1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 3070W 6DOF Seat Mover (WIP Surge_Sway table)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pit, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,757 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, that looks correct. :)

    Oder ich habe gesagt; ja, das ist richtig. :)
    Entschuldigung, miene Deutsch is nicht gut.
  2. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,757 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    darn...there should have been a "sollte" in there someplace, lol. It has been a long time since I used what little I learned about your language. Sorry. :D
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    OK, if I turn the potis what should happens in xSimCTRL?

    PS: Probably your German is better than my English... :)
  4. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,136
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    7,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,105 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Oder soll ich sagen; ja, das ist richtig. :)
    Your German is great! :)
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    As I understood the poti will change the analog value. The value controls the rate at which an LED blinks. Unfortunately the rate does not change. So my assumption could be that the Arduino clone "Zduino" (Ch*** b***s***) is destroyed or what else.
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,693Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    @Pit the pot is lineer and have you tested the pot with a multimeter too , could be pot the Chinese clones are not too bad to use, lol I use Freetronics clones for my dashboards.
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Yesss :)

    For now I ordered some standard pots for testing with (POTI2W: 270°, 20%, 2W) cheap and working, for the final sim I ordered PD5WK010 (300°, 10%, 4W) but not available yet. The original Uno R3 will replace the Zduino. In the meantime I will continue building the sim. :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Update: after reading and reading and reading - I will integrate a traction loss in the rear part of the rig. I should make it possible without changing to much due to my "open system".
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,693Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Pots you have listed above should be ok as test units, but beware the wipers can wear out inside them quickly if the shaft has any strain on them, but will serve well to get you started, for sure.
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    UPDATE!!! The Zduino is WORKING :) The Arduino potentiometer test (see some postings above) passed successfully by using the PD5WK010 pots. The Arduino board wich I ordered can now be used for the "traction loss" later.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I am making progress...day off today so working at home :)
    20140311_182234.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I experienced a setback today mounting the winches on the platform. This platform is made by metal and has a "socle" by wood (see picture above). This combination works like a loudspeaker with an amplifier. :eek:

    I had to disassemble the platform. I think I will use MDF. Furthermore I could imagine to put up the winches on a stone or something else...I must think about it :confused:
  13. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,757 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Notice that mine are mounted on solid blocks of wood (hickory) rather than a hollow box :D It is less likely to amplify the sound.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,947
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,860 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Pit!
    Well done! I would just give you an advice: it's better if the rod can freely make a turn. In your case, if pot broke, the rod will smash on the steel structure...
    yours
    Mat
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,757 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very good point Mat, I also learned that the hard way....and still have levers that do not fully rotate due to the nature of my winches :(

    The new winches for my 6DoF can rotate 360 degrees though.
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks @RacingMat. This issue has to be adjusted.

    Perhaps I will mount the winches into a solid and isolated box. This box can be opened and has an ventilation system. So far, so good but not easy to build and much work at all. But the noise is intolerable.
  17. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    thats winches for you , noisy bastards they are
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    By using some low cost noise-dampening mats from BeQuiet I should win the race against the noise...isn't it? ;)

    As I'd mentioned just before the winches have to work in a closed box. Stay tuned...
    bequiet.jpg 26102.jpg
  19. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,998
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,004 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    ok now using Arduino UNO/Duemilanove 2dof firmware it is all OK, the motors speed up if i turn the pots. In the middle position of the pots the motor are stopping. If I would connect the pots to the motors I will kill them.
    • Creative Creative x 1
  20. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,757 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Pit, can you post more information about the winch motors that you are using? They do not look like anything that I have seen so far, I am interested.

    Thanks

    David