1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

3 DOF build (scn5 actuators) new project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by haroldjames, Dec 12, 2015.

  1. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Today I did the front of the fame. This will hold the decorative panels on the front.
    20151223_114632.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  2. WowaDriver

    WowaDriver Waldemar Jost

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Occupation:
    Bachelor of Science and Engineering
    Location:
    Hannover
    Balance:
    1,094Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Looks very very great. Ok its a little bit a copy of the SX Rig, but hey we shouldn't develop a new tires ... I'm actually in the planing and construction time of my new sim. I think a can be improved by you in the future ... ;)

    DO you have design the frame in CAD? Before do the build?
  3. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Yes, why re-invent the wheel. It will be very similar to sx rig. No I didnt use CAD. Just looking at pictures and trying to scale.
  4. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Well i just ordered a scn6 150mm actuator for the traction loss. They say 4 week delivery. That leaves me just one more actuator to purchase. I have 1 scn5 and now 1 scn6 and I will order the other one in a couple of weeks. Pay as you go project. lol
  5. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    I did a little more work on my rig over the holidays. I pre assembled the frame with the seat, pedals, monitors and the shifter Just trying to get an overall look at what it will look like. There is going to be a forth monitor installed above the 3 that are there now. 20151227_143841.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  6. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    I built my own monitor supports but I think I still have some work to do on it.

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    I think tomorrow I will take it all apart and start painting the frame and other hardware. My scn6 actuator should be here mid January from what they tell me. Im also still waiting for some parts from China.
  8. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Getting a little closer to finishing the frame and panels. Still waiting for the actuator.

    Attached Files:

    • 60.jpg
      60.jpg
      File size:
      199.4 KB
      Views:
      399
    • 60.jpg
      60.jpg
      File size:
      199.4 KB
      Views:
      382
  9. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    I got the rear tail lights working today.

    Attached Files:

  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,803
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,100Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,640 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So who do you expect to be tailgating your sim :grin

    Jokes aside nice job, it is really starting to come together.
  11. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    lol Just thought the grand kids would like it. they thought it would look cool.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. WowaDriver

    WowaDriver Waldemar Jost

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Occupation:
    Bachelor of Science and Engineering
    Location:
    Hannover
    Balance:
    1,094Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    only by the way, think you can get some problems with the T-frame behind the seat which is for the actuators mounts ... it looks like a 25x25mm quad frame which you use... it will be wiggle forwards and backwards and of course to the sides ... did this same mistake by my first sim. You have to stabilize it in the lower part like the SX Starter kits it have ...

    But the rest looks really cool! At your point i would build some bigger monitor mounts for future upgrade possibilities ... like 40" TVs and so on... But if you done the paint job, you will never change anything on the frame, because you will destroy the paint ... :( ... that a big plus point to an aluminium frame or a stainless steel frame... but yes i know black looks much better ;) my next rig will be black too..
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Thanks wowadriver, I did use 25x25 tube on the seat frame. It is a thick wall tube in the seat frame to make it strong but you are right it may still need to be reinforced. The monitor mount slides off the rig so I can change it at any time. I did think about tv's but didnt know if the quality would be good enough. May need some input on that. Im still waiting fot the motors and rod ends to be delivered. Hope they show up soon. 2 x scn5 and 1 x scn6. Thank you for comments, much appreciated.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. j0no5mith

    j0no5mith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    224Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    thanks for showing your build process, i am watching with interest and think you are doing a great job!
    I have been thinking about building a rig for sometime, infact I was thinking about using the similar materials as you are using. How thick is metal you used for the quad base frame and what type of welder are you using? I was thinking about buying a welder so i can do (or try) the metal work myself.
  15. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    The tube is .100" thickness. 2"x2" square tube for the base frame and 1" square tube for the seat frame and side frame that hold the panels. The welder im using is a Canox industrial grade welder using .30" wire with argon gas. My welder is overkill but i got a really good deal on it.
  16. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Its been a while since i posted. Ive been waiting for parts and finally they came in. I have the two scn5 mounted and working at this point. The scn6 for the traction loss should be here by Friday to complete the build. I ran it with simvibe running as well and it really pulls you into the sim. Once I get traction loss working it can only get better. lol
    • Like Like x 1
  17. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Here is a couple of pics

    Attached Files:

  18. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,104Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,053 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    well done @haroldjames!
    waiting to see it in motion. Post a video when you can.

    personal taste, I'd have preferred that actuators holders to be red (or black of course)
  19. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Thanks, i will post a video once i get the scn6 installed and all working. The yellow paint is what i had on the shelf. lol
  20. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 362Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    I got my scn6 actuator installed for the traction loss but ran into a problem. With Extra 1 set at 100% and no filters the rig is skating all over the track (too much motion) but if i set the washout filter to 1 I get all most no motion. The smoothing when set at 50% and no washout, seems to help a lot but its still not the right feel. Any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks!