulses will be sent faster, but that in my opinion doesn't lead to better motion, because its not about "moving as fast as possible from A to B" but rather reproducing the whole continuous motion. Its fast when needed (big movement) but also smooth for slow movements
  18. RowanH

    RowanH New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    This is cool. Thanks for sharing the code - for us nerds good to see how some of it works. I'm now trying to understand hardware registers :)
  19. cubexxx

    cubexxx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Balance:
    532Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I recently modified my sfx100 to 140mm stroke. The 140mm stroke needs 140 * 200 = 28000 pulses range, nearest bit value for mover is 15 bit = 32767. Now in the current version of mover (2.9.9) you have a "scale" value but that doesn't change the center, i.e. with 15 bit the output value for center will always be 16383.
    So I had to make a few adaptions the code:
    ...
    // for sfx140 with pn98 = 10 (pulse multiplier)
    const unsigned int minPos = 2383;
    const unsigned int centerPos = 16383;
    const unsigned int maxPos = 30383;
    ...
    in setup():
    ...
    for (int i = 0; i < motors; i++) {
    targetPos = minPos;
    currentPos = minPos;
    ...
    and
    ...
    unsigned int mapToRange(unsigned int pos) {
    unsigned int mappedPos = pos;
    if (mappedPos > maxPos) {
    return maxPos;
    }
    if (mappedPos < minPos) {
    return minPos;
    }
    return mappedPos;
    }
    ...

    The scale value for mover is 28000/32768 = 0.854
    • Useful Useful x 1
  20. Trigen

    Trigen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    472
    Balance:
    2,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @cubexxx Im assembling the electronics at the moment. I cant get it working properly. It works fine with the SFX software start/stop

    I thought it would be just using the DIR from the SFX wiring on DIR and Step on pulse but i got ENA on Pulse and DIR on DIR which is straight forward enough

    My issue is that it just spins randomly when its connected to these two pins. Or it will just spin as soon as i connect ENA DSUB 6 on any of the assigned pins (Also when PT move is disconnected ) but it does change direction when i move the slider in PT mover pos/neg

    Any ideas? It seems to be that it just keeps sending pulses and dont know where it is

    This is why i asked for wiring btw, troubleshoothing would be a lot easier if i knew exactly what wires went where. do i need just DIR ENA or all 3 ?



    https://opensfx.com/build-process-controller-wiring/
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2020