1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom 3-DOF Flat-bed Drifting simulator with AC motors [ Finished ]

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by speedy, Apr 5, 2016.

  1. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks buddy @cthiggin ... Who Know ? you might need to add fans too on excessive use ...
    BTW ... How is your hands by now ?
  2. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,191Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Speedy,
    Still "mending" from surgery.........fusion on thumb joint is now 100%, still in therapy to get strength back and to get ALL post surgery pain to go away...........then hopefully, "off to the races" with
    my (our) sim. Thanks so much for asking. Blessings to you.

    Tom
    • Like Like x 2
  3. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @cthiggin get well soon buddy ...

    I've finished preparing the mounting for the screwball nut all three of them ... just modified the old ones .

    from this ...
    20160406_055712.jpg

    like so ...
    20160408_001043.jpg

    into this ... see how easy to move the entire cockpit back and forth "Dusty weather so squeaks will be lubricated " .


    Next ... to the lathe for end machining the screwball shafts bearing and motor coupling ... " I bought them by length - Not machined "
    the center shaft is 118cm ... the front and rear shafts are 91cm . "Custom + cheaper":D .
    • Like Like x 5
  4. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,231
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    20,415Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,073 / 21 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    that's huge! big! great! :)
    • Like Like x 1
  5. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,191Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Speedy,
    "Looking Good!" -
    Your DOF = Surge / Sway & ????

    Blessings, Tom
  6. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Actually you'll find it was bigger in dimensions in the original skp file ... the base was 3 m. by 1.76 m. :)

    Physics ASP base full structure1.jpg

    @cthiggin ... yes Surge/Sway/Traction loss like this one ...

  7. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,191Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    OK - Nice going Speedy...............excited for you!!!!
    • Like Like x 1
  8. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Painted and the ball screw shaft installed ... waiting for the SimTools sticker and some printed vinyl logos ;) .
    20160518_212131.jpg
    • Winner Winner x 7
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2017
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,017
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,218Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,068 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It looks superb @speedy :thumbs

    I am really looking forward to seeing your rig in action.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  10. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,191Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Beautiful work, as expected, Speedy. So very happy for you.

    Continued Blessings,

    Tom
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  11. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have a problem with this wire and roller feedback setup ... it is sometimes loses its position and causes the platform to crash to the frame front end ...
    20160614_222323[1].jpg


    So, I've decided to change it to a timing belt and a pulley ... wait for the cloning steps of the pulley :thumbs .
    20160614_224127[1].jpg

    Edit: the white silicon mold in the picture is an old shrinked one and gave me a smaller pulley that the belt is not compatible with .
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  12. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,191Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Speedy,
    I know the pullies and belts are sure accurate on my platform...........think you may be happy.
    Good luck friend.
    Tom
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    For cloning the aluminium pulley which I need three of it ASAP ... I decided to make a mold for it to cast it with polyester + baby powder as a stiffing filler ... I know this trick will work as I've done this procedure hundreds of times long ago cloning broken printers parts and gears ... gust using the appropriate material for casting the final part that makes the difference ... So, let's start .

    1- I blocked the unneeded extra hole with a clay and lubricated the pulley teeth with a mineral oil like used in car motors .
    20160614_232245.jpg

    2- forced a good amount of silicon with my oiled fingers through the teeth and the main hole all the way deep to pop into the center ... that is to give me the interior negative shape output ... which will give me after cating hole where you put your eline key to fasten the pulley to the pot axis " a nut will be built-in and used here too" ... more details for this point on the casting post .
    20160614_232902.jpg

    3- Oiled the plan sides of the pulley and the plastic base and pushed the silicone a little down "Red Arrow" through the pulley center big hole to make a center drilling bit guide for future drilling the pot axle path with a 6mm drill bit .
    20160614_233439.jpg

    4- continued layering silicone with my oiled fingers and a plastic peace until a top leveled surface is achieved ... leave it to cure about 24 hours .
    20160615_002801.jpg

    5- prepared the nuts and the fastening screws for casting ...
    20160615_001742.jpg


    See you in the casting post ... :p
    • Like Like x 5
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  14. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,740
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,874Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,064 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    In building my actuators I tried lots of different methods for feedback, ended up also going for a timing belt and pulley setup - has worked perfectly for about 6 months now.
    • Informative Informative x 3
  15. everaldo ramos da silva

    everaldo ramos da silva Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    merchant
    Location:
    são paulo- Brazil
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Hello friend, can you explain how you can make as many laps with the sensor and still not miss the signs?
    Thank you very much
    • Like Like x 1
  16. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I'm using a 10k ohm 10 turns pot for the feedback signal ...
    So I have a full 10 turns from start position to the end on the pot axle ...
    then actually by measuring the full motion path required and dividing it /10 = > you will get the circumference of the required roller mounted to the pot axle and you can calculate the its diameter ...
    you can reduce that circumference by a 10% so you don't reach the actual mechanical breaking point of pot at both ends ...
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  17. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Sorry guys : An honest mistake has been made ... that is due to the rush for putting all the steps in one post ... I didn't leave the silicone first layer to cure first thin give it the other layer ...
    so till now the internal layer still didn't hardened enough ...
    see you soon ...
    20160617_023205[1].jpg
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
  18. everaldo ramos da silva

    everaldo ramos da silva Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    merchant
    Location:
    são paulo- Brazil
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Velocidade Olá, obrigado por sua atenção, hall sensor de sempre utilizado.
    Eu quero desenvolver um novo projeto usando parafuso de bola e por isso, como você fez eu preciso que o sensor pode capturar as várias voltas.
    O que eu não entendo é como o software simtools pode lidar com as várias voltas do pote sem perder o sinal acima de 180 °?
    Se não incomodá-lo e pode me guiar em mais detalhes eu vou ser muito grato.
    Um amigo abraço grande.
    Inglês Desculpe, estou usando o google tradutor.

    Speed Hello, thank you for your attention, always used sensor hall.
    I want to develop a new project using ball screw and for it as you did I need that the sensor can capture the various turns.
    What I do not understand is how the simtools software can handle the various turns of the pot without losing the signal above 180 °?
    If not bother you and can guide me in more detail I'll be very grateful.
    A big hug friend.
    English Sorry, I'm using google translator.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2016
  19. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,280 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @everaldo ramos da silva ...
    In a linear motion range like mine and like most of the supported games and plugins till now... The hall effect sensor will be attached to the controller not to Simtools ...
    The sensor here gives a feedback to the controller for what the motors are doing ...
    To solve the 180 degree ( half turn ) of the Hall effect sensor you may use a reduction gears that reduces the motion range into only half turn to the pot ...
    here is how to ...
    http://www.wikihow.com/Determine-Gear-Ratio
    here is some wooden gears that you can DIY .
    https://woodgears.ca/gear/ratio.html
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
  20. everaldo ramos da silva

    everaldo ramos da silva Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    merchant
    Location:
    são paulo- Brazil
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Thank Speed, I'll use the same that you are using, so will work without gear?
    I use controller Thanos.
    I will try, thank you for your attention.
    • Like Like x 1