1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom 3070W 6DOF Seat Mover (WIP Surge_Sway table)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pit, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Small Updates: gas spring installed to avoid high current peaks and overheating of the motor (500N).
    YDXJ3212.jpg
    INstalled two pivot heads instead the old and heavy universal joint (10mm):
    YDXJ3213.jpg
    Other things to do: replacing the IBM PUs under the seat with a HP ATSN-7000956-Y000) server PSU due to it's interference and much more things to do (fine tuning and optimization):
    YDXJ3210.jpg
    Testing SimTools 2 Beta 1, already very promising. At the moment we are testing the washout filter, because this option has been not really functional and I can promise already, this new filter is now working as it should. There are some details which are not yet perfect but @yobuddy is keep working hard. Now SimTools 2 supports two Axis Assignments:
    simtools1.png
    Game manager now with vibe support and a off/on button, from now you have not tho shut down the game manager anymore when you change any values in the game manager while the game is still running. Many more things, if time is ready yobuddy will present all the new details which will happen the next weeks.
    simtools_gamemanager1.png

    PS: the spaghetti syndrome is one of my things on the to-do-list, but I wait until all is done because every time when I have to change something (and there is still a lot to change) I must open the wiring at each time...

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 7
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    l'idée du verin me trotte dans la tête de plus en plus pour soulager mes moteurs,
    chez moi aussi le bébé grandit et forcément il a pris de l'embonpoint !
    les moteurs risquent de souffrir, il est fort probable que le remplacement des moteurs ce soit le prochain investissement

    the idea of the bailer running through my head more and more to relieve my engines
    home as the baby grows and inevitably he put on weight!
    engines may suffer, it is likely that the replacement of engines to be the next investment
  3. ymh

    ymh Goal 4 dof

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Before and after the two axes around mobile, produces the feeling that the centrifugal force, two axis to realize slope, rough. Is that so? There are two do you use?
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    You mean the surge and sway tables? Each of these axis are independently moving and indeed they simulate longitudinal and lateral forces.
  5. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,941Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Good to see its still alive and ya enjoying v2 yet.
    Quick question , why do you persist to use more than 100% of axis.
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The "problem" here is the high value in the tuning center which is needed because of the surge table. As a consequence of this I have to use a very high percentage of the surge axis of the seat to get some noticeable moving. I suggested yobuddy to implement two independent tuning centers for Axis Assignment a and b but probably this is not really recommended. Heave is powered by two systems, same issue here, I have to play with one tuning center value so I have to adjust the axis percentage to get the best of both.
  7. ymh

    ymh Goal 4 dof

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Carefully read your image details, finally see ~ is a very good design.:thumbs
  8. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,941Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok working filters should be able to fix this issue now , sorry to sound rude man , just couldn't work out why , I have helped many members on surge tables specially and few on traction loss tables, yes agree there is a fine balance to be found in values without using filters.
    I too don't feel extra tuning centre values are needed either , with tuning it's achievable, with working filters its so much more adjustable. My first thoughts was more values but from nearly 2 years of use, tuning is the key.

    Btw Wow! its a beast now man , Well done mate.
    • Like Like x 3
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Pit: could you please tell us how to source the bicycle part you're using as a lever? keyword or URL link? as cannot find it
    I like it and I'd like to do the same for a 20mm diameter shaft :)
  10. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    BTW I will kick out the winch under the seat by replacing it with one of the 24V motors which have been left. This winch was a very cheap one (50$) and the gears are so badly done that I cannot believe that it will pull a car or boat...
  12. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    New video testing SimTools2:


    PS: I was trying a washout filter on Extra1, so please overlook this.
    • Like Like x 8
    • Winner Winner x 7
  14. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,306Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,229 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Just stunning!
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Federico 80

    Federico 80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    394Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Very nice Sim! Congratulations!
  16. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Not sure I can imagine the feeling of going forward and sideways. Forward/backwards for surge I get, the lateral movement I dont. Can you provide any idea?
  17. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    If you could upload a video showing game/car behavior and your rig in action probably it would be easier to determine what your have in mind.

    PS_ on my rails I feel well the lateral forces, furthermore I use the seat mover too to incrase the effect. So I have two axis working on this.
  18. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Maybe what I meant wasnt clear. I have thought about adding the surge motion where the whole rig moves forward. As for your lateral movement side to side, do you feel thats worth the space and the investment? Havent seen anyone take that approach before.
  19. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,873Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,043 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    agree, my idea which is not new comes from the toyota simulator. There are some F1 simulator as well using rails to simulate some g-forces. My handicap is the limited space, I should use 3 meters or more to simulate the forces, but I have only 1m at least. The lateral forces are better to reproduce than the longitudinal forces, because the acceleration is way longer than the curve radius.
    • Informative Informative x 3
  20. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Cool, thanks for that. Been looking to either add surge and traction loss or a complete new build of 6dof. If you had to choose which would you go with knowing how your current setup feels?