1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF with wheelchair motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Bernd Manger, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    170Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Oeps I forgot to add the line in SMC code.

    Without the line motors work in SMCutils.

    Problem now is when I add the line... Can't set the motors on and pots give no feedback.

    Any ideas of what I am doing wrong?
  2. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    170Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Also I just found out that GameEngine does not connect to the simulator before I manually set motors
    on ON in SMCutils.

    When I have done that I close SMCutils and open GameEngine and then it is connected.
  3. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Setup.png
    Does your setup-routine look like in this picture and did you connect the arduino AREF-pin to +3.3V ?
    I have highlighted the relevant positions.
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
  4. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    170Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    SMC3 faulty.jpg

    Ok I see... I did it like this.

    void setup()
    {
    analogRefence(external)

    and then the rest.

    So I put it in the right order and uploaded again. Same problem in SMCutils.

    When I start SMCutils it starts up like in the picture. Maybe I have to calibrate
    the pots again?

    Attached Files:

  5. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello Jeroen,
    I have just tested the new wiring with a brand new arduino on my bread board with two scale modelling servos. It works just like by my sim.
    So i'm sorry i can't help you. :(
  6. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    170Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok Bernd, first of all thank you for youre help. I just wanted to try it out because I am annoid by the motor noise.

    Maybe I destroyed the arduino because I did not modify the code befor using the new electronics?
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    170Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have checked the wiring...

    5v goes to pot with 1m ohm resistor on the signal line.
    added 3.3v line to the positive of the pot wich is connected to the aref line on the arduino.

    I will try a new arduino...
  8. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Here are pics of the finished dashboard housing:

    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg

    The next steps to be taken:

    • complete the dashboard with switches and buttons
    • build a diy H-shifter
    • build a diy pedal set: brake with load cell, clutch and accelerator with hall sensors
    • inner cover under pedals and seat with black carpet
    • Like Like x 8
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Lookin good bernd :thumbs
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  10. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The dashboard is finished. Here are some pics:

    1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG 5.JPG 6.JPG
    dashboard.png
    I have chosen a Arduino Leonardo (in this case a pro micro), because it can output keyboard commands directly via USB. There are also three MCP 23017 connected via I2C to expand the Arduino by 48 I/O ports.
    • Like Like x 6
  11. Intruder

    Intruder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    435Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    Great work! Looking really good
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Impressive Bernd, Keep it up.
  13. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks a lot for your positive feedback ! hug:
  14. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    After having twice a shortcut in an IBT-2 H-bridge, which ended in multiple revolutions of the motor levers and ruin my feedback pots, i decided to order a Sabertooth 2x32 and two quadrature encoders.
    I have removed the electrical brakes and a part of the casing from my wheelchair motors to have place for mounting the encoders directly to the motor shaft.
    Now i have about 8 revolutions from the motor (= 8 x 500 = 4000 pulses) for +/- 60 degree movement on the lever. To find the neutral position of the levers there are two photoelectric fork sensors.

    P 01.jpg P 02.jpg P 03.jpg P 04.jpg P 05.jpg P 06.jpg P 07.jpg P 08.jpg P 10.jpg

    For the electronic part i've choosen an Arduino Mega because i need three serial connections:
    One to Simtools, one to the Sabertooth and one via a bluetooth module to a PC (later perhaps to an android phone), to set the PID parameters and watch the movements of the sim.
    I've written my own code for the arduino (similar to the SMC3 code), but with supporting the Sabertooth, the encoders and PID calculation with floating point numbers to get a better resolution.

    It is definitely better to use quadrature encoders for feedback, because the "analog to digital encoders" of the Arduino are very simple and always have little random jumps on the output signal, even if the input signal is stable. (Even the often used hall pots doesn't eliminate this effect). So there is often a need for setting a deadzone. Whith these decoders the feedback signal is absolutely stable, no need for a deadzone.

    P 11.jpg P 12.jpg P 13.png P 14.jpg P 15.jpg P 16.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
  15. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I would like to show my diy H-shifter, which is build with parts from a Wingman Strike Force Feedback 3D Joystick.
    Here are the pics:

    P 01.jpg P 02.jpg P 03.jpg P 04.jpg P 05.jpg P 06.jpg P 07.jpg P 08.jpg H-Shifter.png

    It's controlled by an Arduino Leonardo and a Monster Moto shield.
    If the clutch is pressed you can enter the gears by pushing the stick against a resistance force(coming from the motors). If you have
    overcome the force the gear locks. For the next gear you pull the stick back against a resistance force to the middle and so on.
    If you did not press the clutch the gears don't lock and you will hear a grinding sound.
    If you press the red button on the shifter, you have 5 seconds to enter the reverse gear.
    So it is protected from accidentally entering reverse.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Creative Creative x 3
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
  16. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 150Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    Very Nice!!!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,612
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  18. auryza

    auryza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Balance:
    4,115Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Nice project !!! ,
    i'm looking for a long time already how to hook up SMC3 with encoders instead of POTs. Would you share your SMC3 upgrade code with community ?
  19. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,268 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You're a genius man :cheers ... any vids ?
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  20. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks for your reply. Next weekend i will post a zip-file with the Arduino- and Processing3 programs. I can only post it "as it is" because i am still working on it. My goal is to get the Processing3 part runnig as an app on an Android tablet (to set the PID parameters and watch the movements of the sim). But this will take a while (i'm not a professional programmer).
    • Like Like x 2