1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

3 DOF with AC motor project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by pathetic, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    I am working on a new AMC Controller. Based on Tronicgr's AMC card. I only moved the unused pins. Now the board is only 10cm*10cm, Ready for 3 motor setup. Except the firmware...

    Attached Files:

  2. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    292Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
  3. wannabeaflyer

    wannabeaflyer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    UK - London area
    Balance:
    947Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    HI Pathetic may i ask what software you used for your pcb design and presentation ? regarding the above PCB layout picture :) Cheers
  4. kubing

    kubing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Occupation:
    teacher, Industrial electronic programmer
    Location:
    kelantan Malaysia
    Balance:
    264Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    good job bro. protel pcb?
  5. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    The designer is labcenter proteus ISIS / ARES :)
    I build this it is working i am now adding new components.
  6. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    Coming soon ;)

    [​IMG]
  7. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,461Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    whaou, very good job :)
  8. teuh

    teuh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Fire-alarm and Security-alarm Journeyman
    Location:
    Atascadero, CA
    Balance:
    343Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    what version of firmware are you going to use in the AMC for pilote 3DOF ?
  9. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    Black Edition ;)
    Can not wait to add new video , but need a bit time to make it work

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
  10. Langan

    Langan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    Super slick! What kind of motors are those? Where can I find some? :)

    Edit with additional questions:

    Two mechanical engineers and I (software engineer) are inspired by your project. We love the idea of using heavy duty motors such as your own. We're still in the design/research phase of this project. I'm taking electronics classes this semester, so hopefully by summer I'll have enough knowledge to get a working design. Basic starter questions: How do you power the motors? Do you have a transformer configured for 380v? In the USA, how would we power a 4 DOF setup using similar AC motors? To add another DOF for something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQLF06rw ... re=related (using Gamak 3p 380v .75kwA motors instead of actuators) for rotation, what modifications to your setup (including code/controllers) would be necessary? We appreciate your expertise!

    Thanks for making such a cool setup. It has us excited to try for something similar.
  11. buk

    buk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Bensheim, Germany
    Balance:
    1Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    Hi pathetic.

    What controllor do you plan to use to control your 3 motors?
    I'm currently evaluating what I'd need and wonder how to control a 3DOF-Setup via X-Sim compatibel hardware.

    buk
  12. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    For now, i am using a pair of AMC controller. One of them for 2 motors and the other for the front motor.


    A new video :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpffL36VBGw
  13. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    I had some win7 difficulties with my USB2rs232 converter and Force Profiler. Then i wrote a small program below to move my simulator for testing.
    [​IMG]

    I set the desired motions and the time delays then i start the program and take measurements.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGh_s0edKYU
  14. kubing

    kubing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Occupation:
    teacher, Industrial electronic programmer
    Location:
    kelantan Malaysia
    Balance:
    264Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    do you have any detail for motor input,,,maybe i can help
  15. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,461Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    great job :clap:
  16. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    I have 4 motor input for each motor
    [​IMG]


    thank you :)
  17. kubing

    kubing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Occupation:
    teacher, Industrial electronic programmer
    Location:
    kelantan Malaysia
    Balance:
    264Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    do you have picmicro programmer? im now workin on PIC16F777 which have 3 pwm channel.
  18. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    yes kubing, i ve programmer and also a development board ;)
  19. pathetic

    pathetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 38Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    I ve started 3dof tests with my own controller program.
    if everything goes fine i will start setting profiles (thanks to nima)


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=weeTVtRXBzQ
  20. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    331Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Re: 3 DOF with AC motor project (Starting)

    you have to syncronise motor speeds and/or the positon of the pots. The motor on the right seems to be slower.

    regards