1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

$450 Mige Direct Drive Wheel using MMOS and AASD

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Peacemaker105, May 6, 2020.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I am struggling to get the hydraulic brake and throttle identified in RF2 - works in other games

    has somebody got a controller file eg -- mmos 2014.json i can take a look at ?
  2. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    I'm not able to upload a .json file either here or in a message to you?

  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,803
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,100Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,640 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Zip the file, then you will be able to upload it here.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    can you open it in notepad and copy the contents here ?
  5. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Thanks Noorbeast!

    Here are my json files that I am using in RF2 My DIY Hydraulic pedals are on a DSD board and everything else is on Joystick/Arduino boards. I have only the DD Wheel on the Thanos board.

    I don't have everything setup yet just the important items

    Attached Files:

  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    thank you
    • Like Like x 1
  7. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    I started out using the SIMcube JSON as the base, made my changes and saved it as ddmmos.JSON the second one is setup just for my h-pattern driving. Only change I made in the .JSON was some settings I found on the net so it would not be so "violent" with crashes, sorry don't recall what they were. The wheel does not rip your hands off now when you crash but does let you know you crashed :D I haven't had time to sit down and play with other setting. I use ingame Car FFB between 30-40% I am running my wheel on 120v here in the USA and see no heat related or noise issues. I use headphones and have 4 corner and 1 underseat bass shaker so I would not notice it anyways.

    The MMOSFFB-2014 setting I use are the default ones Thanos recommends. Same for the Controller settings (default Thanos), I did change PN190 from -100 to -50 I'm using a 130ST M10015

    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2020
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    detection problem fixed by using a lower value pot for the throttle pedal 10k instead of 100k

    :)
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. keshan

    keshan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Hi Thanos, I saw your video on youtube about making the servo to work on 110v, in the comment section you mentioned: "it needs pulse/dir signals". Please forgive me that this is not my strong suit, does it have anything to do with making that a DD wheel? Thanks.
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Do any of you guys running RF2 have suggestions for settings

    I have
    Smoothing 0
    Min torque 0
    Multiplier 0.28

    Do i need to make changes to the mmos software ?

    (Ideally I would like the finer resolution stronger and the full on forces less powerfull)
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,161
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,111Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yes, the same servomotors are used for linear actuators as well, but in that case it uses pulses and direction to control the positions of the motor.

    For steering wheel with the MMOS, the AASD servo needs to be set in Torque mode with analog input, which still uses direction signal.
  12. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My thoughts (and I'm no expert at all on any of this) but I think you are going to have to go into the .JSON file and make changes to the settings. That's the direction I plan on heading, I know I did make some changes already to some that deal with "crashing" as I like my hands the way they are :D

    I'm going to print out a copy of my current JSON file and then go down through it line by line and research what each one does and then try and make some informed changes . . .

    I have tried to change some of the settings in MMOS but always come back to what Thanos recommended.

    Gadget999, think you motivated me to get working on this!
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    A question for anyone using rf2

    Do you have to hold the wheel to drive in a straight line ?

    I find the wheel works great but if you let go driving the car it just veers off to one side.

    Also when stationary the wheel will not sit in the middle

    Is this normal ?
  14. harry morrice

    harry morrice New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello all,
    I have bought myself a Mige 130st-10010, and with that a Mige servo drive. I bought the servo drive from Mige thinking it was the same as an AASD-30a.
    It’s very similar, although is has a 36 pin connection instead of a db25 connector, and also the parameters are different. I believe I have most of is figured out, I have it connected to my computer and there are signs of life. The encoder works and torque is being transmitted. However, there is no motion feedback. It does not move in any direction.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I am in torque mode, and I am using the analogue +-10v pin on the driver that controls torque.
    There are separate pins for torque and speed.
    I have uploaded the manual for the drive.

    Many thanks in advance!

    Attached Files:

  15. Milt

    Milt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    - 5Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF

    Could be any number of things. Wiring, parameters, etc... do you have an estop on pin 10 of CN1 to enable/disable the servo? Does the servo work in Jog mode controlled by the servo driver?
  16. harry morrice

    harry morrice New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes, pin 10 is connected to gnd and servo enables. I will try the jog function
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i did the same thing expecting the mige servo drive to be compatible - it isn't !

    the mige servo drive uses a -10 to +10v signal to control force and direction

    the aasd servo drive uses a direction pin and a positive voltage

    I am not sure you can program the MMOs software to work with a negative and positive signal

    I bought a TDD Thanos board which is definitely not compatible

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/thanos-direct-drive.14818/

    I ended up ditching the mige drive and buying an aasd driver

    many months later the wheel works, but I can still not get it to work with my favourite sim RF2

    in hindsight I wish I had bought a Simplicity SW30 wheel and saved the headache and the waste of time
  18. harry morrice

    harry morrice New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi, thank you for that.

    From what I can tell, the AASD driver uses +-10v as well on pin 25 (Vref) it is an analogue input. Would this not be the same?

    I specifically asked Mige if they could sell me an AASD-30A and they said they could, do a little frustrated. I will try what I can to get it working.
  19. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +293 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you need the circuit board to produce the + / - voltage - not the driver

    i dont think the Disco board / TDD can produce a negative voltage

    i did get it to work using a DC motor driver - to flip the signal back and forth, but i was not sure it would be refined enough for a Sim Wheel

    (Years ago I built the Cousin of OSW a DC motor based FFB Wheel - I expected building a servo wheel would be a better product - it wasnt !)
  20. wison

    wison New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    - 401Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi All, I have a question
    I use AASD30A and RIDING SERVO MOTOR
    1. After test JOG AASD, motor will stuck and then show error AL-06 "overload 2"
    2. Can the UVW power cable be connected interchangeably?