1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 3070W 6DOF Seat Mover (WIP Surge_Sway table)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pit, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    EDIT 65 /EDIT swiss bucks apiece. Not too expensive but the whole table will cost between 800 $ and 1000$ at least. The rails and pulleys are very expensive, I wanted to get a really solid solution because the forces are too heavy for doing things by halves.
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
  2. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,047
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,659Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,944 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Pit : it looks good this shopping list! :popcorn
    how will you mate the pulleys and motor's shaft?
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Mat, the concept is yet in my brain only, but I have my ideas how to implement all parts together.

    Imaging two independent tables, each have 4 pulleys rolling on rails like on the photo below:
    laufrolle_versenkt_rahmen-schiebetor_holz_m.jpg

    The 20t gear
    Z201.jpg
    will be welded onto the drive shaft of the motor. The gear is rolling on the rack respectively driving the rack
    Winkeloben1600x1600.jpg
    which is 1m long. That means, my concept allows to have 50cm for sway (left and right movement), and probably 60cm for surge acceleration and 40% braking (if this is practical), due to the washout function the table should move backwards to the start position after an acceleration (f.eg. while shifting the gear)

    The details follow later because I have to size the room and then I have to sketch the detailed concept.
    The biggest problem is now to bring the displays and the projectors on the surge table and most important for me the projectors have not not to wobble at all. This results in a big effort and a very massy platform. Due to the weight constrains I have to use the slide door pulleys and rails which can resist of that without to be too noisy.
  4. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,047
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,659Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,944 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My point was about the mating of these two pieces:

    shaft and pulley Pit.png

    About your tables, the trick is to insure that both tables keep parallel! I'm sure you will figure out a good solution
    How many motors will you use 1 or 4?
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    4, 2 motors for one DOF.
  6. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,047
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,659Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,944 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You have 4 pulleys for your surge table : so how many motors will you use to move the 4 pulleys?
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Probably it is not clear what I mean, the 4 pulleys are sticked to the surge table. The table will be driven by the motors using the gears and gear rack which is sticked to the table, of course. Do you understand what I try to explain?
  8. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Good Idea ... just put the motors in the fixed base-table 1 and the rack on the upper moving table 2 with rubber rollers .

    But, How about the torque calculation ? ...
    Pushing the moving table back and forth will need a very powerful mechanism ...
    A small gear attached to the motor output shaft will provide you with the enough force but with a slow linear speed .
    What are the motors rated output torque ?
    What are the 20t gears diameter ?
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @speedy thank you for sharing your thoughts. When I was building the traction loss I thought I need a very strong motor to move the rig to each side. I was wrong. The 300W motor is way too strong, I had to reduce the needed power within SMC3 not to damage the rig. A rolling rig needs much less power than you have to lift it. About this experience I decided to build one table for surge by using two motors each 130W, at least 260W, in minimum 80 cycles per minute and the diameter of the 20t is so I remember EDIT 8.8cm (27cm circumference). Ergo I get a sped of 36cm per second (80 cpm * 27 / 60).
    My rail is only 100cm long - forwards and backwards! That means, for surge forward I can use only 50cm.

    PS: the existing surge effect form the 2DOF seat mover has not to be forgotten! While the table moves forward, the seat does it as well.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
  10. townnet

    townnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Singapore
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    That is gorgeous, nice works man!;)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    one gear rack and one 20t gear 2KG together :eek: :D
    20150810_205451.jpg
    20150810_205515.jpg

    The place where they are is only for viewing purposes.
    • Like Like x 7
  12. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Wow ... That is huge gear :) .
    In order to save weight ... How you're going to split your sim into the new layers/trays ?
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    If the small gear is big enough . So I guess he might use the grinder to shape the small gear to fit inside the big one with the male key-way .
    Then making a center hole to it and thread it to accept a fastening screw .
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Dunno know yet...but there are many ideas :)

    I have built already a template how I will connect them together, I will upload a photo later
    • Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  15. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @speedy I did a great mistake in my posting above, I mixed up diameter with circumference...the speed is NOT 12cm per second

    80 cycles per minute, the diameter of the 20t is 8.8cm (27cm circumference). Ergo I get a sped of 36cm per second (80 cpm * 27 / 60).
    All the time I was sure there is something wrong, but I could not fiddle it out. I knew 12cm is way too low for what I calculated weeks ago, now I know why. 36cm is a big jump, hopefully the motors will do the work
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  16. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Very Good @Pit Very Good ...
    Congrats. you have broken the required speed barrier :grin .

    I just need to know the output axial torque of that 300W motor ? If available please .
  17. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Not 300W, max. 160W each motor, my configuration allows 2 x 130W (each 24V =7A ≙ 12V= 14A = summa summarum 14A / 24V)
    motordata.jpg

    PS to radial load
    motordata2.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    BTW @speedy what can we expect from you the next months? After your fire disaster I hope you will build something else? :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  19. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Stop Reading my mind :p ... I like flying below radar :grin.

    Wooden Planetary Gear with Belts ...
    large.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,032 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    the beginning, all parts are now available.
    20150818_224813.jpg
    20150818_224826.jpg
    The back of the rig for now on a vertical position:
    20150817_220455.jpg
    • Like Like x 4