1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 3070W 6DOF Seat Mover (WIP Surge_Sway table)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pit, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I can adjust only the profile for all the 3 projectors generally but not separately. If I connect the Qumi to an other PC like a notbook the issue persists. Thank you for helping.

    @All: I made a short clip testing Assetto Corsa Plugin by @value1 :) I do not know if all is right at the moment. Accelerating or breaking appears to me a little bit week, but the curbs are really heavy...:grin

    • Like Like x 2
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    looks great man! Just spend time fiddling with each profile, then mix them all together and you should be right.
    Winches are quieter than I though.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Winches are quiet because I opened them for greasing. Finally they are mounted onto a stone. The stone absorbs the noises very well. The winches stay cold all the time. So at the moment I think to buy them was a good choice.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,436Coins
    Ratings:
    +380 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Mounted onto a stone, that's a good one, never thought of that.
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    stoned winches...........
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok adjusting your profile, can you provide the numbers you are using.
    Accel and Braking is using the surge so lower the values in the Tunning Centre to obtain stronger effects.
    I actually use less for braking as I don't want to be thrusted against the steering wheel every time I touch the brakes, but if change gear or stomp on the pedal I want to be thrown back in the chair. But this is all personal, we are all different.
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I am totally agree with you breaking should be less instead of acceleration. I will try out some tuning settings.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    nah, just smash yourself into the floor on breaking..........:cool:
  9. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Yea fine tuning of the base profile is the key to setting up, makes it so much easier later when you can just tickle the values with the Game Manager - Profile Editor in seconds and be back racing with a new profile that can be saved for later and are unlimited.

    I tune a little differently to most , I set all my DOForces to 20% max, that's is 20% of the Actuator travel, which means the sim will reach its extents and all DOForces will still be present in the motion cue. Then I set one to 20 and the rest to zero, go into game and test the motion feel for timing with screen movements etc, and then set the next to 20 and the rest including the one I done to 0 and work my way through the 5. Once happy with all I turn them all back on and test the final base profiles and still might tickle it here and there, but once happy, I never touch the Game Engine for that game again, and solely use the Game Manager to manage the profiles and change them for different cars and situations in the game, It makes racing with motion a pleasure compared to what we have gone through in the past.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Update: after playing around using different values of the Ki term (while reducing the Kp term) I could raise up the speed of the winches. They are working now rather stable on the road, only if I enter the gravel tab sometimes the winches stops but only just a few seconds in the most cases.

    At the moment I am happy but dissatisfied :p. I am looking for more options so I found at popolu.com an interesting motor driver which can deliver more current as the moto monster or the jrks: Pololu High-Power Motor Driver 18v25.

    This driver enables bidirectional control and can deliver a continuous 25 A without a heat sink, with a heat sink up to about 35 A of continuous current. Furthermore the driver can tolerate peak currents in excess of 200 A. The winches need a high peak current when turning on so that would be really a great help to avoid the stops...

    Your questions and ideas and experiences and thoughts and comments are welcome :popcorn

    PS the 18v25 costs about the half as the jrks12...
    PPS: Why it is recommended to connect large capacitors across the power supply? Any ideas?
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    18v25 might cost less than JRK, but JRK is 12 bit resolution, and arduino is 8 bit. If you want performance, speak to @eaorobbie about his old winch motor JRK setup he had.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  12. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    After a really heavy testing day going to the limit one axle of one winches has been broken *lol*. That is reality as I like :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  13. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Update: I must reduce the very fast turns to simulate the vibrations. Those vibrations are responsible for the stops and the very heavy load onto the axles. So I decided to buy a Buttkicker Gamer 2 adding to my rig.
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Today (EDIT: this week) I will update the thread. Until then you will have a long close look at the photo... :)
    tmp_20140503_161857-1329147477.jpg
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  17. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,756 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Good to hear that all is well again!
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Update: after months of fruitless waiting for repair (the VIVITEK projectors have already been returned 2 times) they will be returned a third time to their factory service centre in Germany. The issue "green tint" still exists. VIVITEC says the 3 units are very close in white level uniformity native wise, so the color (green) tint must be coming from either source, cabling or internal calibration (which is part of the projector mainboard programming).

    They will do a calibration on mainboard level with HDMI source attached to see if they can bring the units closer in white levels. If this is not able to, they will have them measure out the values of the white level to compare to factory specifications to see if they are met or not. This means, if they are within the specification I will have to accept the issue...

    More about potentiometers: the cheaper potentiometers are beginning to be noisy after a while so I decided to spent some more money and bought P270-DS22 B-10 KR from TT Electronics for testing with (conductive plastic):

    http://www.conrad.com/ce/en/product/453335/TT-Electronics-AB-4114813545-Rotary-Potentiometer

    Angle of rotation (mechanical) 312 °
    Axle diameter 6.35 mm
    Resistor 10 kΩ
    Shaft length 22.3 mm
    Content 1 pc(s)
    Case dimensions 27 mm
    Type 4114813545
    Electrical angle of rotation 300 °
    Resistance 10 kΩ
  19. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Update: today I got the other Monster Moto from AliExpress (Sparkfun samples! ). I wired all and all seems to be right in place. First testing connected to the PSU was successful. Tomorrow I will power on the winches and I hope the seat will beat the daylights out of me. :)
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Winches connected and successfully tested!!!!:D :cheers

    After starting AC the first time using the old values of the tuning center the server PSU (69A) was shutting down at the very first start (surge), WOW :) In addition to it I controlled the 6 voltages rails of each plug if they are all connected. I optimized them for the better fitting and started again (before I will attach a second PSU...). Each winches has 750W if I would use them to the full they need min. 62.5 A. The Monster Motos are now working in "Single Parallel Mode" and can resist the high demand of current. Furthermore the heat development is negligible, too. Finally if we are talking about the cost (Power <=> $), the two Monster Motos Sparkfun samples cost each 17$ (Aliexpress), the Arduino is equally expensive. The final costs are about $50 of the electrical parts without PSU. This is insane! :thumbs
    • Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: May 29, 2014