1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

3dof, AC motor.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by vulbas, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    291Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    And it also saves a lot of room with very nice thumbnails that can zoom! :)
  2. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    congr. for your good work.
    I ve finally started working with AC motors.
    are not your motors slow? or do you think the feeling will be enough ?
    cause i couldnt decide the rpm of reducted side of motor.
  3. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Thank you.
    The motor speed is sufficient. It may slightly increase the speed with the drive ( variateur ).
  4. lotada

    lotada New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    coffe Roaster
    Location:
    Kralupy nad Vltavou
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    HEllo can you write to me an exactly type of moteur? it is 3phase motor or motor with changeable frequency?thanks lot ..
  5. kermit

    kermit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Hi,
    Very nice build,
    Just a little remark
    It looks like the connection between rod and frame is a bit weak
    the u beam already starts to bend as the bold is pulled tight,
    I wonder if it will sheare off on the weld when real forces are applied
    What are you using as a frame (size of beams),do you know total mass?



    speed of the frame is depending on :
    speed of the motor
    Gear-ratio of the drive
    and distance between motor axle and pin of the rod.
    And distance between pivotpoint and rod connection

    example
    motor speed 1500 rpm
    gear-ratio I=40
    drivespeed will be 37,5 rpm or 0.625rp per second(this speed is free running)
    It also depends on the strengh of the motor and force/speed for needed motion.


    I`m also building a motion platform for a real cessna fuselage(2DOF), total moving mass around 350 kilo or aproxx 775lbs
    For now the upper and lower frame(1200x2200mm)
    is ready , using beams 50x50x4mm and 40x40x5mm.
    calculated for 1,500kgs weight ratio, so very strong.

    Also I have 1 one drive ready for action
    3ph 220 volts 1.1 kw motor on a I=40 ratio wormwheel drive
    I`m saving for an other one and frequentie inverters.
    regards Henk
    could you state make/rpm details of motor and gear-ratio
  6. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Here are the specifications of the engine

    >> a) Motoréducteur coaxial
    >> Moteur CA triphasé 0,55 kw. 1500 tr/mn. 230/400 V. IP 55. Cl F.
    >> ( moteur standard sans frein )
    >> Rapport de réduction : 1/99,21
    >> Vitesse de sortie : 14 tr/mn
    >> Couple de sortie nominal : 347 Nm
    >> Arbre de sortie de diamêtre 25 mm x 50 mm
    >> Référence à rappeler : MV 173 / 71 C 4 / 14 tr/mn
  7. kermit

    kermit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Thanks for the info,
    what are you using for pid control or positioncontrol.
    What problems did you encounter while setting up the electrics?
    So I can understand and adept to the problems
    (please write in english or german)
    I can`t read French sorry
    regards Henk
  8. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    I am on vacation and not home, my simulator is on stand-by. for the posistion I think I'll use it http://www.megatron.fr/composants/posit ... ab40_f.php the programable version but the price is heavy 135€. no problem for the connection but I was helped by Scott and riton
  9. lotada

    lotada New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    coffe Roaster
    Location:
    Kralupy nad Vltavou
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    thanks vulbas.. it means i need only standard 380v motor with 550w and 14tr/mn? and thanos electronic or velleman k8055? i dont know why are you using omron mini j7?this part is for what? we´ve got 380v here in czech. and can i connect thiis all with xsim profiler?what part is changing the direction of motor? my h-bridge?

    Mila Czech
  10. lotada

    lotada New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    coffe Roaster
    Location:
    Kralupy nad Vltavou
    Balance:
    212Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Here is a company in which i founded asynchronous motors. and some gears, frequency changers. is it able to use it for the 3DOF, 2DOF simualor platform?
    http://www.leroy-somer.com/
  11. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    I return finally,
    I'll download all the photos on the forum.

    if you want to see more photos go to imageshack in my signature

    bon aller on continue un peu la peinture
    we continue painting

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    le squelette
    the skeleton

    [​IMG]

    vue de dessus du support enceinte
    top view of the speaker stand

    [​IMG]

    vue de coté
    side view

    [​IMG]

    fixation de la barre de support des enceintes
    the support bar speakers

    [​IMG]

    l'angle donné à cette barre, j'ai mis un coup de meuleuse pour faire un sillon et plié
    the corner given to this bar, I put a shot grinder to make a groove and bent

    [​IMG]


    les enceintes avant en place
    the front speakers in place

    [​IMG]

    il me reste à placer les deux ventilo de 120 ou 140mm, j'hesite un peu sur l'emplacement... des idées ?
    I still have to put both fan 120 or 140mm, I hesitate a bit on the site ... any ideas?
  12. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  13. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    hello,

    my project is in standby because the baby arrived, but i received my poti of megatron.

    [​IMG]
  14. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
  15. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    ça avance petit à petit,
    je suis aller chercher de quoi fixer mes potar et poulies

    that advance gradually
    I'm going to find something to fix my pots and pulleys

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    j'ai reperçer les poulies de 25 dents pour que l'axe central soit au bon diametre (6mm)

    j'ai acheté de bonne lame de scie à metaux pour decouper le simu :bad3:

    suite au prochain episode 8)

    I redrilling pulleys 25 teeth to the central axis is the proper diameter (6mm)

    I bought a good hacksaw blade to cut through the simulation: bad3:

    after the next episode 8)
  16. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    de mon coté je me suis motivé et j'ai attaqué ma boite à carte et variateurs.

    on my side I'm motivated and I pushed my card box and drives.


    in place

    [​IMG]


    avec la carte

    with the card

    [​IMG]



    j'ai mis des spacer pour surelever la carte

    I put the spacer to raise the card

    [​IMG]
  17. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    hello,
    I made it simple to start. same effects on all axes. it's good.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92q6wj6Ax0c

    someone he can create this for a 3DOF?

    [​IMG]
  18. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    j'ai fixé les potar et tout fonctionne de ce coté. la réduction est la bonne, 44 dents 25 dents (merci riri)

    I fixed the pot and everything works on this side. the reduction is good, 44 teeth 25 teeth (thank you riri)

    [​IMG]

    sur celle ci on vois que ça passe à 2 ou 3mm

    on this one we see that it goes to 2 or 3mm

    [​IMG]
  19. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    330Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Hi,

    we appreciate your pictures.
    However, server space is limited, so please consider if it is really neccessary to post 4 highres pictures of a potentiometer, or 8 high res images of your freq.inverter mounting plate in just slightly differnent angles. Thanks

    Regards
  20. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    sorry. I do the housework ;)