1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF with wheelchair motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Bernd Manger, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Edited first post to show current state on 17.March.2017:

    P1.jpg
    P2.jpg
    P3.jpg P4.jpg P6.jpg

    _____________________________________________
    Original post:

    Hello again,
    after many problems whith my wiper motors i've begun to rework my motion sim.
    I was lucky to get two rarely used wheelchair motors at eBay.

    The specs:
    24V, 250W, ratio 23:1, 3.5A unloaded current.

    Here are pics of the motors:

    P 01.JPG P 02.JPG

    The 3rd pic shows the rubber clutch between motor und gearbox.
    Pic 4 shows the lever to switch off the brake manually.

    P 03.JPG P 04.JPG

    Next pics show the opened motor:

    P 05.JPG P 06.JPG P 07.JPG

    Final pics show the motors mounted to the reworked rack.

    P 08.JPG P 09.JPG P 10.JPG
    P 11.JPG P 12.JPG P 13.JPG
    P 14.JPG

    To be continued ...!
    • Like Like x 8
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. haroldjames

    haroldjames Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Occupation:
    Electronic Tech
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Balance:
    - 225Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    those motor definitely look well built. This should be an interesting project. I'm looking forward to seeing your project.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    :cool: Schau mal hier nach: Look here:

    http://stores.ebay.de/Takeforsale/ >>> Ersatzteile
  5. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello again,
    it's been a while since my last post, but i was too busy.

    Meanwhile i thought about the design of my sim.

    The first steps are already done, here are some pics:
    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg

    Next steps and detailed infos will follow soon.
    • Like Like x 8
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2017
  6. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Here are pics and circuit diagrams of the motor control:

    P1040403#.jpg P1040420#.jpg P1040422#.jpg

    Motor 1.png Motor 2.png

    There are optocouplers between Arduino and motor-bridges to protect the Arduino and the USB-ports of the PC. If there is a bad wiring between the server-PSUs and the motors or a wrong ground connection this could happen (without protection):
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/cxc-simulator-racer-replica.7709/page-8#post-94022

    The TTL-gates give the possibility to use optional MotoMonster or IBT-2 bridges with only one Arduino-software (MM-software, in my case SMC3 Mode 1). I use two wheelchair motors 24V, so i've chosen IBT-2 bridges.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 2
  7. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,056Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hey @Bernd Manger , nice project you got!
    The closer the monitor to the wheel, the better it is. I'd also put it a little lower
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I've noticed that the Arduino analog inputs have a bad behavior:
    An open input always shows the reading of the previous one.
    For example: If A0 is connected to motor pot 1 and reads 2.5V, an open A1 reads also 2.5V.
    The SMC3 software has a protection against motor pot breaks, but that works only on the +5V or GND wire. If the middle connection of the pot breaks, the software gets a wrong feedback (from the other motor) and the motor gets full power and perhaps destroys something at the sim.
    Here is a circuit diagram of a solution for this problem:

    New motor pot wiring.png

    Only one new line has to be added to the SMC3 software at the setup-routine:

    void setup()
    {
    analogReference(EXTERNAL); // switch to AREF Input (3.3 V)

    There is another advantage of this new wiring:
    The 3.3V of the Arduino is stabilized better than the 5V, witch comes from the PCs USB-port.
    So if the 3.3V are used for the motor-pots, the motor feedback readings have less fluctuations.
    This helps to minimize the unwanted noises from the motors, witch are reported on some posts here.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
  9. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    High Blame73, thanks for your reply.
    I've already made the monitor lower for 15cm last days and put it closer to the wheel now(see new pics), but there must be a space for the adjustment possibility of the wheel.
    Another idea could be to move the monitor together with the wheel adjustment.

    P1040441#.jpg P1040444#.jpg
    Here is my new "point of view".
    P1040437#.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
  10. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Little update:
    I've made the side parts and the monitor housing.

    1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG
    • Like Like x 6
  11. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,056Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Really well done! Looks very professional
    What about a wireless mouse and keyboard?
  12. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks, Blame73, good idea. Perhaps i will make a storage compartment for a wireless keyboard under the dashboard.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Bernd Have you tried any of the modern Sims like Assetto or Iracing ? Current modern games have Much higher Frequency physics engines and provide THAT much better overall detail from the suspension's dampers and overall physical track mesh. I Highly suggest trying out Assetto at minimum, Its a Game changer for motion.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Nick,
    the main problem is that i am living in the country with a slow internet connection and only 10GB per month. So i've had to look for a sim without 'steam'. Furthermore i don't have a high end PC.
    I like rFactor because there are the most tracks and cars available and everything can be manipulated.
    So i think i can live with the limitations of rFactor and my intervertebral discs also ;).
    But thanks for your reply:cheers.
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,056Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You could buy it then find someone who already got it and copy the game folder. This way you're almost done, you could even play offline if you wanted to
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Bernd,

    Very nice project you have there. I like how you build youre electronics.
    [​IMG]

    I am using arduino and MM's and would like to update the wiring as in the schematic you made.

    But I have a question about the 2 parts you added. Are they resistors or something else where it says 1M?
  17. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The two parts are resistors 1 MegaOhm = 1.000.000 Ohm. They have the task to push the open input to +5V. I tried first to use these resistors at the "old" wiring, but i've had to go down to 5 kiloOhm to reach the desired effect. But that affects the measurement result of the pot-feedback too much.
    Don't forget to add the new line to the SMC3 Software, otherwise you get a wrong feedback result.
    You can check the function with the SCM3 utility. Disconnect the middle pot connection (motors not connected). The green line (motor feedback) has to go over the higher red line (max Limits) and the motor has to be switched "Off" by the SCM3 software. I hope i've explained it understandable.
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
  18. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thank you for explaining... I will try it out and post back.

    Gr. Jeroen
    • Useful Useful x 1
  19. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  20. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    962Coins
    Ratings:
    +254 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  21. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi all,

    Well Bernd's pot fix works. I have modified my electronics. No more noise had all!!! It was very annoying.

    Thank you very much Bernd. Great job.
    • Winner Winner x 1