1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

$450 Mige Direct Drive Wheel using MMOS and AASD

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Peacemaker105, May 6, 2020.

  1. vicborder

    vicborder Vicborder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    - 329Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    hey, what code in Arduino did you use? i'm looking for a code to make MCP4725 I can't find anything, could you tell me the code?
    • Like Like x 1
  2. karldink

    karldink New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    @David Böttger can you link to this firmware please? Can't seem to find a download link.
  3. DJ_BLAZKOWICZ

    DJ_BLAZKOWICZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    IT TECH
    Location:
    Scotland
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 2 / -0
    Hey, I sadly no longer have the sketch. But you essentially want to do something like this: https://arduino.stackexchange.com/q...-on-one-arduino-to-an-analog-input-on-another

    So if you can send the pwm to the arduino, and use the arduino to translate the pwm signal to a 12bit value so 0-4095 then you can send that value to the MCP to generate the appropriate voltage.

    It did not work for me very well and made the ffb signal very erratic, and sometimes dangerous. It is possible that simply my implementation was bad as I am not a good coder.
  4. vicborder

    vicborder Vicborder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Balance:
    - 329Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok thanks :thumbs
  5. David Böttger

    David Böttger New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Here is the link to VNMCar Simulators GitHub page: https://github.com/hoantv/CarSimulatorFirmware
    I suggest to check out his discord. He is very active there and he implements the new features very quickly. It is still in the early development phase but works great already. I am very interested in your experience with it. Please keep us updated.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Hope it's ok to add some pics in this thread of my +"$450" MMOS Wheel project. I exceeded the challenge price but I sort of kept with the DIY aspect, bought the Thanos PCB, Servo 130ST-M10015. Used Thanos' settings and set it up to give it a try. Had to play around a bit to understand how the software all worked and rewatch some of Thanos YouTube videos to get everything working.

    The computer I am using is not my SIM computer so I used the IRacing Wheel test program along with MMOS software, ran the setup on 120v. I heard no humming noise at all from this setup even hitting the stops (about 50% Max Force, wasn't even going to try 100% :)).

    Next up moving it to my sim rig and giving it a go with RFactor . . .

    1101201353_HDR.png 1101201406_HDR.png
    • Like Like x 4
  7. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Got my DD wheel onto my sim rig today and it works but, once I start RFactor2 up and I am in game with a car instead of getting feedback I get rotation when I turn the wheel, it rotates to the stop then starts back to the other direction to the stop? I can stop the wheel and return back to center but as soon as I move off center it rotates on it's own again? What am I missing in my settings? Outside the game it works fine same in RF2 configuration soon as you go in the car forces reverse. I'm using Thanos' setting from this post, I did set Pn190 to -50 instead of -100 to control wheel oscillation at center.

    Not sure if I can post a video as I only have 2 posts so far on this forum . . .
  8. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    SOLVED: I was using a Controller file I had modified that was originally used for my G27 wheel, used a OSW controller file (which I can now modify for my MMOS wheel) and it's working correctly . . . for the record 100% FFB is way more than this ole'man needs!!

    All I can say this setup is AMAZING! Thanks to all of you who share your info for those less fortunate to have the "brains" required to figure this stuff out! :D:D:D
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  9. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    459Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    Invert rfactor2 ffb

    Controller.JSON
    "Steering effects strength":-10000,
    • Like Like x 1
  10. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Thanks, I posted a followup comment to my first comment. (wasn't able to edit my first comment). I appreciate your reply as a confirmation I'm headed in the right direction!

    I should have searched the net for my reverse ffb issue as I found my answer was my .JSON file. I was using was a modified copy of the G27 wheel which had "10000". I made that change to my modified .JSON and that made little change so I decided I would instead use another DD .JSON file as my starting base to modify to suit my MMOS DD wheel.

    It's all a learning process and I have a lot to learn! I am thankful so many are willing to share! :)
    • Like Like x 1
  11. byAGM

    byAGM New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    25Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Have you been able to build a box?

    ___________
    I dont know you, guys, but I find that beep at such high frequency and intensity so unpleasant that I can't spend more than 5 minutes playing because of the headache it causes. (I am not a person who usually has headaches, actually... never).
    I dont care if the motor makes more or less noise, cause its low and temporal noise, but that constant 10KHz beep its unbearable, literally.
    It seems incredible to me that there is no more emphasis on this problem , I mean, you guys can stand the noise it makes?o_O For me it would at least be a reason to stop using it (unless there was a viable solution).

    @Thanos Does your controller solve the servodriver high frequency noise issues?
  12. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    349
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,315Coins
    Ratings:
    +316 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    @67 year old I can no longer hear 10khz.
    Can you possibly wear earplugs?
    I tried to Google High frequency earplugs but all I could find is "Call your audiologist."
    I believe the 10khz audio is coming from the switching circuit. Since these servo units were meant for industrial use I doubt they were considered about the noise at all.
    I have to agree with the above post and build a sound deadening enclosure for the drive unit.
  13. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    1,514Coins
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0 / -0
    There are lots of post about the noise on racedepartment. Some have built boxes. If I remember they say the noise comes from both the motor and the driver.
  14. Peacemaker105

    Peacemaker105 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Perth, Aus
    Balance:
    1,610Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Nice work man! yeah the 450 benchmark is the minimum (cheaper if you use a 90st motor) but its only for use with the discovery board.. the extra spent on the TDD is money wll spent mate! you'll love it. just consider you may need shielded motor cables if you experience EMI etc.. but yeah. happy driving :)
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i am trying to use my MMOS wheel and TDD board with Rf2

    is there a special driver to get it to work ?

    do any of you guys use RF2 ?
  16. brucepts

    brucepts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    RF2 is the only SIM I run;

    I upgraded from a G27 and was having issues, I selected a driver for SIMCube as my base driver for the MMOS build and have it working, I loaded that driver made my changes then saved it back out as "DD MMOS" from there I have a driver for each shifting setup I use ie paddle or h-pattern (that's probably not necessary).

    I have not gone in a changed any of the .JSON settings other than turning down the ones related to impacts (don't recall which those are off the top of my head) per recommendations I saw on someone's YoutTube video on DD wheel settings. The wheel will do some damage to you if those are set high! I need to get some time to sit down and play with setting to tune the wheel to my liking but it's been fine the way it is. I used Thanos' base setting in the MMOS software and use about 30% FFB, each car will be different and again will be to your liking and servo size you are using.

    I am by far NOT and expert on any of this! :D
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thank you for the tip, i will give it a go and hopefully save a suitable controller file
  18. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    459Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    @Gadget999
    I'm using rf2 with mmos.
    I don't think I had to do anything other than reversing the force.
    What is the problem?
  19. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    It detects the mmos 2014 but there is no driver available in Rf2

    None of the pedals or steering inputs seem to work
  20. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    459Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    @Gadget999
    I use only the steering wheel with mmos.
    No presets are used.
    No device driver is installed.