1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question 3DOF monitor position - mount on rig or not ?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by m50b20, Mar 29, 2024.

  1. m50b20

    m50b20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2024
    Messages:
    68
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    What do you think about display location for better immersion ?

    Moving with rig or stand still ?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,551
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    145,124Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,778 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  3. m50b20

    m50b20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2024
    Messages:
    68
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    Thanks, it is really right things about positioning.
    But what about moving&static ? What is your opinion ?
    I thought i'm not the first who asked
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,551
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    145,124Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,778 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have used VR since 2014, so don't believe I am the best person to ask.

    I do think it likely depend a bit on the range of motion. IRL the driver does move a bit independent of the car, which itself is moving independent of the world. For a large axis movement rig I expect the screens moving with the rig are likely better, but you can probably get away with static screens with more modest axis movement. That certainly is the case with VR, on rigs like mine motion cancellation is not needed, but on large axis rigs it certainly is.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. m50b20

    m50b20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2024
    Messages:
    68
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    Yes, something similar was in my head, totally agreed

    Need to discover)