1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

3DOF - C1500´s first Sim Seat

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by C1500, Nov 22, 2018.

  1. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    3,327Coins
    Ratings:
    +531 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I see most people use solution 1, but both will work.
    Use axis/motor 1 to 3 for interface 1/arduino 1 and the others for interface 2/arduino 2.
    Could be any arrangement, but it would be good to have standard so everyone speaks the same.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    @pmvcda : Thanks, i will use version 1 but with Arduino 1 for axis 1-3 and Arduino 2 for axis 4-6
    Here is the corrected version:
    Axis-1.png

    Other news:
    While waiting for the next delivery of PSU i modded the one i still have.
    This little 6cm fan makes horrible noise, so he has to leave the PSU ;)

    Now i use a silent 92mm fan and opend the case in the front a little bit.
    IMG_20190107_220310.jpg IMG_20190107_220408.jpg

    Now there is silence :) :) :)

    The other PSUs will get the same modification short time after delivery

    kind regards
    Peer
  3. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    I´m once again a little bit confused ;)

    The problem is about correct setup of the interfaces in SimTools.

    Interface1.JPG

    Some of you write [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis3a>]
    Other write [Left<Axis1>][Right<Axis2>][Front<Axis3>]
    and a lot of other values

    I´m looking for the correct Settings for the following Setup:
    3x Arduino -> Interface1, Interface2 and Interface3
    On each Arduino are 2 Axis
    It looks like this:
    Axis-3.png


    Is it correct to make the following setup:

    Interface1: [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>]
    Interface2: [C<Axis3a>][D<Axis4a>]
    Interface3: [E<Axis5a>][E<Axis6a>]

    Please help me

    Kind regards
    Peer
  4. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,393
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    26,134Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,441 / 10 / -0
    I believe you will want:
    Interface 1: [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>][C<Axis6b>]
    Interface 2: [A<Axis3a>][B<Axis4a>][C<Axis6b>]
    Interface 3: [A<Axis5a>][B<Axis6a>][C<Axis6b>]
    Axis Axis6b is not used for axis assignments.

    Take care,
    yobuddy
  5. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks yobuddy, for the clarification,

    Now I understand how it is working
    The first character is the Motor (A=1, B=2,C=3) and afterwards the value of the axis sent to the controller.

    But is it really necessary to send [C<axis6b>] ? The most 2DOF if seen doesn´t send this.

    Take care
    Peer
  6. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    Once again a small, ahm..
    A hugh update.

    The last 2 days i disasabled the complete rig cause I broke one of the glued fingers which are connected to the poti.
    Then i decided to turn the motors also.

    Also the plan to use 3 Arduino, one in every corner, came up.

    Today i reassembled and reconnect everything.

    Here are now the first impressions:
    IMG_20190110_213152.jpg IMG_20190110_213159.jpg IMG_20190110_213212.jpg



    Next step is the fine-tuning of pwm and so on.

    Kind regards
    Peer
    • Like Like x 2
  7. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    last Weekend I made the first tests under load ;)

    It was funny for me but not so funny for the IBT_2
    After a view moments of moving, one motor stops, some time later the next. :( :(
    When 4 of the 6 engines stopped, I checked the temperature of the IBT_2´s and they are a little bit hot.

    So I decided to check also the temperature concept of the IBT_2
    First I disassembled the heat sink. To my surprise, there was no gap pad or similar in between.
    Therefore, I have provided the heat sink with a gap pad and screwed again.
    To make the cooling more effective, I mounted 2 IBT_2 together and attached a fan so it blows through between the two IBT_2´s.
    This is what it looks like now:
    IBT_2-Stack.jpg IBT_2-Stack2.jpg

    Yesterday came the next attempt with cooled IBT_2
    Since I do not yet have a steering wheel on the rig, I drove the first test drive with LFS with the mouse.
    That’s a lot of fun.
    I found that 80% in the setting are much too much and first reduced to 40%.

    The TL is a bit "getting used to".
    The position after a TL is always sideways.
    A second TL in the same direction shakes only extremely on the rip.
    But I think it's just an attitude thing.

    Unfortunately, one of the IBT_2 switched off again in this test.
    My guess is now that it has gone into overcurrent shutdown.
    Today I will exchange this IBT_2 for an existing one. Hopefully the overcurrent shutdown will not turn up

    Does anyone know a motor driver except the Sabertooth that have more power than the IBT_2?
    I know that 3 Sabertooth 2x60 will be the perfect way, but they are a little bit to expensive for me at the moment.
    I´ve only seen them for ~160€ each.

    Kind regards

    Peer
  8. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi everyone
    Since I still had construction problems with the steering wheel and pedals mount, I decided to completely rebuild the upper frame.
    Also the idea that the seat is inside the frame didn't leave me alone.
    To realize this, the frame has to get bigger and the seat has to rotate 180°.
    Here is a picture of how I imagine the new frame:
    Top-Frame.png
    I will first create it in wood and later perhaps replace it with an aluminium frame.
    Today I will buy wood, saw and screw.

    What do you think about this frame idea?

    The problem with switching off the IBT_2 is not solved yet.
    Does anyone still have an idea for a more powerful motor driver?

    Yours sincerely
    Peer
  9. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi

    Yesterday I had some free time, so I decided to build the new upper platform.

    This one is now history:
    IMG_20190110_213152.jpg

    After shopping and assembling some wood it looks like this now:
    IMG_20190116_223217.jpg IMG_20190116_223315.jpg

    It feels much better when you sit inside the rotation instead of sitting on the top.

    There are still some small changes to be made:
    Due to the rotation of 180° of the seat I have to change the settings in SimTools.
    The cut for my legs in the frame makes it a bit unstable.
    I'll fix that today with a new front bracket for the pedals.
    Also the steering wheel mount will be easier to implement.
    And the pedals are still a little too steep.

    Yours sincerely
    Peer
    • Like Like x 3
  10. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    Here some pictures of the new front frame and the mounting plate of the G29 wheel.
    IMG_20190117_193420.jpg
    As you can see, there is only one leg on the lefthand side.
    So it is easier to get in the seat.

    And a picture of the full equipment rig:
    Thrustmaster Hotas 4 and G29 wheel with shifter
    IMG_20190117_180224.jpg
    The padels will be modded in future to upside down.

    Kind regards
    Peer
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  11. BrazilianGuy

    BrazilianGuy eternal apprentice

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    106Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Looking awesome C1500!
    I am planing on starting my build soon and my idea was similar to what your rig looks like now.
    Looking forward to some video of this rig in full action!


    Best regards
  12. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    582
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    4,915Coins
    Ratings:
    +561 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Your build is looking really good. I am inspiring myself of your seat platform as it is the next step for me in my build.

    Also, since me, SilentChill and you had problem with Dell PSU tripping, I change my first post of my thread to tell to not use those. LED power supply is the way to go.

    Keep on the good work!
  13. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,106
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,788Coins
    Ratings:
    +595 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Im wondering if your shut downs are because of the strain on the motors essentially pushing the power back because of the resistance.
  14. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    I´ve tested the rig now for some "moments"
    It feels realy good, BUT:

    There was this realy bad situation where 1 motor seems to get wrong position information an starts to turn arround and around and....
    The arm of the motor cut of the aluminium holder of the poti.
    motor.jpg

    This mistake brings me to the idea to use the backside of the motor for connecting the poti.
    So i disasambled one motor to see what´s possible.

    The screw on the back is only for setting the axl in right possition.
    motor1.jpg

    My idea is now to use the hole from the screw to extend the axl until i can connect the poti on the outside

    To hold the axl in right place, i put some brazen washer between case and the red disk
    motor2.jpg

    Next step is to glue the extantion and make some new arms to hold the poti.

    I will trie the first on one motor and if it is working well I will modify all other motors later.

    Kind regards
    Peer
  15. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Sorry, i miss to update the frame pix

    I also modified the padles, turned them and made a frame for them.
    Rig2.jpg
    The position of the padles is not perfekt and i will modify it so the padels are rising up a bit.

    The sigle-side-arm for the wheel works great und extremly stable so it is realy easy to go in the rig.
    Rig1.jpg
    The two wooden peaks are not only the frame for the padles, it is also the base for the display frame.

    Kind regards
    Peer
    • Like Like x 2
  16. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi ho

    Only a small update today

    I tried to find a solution to fold away the handbrake and the gear switch to make it easier to go into the rig.
    But every idea doesn´t seem the right one....

    A view hours later I’ve decided to mount the steering wheel just like in my car, on the right side.
    Now the handbrake and the gear switch has not to be removed to exit the rig. *lol*
    IMG_20190225_214439.jpg IMG_20190225_214507.jpg
    Sometimes it can be so easy, but you have to find the easy way ;)

    Next days I will receive a second clutch paddle.
    I will install also a switch, so you can use clutch or handbrake in future.

    The paddle holder modifikation is still on the ToDo list

    Kind regards
    Peer
    • Like Like x 3
  17. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    due to the third time getting problems with the connection between motor and poti I ordert some new clutches for this connection.
    They look like this:
    clutch.jpg
    An hopefully they will be delivered tomorrow

    Kind regards
    Peer
  18. C1500

    C1500 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    39Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi
    The new clutches are mounted and work perfectly

    Before:
    IMG_20190306_162735.jpg

    Now:
    IMG_20190306_163049.jpg

    Looks great:
    IMG_20190306_163108.jpg

    Greatings
    Peer