1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2dof rig motion for GT Omega

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gustau, Feb 24, 2022.

  1. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi, I just finished or almost my 2dof rig motion GT Omega. I started from the videosetup shown by SCKgaming on youtube on this link From here I give my thanks to him.


    I wanted to move all the rig not only the seat, then I put the cardan on a base wood under the seat as you can see on the images.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Also I took proof from the holes near the seat to put legs so as not to move the structure if the motors aren’t working, for example for to do other things than simulate. Under the rig is a wood near the pedals for the same purpose..

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    I put the cranks on the holes too from the gt omega base for the motors. The cranks were from template files by again SCKGaming and also the 3d parts to sustain the hall potentiometers. One of the 3D parts was broken and it was replaced with two small inserts from a cabinet.


    [​IMG]


    The motors were attached with two small woods and again to the base or big wood. Maybe I shall change by two iron bars in the future, not sure if it will resist.


    [​IMG]


    As the base is with wheels I put two of them with a constriction because the structure moves when it does big moves!

    [​IMG]


    The main electronics are in a box under the seat. The diagram was also taken from SCKgaming. Here you’re

    [​IMG]





    [​IMG]


    The two power stations are on the left side.


    [​IMG]


    Here is the handbrake. You can notice the insert at the wheel side platform to raise the space for to go inside the cockpit, this is because the wood under the seat has 3’5mm.

    [​IMG]












    The Handbrake and the VR glasses.


    [​IMG]


    I want to also show my bass shaker that I have, it’s a Home cinema bought on a second hand market, with two bass speakers, one under the pedals and other under the seat. They work from an optical sound card in the PC, the analog sound card is for the VR headphones.



    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]






    The PC and the Home Cinema

    [​IMG]





    When I have the software and tune it with the rig I will upload a video.

    Hope this helps too

    Best regards from Barcelona
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have a problem with my 2 dof motion, it uses two motors. I set all ok on SMC3 and is working well, then I try Simtools sliders on test output and everything works. Later when I go to Simtools and play AC, my left motor drops and only moves the right motor.
    What can I do? it happens on AC and ACC, not tried other games, except AMS2 that not have any response.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,017
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,218Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,068 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of all of your settings, it could be SMC3 settings need further refinement.

    Design is also a significant possibility, the rig must be properly balanced, with all peripherals attached and you in it, so did you do that?

    The motor placement and lever Center To Center (CTC) used must also be appropriate to the specs of the motor and mass of the rig. What is the lever CTC length and have you tried a shorter CTC length?
  5. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks, I think all is well balanced because it works well when I do a test on simtools before entering a game. Anyway I will upload some images.
  6. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi, I started this sequence:

    1. I go to smc3 and the rig goes up horizontally

    2. I close smc3

    3. Then start game engine

    4. I turn on output testing

    5. I move for enhance the pitch slider to the right and the rig goes up and if I move to the left the rig goes down, when I go far from 30 the rig drops and simtools sliders don’t move the rig, it disconnects.

    6. When this occurs I go back to the step 1
    It’s strange because yesterday I was playing ACC only working one motor and today, when I start ACC the rig goes up horizontally correctly, but when I go inside the cockpit the rig goes down again and disconnects.

    I attach 4 files with my configuration

    Thanks for the info
    1.jpeg 2.jpeg 3.jpeg 4.jpeg
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,017
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,218Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,068 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The rig must be properly balanced, with all peripherals attached and you in it when determining the balance point, so did you do that: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-of-gravity-to-balance-a-motion-simulator.55/

    The motor placement and lever Center To Center (CTC) used must also be appropriate to the specs of the motor and mass of the rig. What is the lever CTC length and have you tried a shorter CTC length?
  8. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, my rig is proper balanced I did all with me on it.
    I don't understand when you say "What is the lever CTC length" Center to Center. Do you refer to the connecting rods that goes from the motor axis to the frame?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,017
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,218Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,068 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Center to Center is the length between the center of the motor shaft to the center of hole on the lever where the rod connects.
  10. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi again. I did that you say, better for balance, after redoing my center point it was the same, but... I FOUND THE SOLUTION!
    After reading some threads, I saw one talking about antivirus, it was not my case but I checked the programs running in background and I kill someones, then I tried and the problem was out. After I found the program that uses my Gigabyte called Check_kill that controls a program called RGB fusion and it was the BIG problem. Renamed and kicked out from my system. Now I'm flying on the moon, hahaha... what funny is this motion. Thanks for all the clues that you gave me. A big hug for everybody

    Here a link with other users having problems with that program
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Then my big problems:
    1. My rig or motion trembles or shakes. Solution: Weld the 4 black and 4 red wires.
    2. One motor drops or falls to work after a while (on AC and ACC about two laps or when I start the lap on boxes) Solution: Check background programs or antivirus.
    I explain this because there are many threads with the sames problems, but most they don't give the final solution. Hope it helps.
    Next step VR motion compensation.
  12. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi again... "from hero to zero" It works well but... motors still keep falling... then I want to change my bridge H BT7960 for other more powerful, I'm thinking to switch to Pololu JRK model's but I have some questions. 1. Which Pololu model? 2. How to rewire again?
    I was searching thru the forum but not easy to find the correct answer.
    I have 2 DC24V for the pololu.
    Thanks in advance
    Last edited: May 12, 2022
  13. Gustau

    Gustau New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,017
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,218Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,068 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1