1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2DOF Wiper Sim from Interview 2010

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Deleted member 4120, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I can drive, but my right motor doesn't move as much as the left one. While driving in a right curve my seat goes to the right, but shouldn't he go to the left?
  2. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    :sos: :sos: :sos: :sos:

    h-bridge is broken! wanted to drive today .. But what happens!

    the motors were moving very very easy.
    Minten some later smelled it and the mosfets were very hot!

    then again everything I have unplugged and plugged back.
    and it has stunk again! and the cooler has turned only slightly.

    Would this be possible?
    what is broken?
    it may be that I have to replace only the mosfets?
  3. fermevc

    fermevc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Occupation:
    Networking and telecomunication
    Location:
    Serbia
    Balance:
    5,907Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    First measure PSU voltage.
    Then you could test the mos-fets.
    I will certainly make me simple MOS tester in near future because the MOSs where costly for me, so ...
    How will you know which one to replace?
  4. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    327Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    It just happened, so yes it is possible. Actually, it has happened to a lot of people already.

    It could be only the MOSFETs, it could be other parts as well. Nobody can troubleshoot your circuit so it is in your best interest to provide as much information as possible.

    Replacing the MOSFETs will not help, the new ones will probably burn out sooner or later.
  5. fermevc

    fermevc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Occupation:
    Networking and telecomunication
    Location:
    Serbia
    Balance:
    5,907Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My idea is to mount the motors to some kind of board, and do extensive no load testing and add the wight slowly.
    During the testing I would play with the profile, calibration,....
    I've even decided to mount temp. sensor beside MOS heat sinks (kind of thermostat used for computer rack fans) and use it to cut-off power.
    If anything goes wrong, I could easily troubleshoot the circuit. If all is well for a long period of time (eg. 10 hours) , then I will start rebuilding my existing race frame.
    IMO, there's no point into finishing everything ASAP, and after few rides spend hours figuring what's gone wrong. I'm not saying that something wouldn't go wrong even after extensive testing, but testing significantly decreases the odds.
  6. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    what would you do now?

    is there some other variants such as the h-bridge of thanos?
  7. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    327Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I would buy a H-Bridge that works, like the pololu motor drivers.

    You are using the H-bridge of Thanos, there are no other variations of it.
  8. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    hmm and where i can find a good h-bridge?? or i must buy an new controller of pololu?? (and can it be that my mosfets are burnt... because i havent Cooling the mosfets??)

    thanks
  9. fermevc

    fermevc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Occupation:
    Networking and telecomunication
    Location:
    Serbia
    Balance:
    5,907Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
  10. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    hi today i have changed 4 mosfets!!!

    i changed alle irlz44n to irf44!

    when I connect everything to move the motors 30 seconds and everything goes all out!

    and the mosfet on the picture issssssss veryy very hot!!
    need help plz!!

    [​IMG]
  11. fermevc

    fermevc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Occupation:
    Networking and telecomunication
    Location:
    Serbia
    Balance:
    5,907Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    As I remember, many people explained that we should use IRLZ44N, cause other types are heating too much due to wrong characteristics, or something with circuit setup.
    And, please use at least fan above mosfets if you don't want to mount the heat sinks (cooling plates).
    I think that mosfets have internal protection of some kind, and when they reach critical interior temperature, either they blow up or protection kicks in.
    I'm writing all this from my memory and I think all this is explained many times before in DSMHb thread.
    Hope someone will help you better, BR
  12. Senetor

    Senetor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    518Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Interview,
    have you checked where the diode and the links cross to make sure that they are not touching as in the photo they seem to be quite close. The link should be bent so it is under the plastic case on the diode and cannot touch the metal leads on the diode.
    Diodes.jpg


    Senetor.
  13. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    have all looked

    It touched nothing
  14. fermevc

    fermevc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Occupation:
    Networking and telecomunication
    Location:
    Serbia
    Balance:
    5,907Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Only active component you didn't change are BC transistors, why don't you try that.
    And try to measure the diodes also.
  15. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I know not what to do: (
  16. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    People

    Today I thought about all the parts again for the h-bridge for sale.
    the old solder away and new again turn!

    then perhaps it will work?
    :sos:
  17. kubing

    kubing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Occupation:
    teacher, Industrial electronic programmer
    Location:
    kelantan Malaysia
    Balance:
    307Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    most of us are DIYer...but sometime we need industrial made board just for testing or trouble shooting if something goes wrong at least. I use polulu and yes I personally built DSM also. both are great. :hi:
  18. Deleted member 4120

    Deleted member 4120

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    can i play all games with popolu?
  19. kubing

    kubing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Occupation:
    teacher, Industrial electronic programmer
    Location:
    kelantan Malaysia
    Balance:
    307Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    why not bro.. :yes:
  20. Frakk

    Frakk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Balance:
    327Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Can you play all games with X-Sim? :)