1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

3dof seat mover 360 degrees traction loss/yaw

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by hartsa90, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    I was thinking of opening a thread later on but I need advice (new member) before I do something irreversible.
    Hopefully haven't done already.

    So here's my plan so far: 3dof racing simulator with 360 traction loss/yaw based on RacingMat's 4dof 1 pin code. Simulator would be similar to (FAQ section innovative idea) 360 yaw simulator. The rig would be placed on three wheels. Two on the front and one the back of the seat. It would be a seat mover and the motors would be placed on front of the seat. Seat would be moved with a linkage system. I was thinking of using "dog bones" from a car stabilizer bar to keep the noise down. Traction loss/yaw motor will be attached to a wheel (diameter 270mm). Motors would be Nidec worm gear motors 24v 6A 70rpm 46:1.

    Already bought Arduino Uno and three Pololu G2 24V21 motor drivers. Need to buy three 24v 200w PSU's. I have three 10 turn 10k pot's which would be attached to the motor's with gears. Have been reading other threads and to me it seems that I could get better resolution with 10 turn pot's? Also I have a slew sensor with continues pot for the traction loss if that can be used?

    I haven't found information about traction loss wash out feel. Do you notice the wash out if the rig has fixed bearing on the font of the rig?

    Thank's in advance...

    EDIT:
    Changed my configuration to SMC3 utility for better motor controll.
    Here's a Dirt Rally video of the sim in action.



    P2200238.JPG
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2017
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Little change to my plans. I have two unused Speed 900bb torque motors which I will equip with 1:6,25 planetary gear and 3M HTD timing belt system. It will give total ratio of 1:81. Motor no load speed is 6500 rpm at 12V 1.1A and I am going to run those with 24V. Hopefully my math is correct: 6500/81=80rpm so 80/60x3,14x50=209 mm/s linear speed for the seat mover.
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,297Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    360deg is NOT traction loss, Its Yaw. More to do with Flight than with Racing.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    I am trying to manufacture traction loss without wash out. Same Pivot point as traction loss rigs have. If somebody could give their opinion about the wash out feel. Is it notiaceable of not?
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,033
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,114Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,077 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    It is. To me it is more noticeable than my sway table...which means a lot. If you use a 360° TL motion design you should use washout for sure, washout lets you feel more real, otherwise the TL motors are snapping back to start position which is not always coherent to the car in the game.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    OK thanks. It seems that I got it backwards. When you use washout the motor will not Center itself. That Is what I was looking for, real movements only...
  8. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    I will Post Pictures of My actuators as soon as I am allowed to. Just did a quick test with a lab psu. Actuators seems to work. Motors and the planetary Gear seems noisy.

    I have to insert a limit switch to cut the motor Power in Case of motor run away. Also potentiometer Must be mounted to the motor shaft.
  9. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    IMG_20161027_131457.jpg IMG_20161027_131407.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,297Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Interested, But very confused at the same time. Look forward to your next updates.
  11. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
  12. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Here's my electric schematics. PRW3, DIR3 and pot3 pinouts missing at this point.
    Going to use hall sensors for the seat mover motors and 10 turn pot for the traction loss.

    Attached Files:

  13. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Wiring almost done... Here's a picture of the pololu drivers.

    Attached Files:

  14. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Made some progress on the build.
    IMG_20161211_134541.jpg IMG_20161211_134533.jpg IMG_20161211_115703.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,104Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,056 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Are you going triple screens?
    That rig's gonna flex/shake A LOT. It seems a bit too thin to me
  16. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,297Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I would also echo Blame's worries....when the rig gets oscillating, it will surely transmit some of that up to the Monitor stand.....Beef up or build some legs for the monitor and have them independent of the rig itself.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Yep need to add vertical supports and hopefully it will be sufficient...
    Back to the drawing board if it will not hold.
  18. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    It takes ages to get the parts done...
    IMG_20161218_195858.jpg IMG_20161218_195941_1.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  19. hartsa90

    hartsa90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    At least something done. Feels guite strudy now...
    IMG_20170118_194656.jpg IMG_20170118_194621.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,297Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Wow, Ill be amazed to see those weee little motor's actually pull this off..Seriously looking forward to seeing them move for the first time......And Kill switch underneath the seat ? Whats that for ? Wheel or Motion ...i see you have another on the Dashboard too.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  21. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    1,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +198 / 0 / -0
    Looking forward to how you're going to implement 360 traction loss. I don't think sim tools is even setup to not return to center for traction loss.

    Back in October @Pit was saying that washout is much a much better way to get to center than without. Either way traction loss will return to center. But you are saying that you will never return to center. I could be wrong but I don't think anybody has ever done it. You are going to need a huge space too because the length of your rig would be the radius of the circle traveled instead of the diameter in 360 yaw. I pictured this thing getting put together in a warehouse or something.