1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 3070W 6DOF Seat Mover (WIP Surge_Sway table)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Pit, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi all :)
    The idea to rebuild a CXC Simulator was at the end of 2013. After XX months including studying the matter, collecting information and hardware and at least the hardest part (the building) the rig has been finished!
    The rig is a 2DOF seat mover plus additional DOF's:
    • a DOF for heave
    • a DOF for the traction loss
    • a DOF for surge (tabl11)
    • a DOF for sway




    ----------------------------------------------------
    The rig:
    1.jpg
    The mechanical motion design (w/o traction loss)
    Neues Dokument 5_1.jpg
    Videos:
    Nordschleife 02/15/2016


    Winches Sound Check:

    The hardware (not updated since months, many changes here):
    3 x winches (each max. 750W or 120A peak, continuous current 40A ) = 230$ (ebay)
    745857450_2_Big.jpg
    1x 12V DC Geared Motor 300W, Motor with 60:1 ratio Gearbox for Traction Loss = £65,00 (ebay)
    $_57.JPG
    3X Arduino UNO 3 = 28$ (Aliexpress)
    index.jpg
    7x Sparkfun Moto Monster = 91$ (Aliexpress)
    sparkfun.jpg
    3x P270-DS22 B-10 KR Lin 10 kΩ 2 W ± 10 % = 60$
    453308_BB_00_FB.EPS_1000.jpg
    2x IBM Blade Center DPS-2000BB A 2000W 39Y7359 39Y7360 = 2 x 40$ (ebay)
    20150331_172858.jpg
    2x HP DL 360 G5 (HP ATSN-7000956-Y000) server PSU - 700W = 20$ (ebay)
    HP ATSN-7000956-Y000.jpg
    3 x Qumi Q7 for the visuals (there are cheaper models...) = expensive
    qumiq7.jpg
    ----------------------------------------------------
    - 3 x screens, MDF plates with a special zero gain screen = DIY
    - Thrustmaster T500RS
    - PC: I7 2.6@3.8GHz, GTX 670 SLI, 6GB PC2000 RAM, Win7, 3 Soundcards = expensive...
    - 1 x Butt Kicker (seat) = 140$
    buttkicker.jpg
    - 4 x Bass Shakers, Amplifier 400W = 150$
    - Extra 1000W PSU for amplifier (1000W not needed, was already available)
    Some more extras:
    Button Box P1 from Derek Speare $99.-
    Racing seat Sparco Circuit VTR (second hand) $200.-
    OMP racing wheel Corsica 350mm diameter (suede) $120.-
    Chinese 7" tablet as a 2nd dashboard using DashmeterPro $60.-
    SLIMax Manager from Eksimracing using my Samsung Note 2 $10.-
    Sequential HQ Shifter by FrexGP $160.-
    F1 Wheel AddOn for the T500RS $140.-
    TM1638 module $5.-

    ----------------------------------------------------
    Power consummation on 220V line:
    • No driving, all gadgets on: power ~950W, power factor 0.88 - 0.97, current 4.2A
    • Driving a GT3 car on Nordschleife (Assetto Corsa): power ~1200 W (~1450 W peak.), power factor 0.88 - 0.95, current ~5.00 -6.00 A (9.4 A peak).
    These results are measured without the separate heave motor under the seat. Due to the very high load of this motor (it is working rather near at the maximum) I expect up to 2000W and probably more.
    ----------------------------------------------------
    20150512_111408.jpg 20150512_111443.jpg 20150512_111450.jpg 20150512_111509.jpg 20150512_111553.jpg 20150512_111710.jpg 20150512_111721.jpg 20150512_111732.jpg 20150512_111747.jpg 20150512_111800.jpg 20150512_111814.jpg
    -------
    26561 26562 26563 26564 26565 26566 26567 26568 26569 26570 26571 26572 26573 26574 26575 26576 26577 26578 26579 26580 26581 26582 26583 26584 26585 26586 26587 26588 26589
    26630 26631 26632 26633 26634 26635 26636 26637 26638 26639 26640 26641 26642 26643 26644 26645 26646 26647

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 20
    • Winner Winner x 7
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
  2. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    4,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,879 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Welcome Pit here in this forum – good choice ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  3. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,441Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,624 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Nice Static sim , good luck with the Ard.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thx a lot @Historiker in an other thread for helping wiring issues.

    I use now the Arduino UNO/Duemilanove 2dof firmware by Prilad.

    Needed
    wiring:

    Arduino------------Motomonster

    Motor 1
    pin 8 --------------D7 Dir1
    " 12--------------D8 Dri2
    " 9---------------D5 Pwm

    Motor 2
    Pin 11---------------D4 Dir1
    " 13--------------D9 Dir2
    " 10--------------D6 Pwm

    GND and +5V has to be connected as well.

    First impressions using xSimCTRL:



    interface settings.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
    • Old Old x 1
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    after 6 hours experiments "try and error" I give up (at the moment). I will wait for the right potis.
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
  6. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,743
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    8,961Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,583 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Pit,

    Did you correct the wiring on the pots? You will not get the proper value into the Arduino until you do. The way you had it set up, it appears to the Arduino as if the pot is fully turned in one direction regardless of the actual position. It is not seeing the sweeper voltage. There is no difference between the 10k 10turn pots and the ones that you have on order other than the number of turns. Both, if wired incorrectly, will give false readings.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Historiker

    Finally I tried out all wiring combinations of the potis but w/o success. Probably this Arduino clone does not work correctly.
  8. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    8,842Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi, @Pit
    You can check analog inputs by connecting it to GND and then to 5.0V (or to 3.3V) with any resistor (1 .. 100 kOhm). And check input values by xSimCtrl...

    And one more thing - try to change SenLo = 10 and SensHi = 245 (and write new values to EEPROM). And check inputs again.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Prilad thanks for helping checking using a multimeter would be an option?
  10. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    8,842Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I think you should check by software - with xSimCtrl. You should see "input" value on blue slider...
    xSimCtrl slide.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,335 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Three projectors - impressive, look forward in seeing the rig moving.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,335 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Recommend you put up a simple wiring diagram of how you have wired your pots. Also some pot wipers are not always the centre pin (check with meter). Lots of knowledgeable people on this site who should be able to help.
  13. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    my test was not quite in accordance with your inputs, so once again...

    I connected the GND to PIN A0, the resistor (47 k) in +V5 and connected that with A0. The slider shows nothing. The "L" LED is off.
    slider.jpg
  14. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,743
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    8,961Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,583 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Pit,

    Here are a couple of pictures via the Bourn spec sheet. Notice that the wiper pin, the one that the Arduino reads as an analog input, is Pin 2 according to the wiring diagram. Also note that Pin 2 is the rearmost physical pin on the pot itself according to the layout diagram also from the spec sheet. Like Seattime mentions, it is often confusing as the older and more common style of potentiometer always has the wiper in the middle.

    It doesn't matter which pin (1 or 3) positive or ground goes to, it will just change the direction that the pot is turned to increase or decrease the signal. You can use this to change the direction of the motor if the pot does not match the motor or do like I do and change the wiring on the motor instead. CCW means "Counter Clock Wise" and CW means "Clock Wise".

    Wiper (pin 2) must be the pin that goes to the Arduino analog read pin.

    I hope this helps.

    10k 10 turn pinout key.png 10k 10 turn pinout.png
  15. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Historiker

    Thank you, in the meantime I studied the PINs as well and your thoughts are confirming my suspicion. So IMHO the very first wiring was the right one.

    For now I will wait Prilad's response if the Arduino clone is possibly damaged or not.
  16. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,743
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    8,961Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,583 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Pit,

    Which was the first configuration? I am making my suggestions based on the way you had it wired in the pictures you posted in Prilad's thread.

    Here are the pictures that you posted, the red wires that you have plugged into the Arduino +5v pin are going to the wipers which is incorrect. Your yellow wire should go to the wiper on one pot and your orange wire should go to the wiper on the other pot. The blue (ground wires) are fine but the +5v wires should go to the center pin on the pots.


    I do not mean to confuse anything for you, I really am trying to help.
    I am using these pots, Arduino and driver shield myself.


    Edit: By the way, a good way to test your arduino is to run the Blink with potentiometer sketch that is included with the Arduino IDE program.

    20140307_120814.jpg 20140307_120740.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. prilad

    prilad Well-Known Member SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Dubna, Russia
    Balance:
    8,842Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I don't know. Can you check analog input with any other "firmware"? I mean any Sketch for arduino for Analog reading test?
  18. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,743
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    8,961Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,583 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  19. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    "Your yellow wire should go to the wiper on one pot"

    Oh my god, that's it. I was wrong. Totally confused by the wirings :)
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,921 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    is this now right?
    20140308_144053.jpg