1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

3dof, AC motor.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by vulbas, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. robervalllll

    robervalllll New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    My question is this got a 1.5 in the AMC board Thanos and read right here
    forum in which I can adapt it with a frequency inverter and use a
    three-phase motor, mai s saw that I had to make a small additional circuits
    to turn the PWM signal into an analog signal, is that right? Can anyone
    give me some hints on which drive to use? any frequency inverter
    serves or has some specific?

    I'm sorry for bad English is that I'm using Google translator, rsrrs
  2. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    la petite avancé du jour

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    la suite samedi ;)
  3. wimpo`

    wimpo` Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Occupation:
    metselaar
    Location:
    nederland, twente, vroomshoop
    Balance:
    549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Do you think the lcd tv will hold when mounted like that, because my lcd tv has the same mounting hole's.
    And using these mounting hole's is the easier way to go :yes:
  4. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    291Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    I would definitely add more cross bars to make it more rigid. As it is right now the LCD mount will flex too much, then snap once it has had enough.
  5. robervalllll

    robervalllll New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    My question is regarding the weight of the TV 42 which is about 39 lb
    (18 kilos), to stop the displacement and the move would affect to some extent the
    platform , which you will use gear motor to move the whole thing? how many HP?
  6. wimpo`

    wimpo` Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Occupation:
    metselaar
    Location:
    nederland, twente, vroomshoop
    Balance:
    549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    well I guess the calculations needed for that are not so easy.
    you would have to take in the lever
    this would be the easy part but for example, when the simulator moves forward so does the weight.
    this is called inertia.
    the downside is that when it has moved forward, and it has to move backward in a short period of time then the motors will have to push approximately double the weight?

    so in short it depends, you would have to know where the motors are positioned and how the weight will move.

    this is what I know about it, if I where you i would go overkill.
  7. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    mounting holes are not enough, I'll make reinforcements for the tv moves the least possible
    tv weighs is 15kg
    I use three geared motors. 550w and 14rpm and 347Nm
  8. wimpo`

    wimpo` Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Occupation:
    metselaar
    Location:
    nederland, twente, vroomshoop
    Balance:
    549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    so 347nm will push 347 / 9.8 = 35,38 kilograms * 2.20 = 78pounds in this calculation the lever arm is one meter.
    The arm is placed directly on the motor.
    Then you would have to think about how long the arm will be (this affects you maximum travel angel).
    say 20 cm goes 5 times in a meter so 35kg * 5 175kg of power.
    but you probably want some more movement so you will place the motor closer to the pivot point of your simulator.
    this will mean that the lever arm, that is from the pivot point to the outer dimensions of your simulator will be shortened so the weight would be more.
    but as your platform will be balanced you will have the weight of your tv, frame, peripherals and yourself.
    15kg + 30kg + 20kg + 100kg = 165kg give and take.
    divided by 2 = 82.5kg (inertia not included)
    you have the advantage that when any simulated axis is used there are always 2 or more motors push/pulling the weight.
    worst case scenario, when you brake hard and all the weight moves forward, for a limited time the weight will be on one motor.
    but it should not be a problem, as the weight will move back.

    So i think your okay given my calculations. :5+5:
  9. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    thank you for the calculation. I am reassured. here is a map of the platform with the placement of the engines and the center of gravity. also a map of my cam

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I may be passing to 8cm for the cam
  10. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    aujourd'hui je me suis attelé à la realisation des support de la tv,

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    la suite au prochain episode
  11. wimpo`

    wimpo` Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Occupation:
    metselaar
    Location:
    nederland, twente, vroomshoop
    Balance:
    549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    this looks a lot better.
    make sure that is will not move inside the frame, because any kind of movement to the bolts of your television will cause it to brake off as time passes.
    same forces lever and inertia apply so don't underestimate this force.
  12. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    allez on avance encore

    percage et entretoisage (hein, ca existe pas ce mot ? :lo:l )

    [​IMG]

    mise en place

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    le support, il faut que je fasse une petite extension sur l'exterieur du cadre pour placer le 3eme moteur

    [​IMG]

    on renforce pour pas que ca plie

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    voilà. j'avais soudé le tube de 80x80, mais je me suis rendu compte à la fin que je l'avais souder sur la mauvaise plaque :bad: j'etais un peu agacé :[ y'a falut que je recoupe et que je netoie la plaque qui devais etre utilisé pour autre chose..... la suite au prochain episode
  13. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    suite.......

    bon on presente le tube pour voir

    [​IMG]

    la coulisse coupée et fixer sous la partie mobile

    [​IMG]

    la partie fixe est coupé à la bonne longueur, en fait un peu plus long pour les test, ce sera reduit de 5cm. un moteur est en place et on voit les support qui vont sous le moteur pour permettre à la came de passer

    [​IMG]

    un 2eme moteur est placé

    [​IMG]

    soudage de la petite extention pour le 3eme moteur

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    presentation avant perçage

    [​IMG]

    sur cette photo on voit que c'est un peu haut, je vais reduire les tubes de quelques centimetres.on va y arriver ;)

    [​IMG]

    on va y arriver ;)
  14. robervalllll

    robervalllll New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Vulbas am following its construction from the beginning, the very good
    photos, excellent construction of the project, excellent reliability solder, you're
    Congratulations, it will be a great 3DOF, can not wait to see working, if
    can put the project details, engine power, controller card
    etc.. I hope very soon be building mine too, I'm quoting the
    price of inverters and motors.
  15. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    helloo robervallll and thank's

    my simulator is the same of riton http://www.racingfr.com/forum/index.php ... try1014784 i use ac motor : 550W, 14rpm, and 347Nm. the price of motor : 300€ the omron mini j7 : 130€ for control the omron i use the VM140 110€
  16. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    j'avais fais trois cames avec le trou de biellette à 10cm de l'axe moteur, je vous laisse imaginer le resultat :LOL:
    j'ai repercé à 5,5. il faut encore que je vois pour le ressort et trouver un truc pour reduire le jeux au max au niveau du pied, enfiler une chambre à air de rous de bouette, bien graissé ca devrait le faire.

    là les cames etait à 10, ca fait que le simu penchait de 20cm, à peu pres 30° c'etait enorme. je n'ai pas fait de photo avec les came relevé mais ca montait de 20cm.

    [​IMG]

    là c'est à 5,5cm, beaucoup plus raisonable

    [​IMG]
  17. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    a new video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n03apyG44iU

    i posted a new video with suspension
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mq_LJz6Iic
  18. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    291Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Great job so far!
  19. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    thank you Frakk

    pour l'instant c'est des essais à blanc. à mon retour de vacances j'ajuste tout parfaitement et fixe tout parfaitement, avant de tout redemonter pour poncer et peindre (comme les teuteul pour les connaisseur ;) )

    pour fixer les reglettes j'ai fai comme tu as dit et ca a été impec. j'ai encore fais au plus simple et est simplement fais un trou un peu inferieur au diametre d'une vis à bois, ensuite j'ai vissé direct. j'ai fais comme ca pour la planche du bas et aucun probleme.

    je vous mets deux trois photo :

    ici c'est les reglettes en alu, une barre de 2 metres débitée...

    [​IMG]

    j'avais fais le support volant pour me changer les idées ;)

    [​IMG]

    ici j'ai ralongé le tube qui coulisse de 4.5cm

    [​IMG]

    les reglettes en place

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  20. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,634
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,633Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,383 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Re: 3dof, AC motor. axes combined ?

    Great work, nice to see that things are moving. :) Please be aware, that sometimes free image hosters delete pictures or change the url´s of them. If that happens no more picture of your project are any longer available and viewable at x-simulator. Therefore I suggest to upload any project relevant picture with the attachment function of the forum.

    Br
    René