1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF réglable, Arduino + G27 + videoprojecteur 3D

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Tifred07, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Bonjour à tous,

    Après une brève présentation dans la rubrique concernée, je vais vous présenter ici mon simulateur maison inspiré du Sim de RacongMat que je remercie déjà de m'avoir permis de me lancer dans l'aventure.

    Avant quelques photos voici un récap de mon installation :

    2DOF: sur base Arduino Uno, Moto Monster Shield, MEG Smolka 24v, alim 12V DSP-600 (en remplacement d'un chassis fixe tubulaire PVC) avec réglage profondeur pédalier/volant/Shifter

    Volant : G27

    Salle de projection jeux/cinéma (construite pour l'occasion) : Viewsonic PJD 7820HD 1080P 3D + lunettes

    Des photos bientôt.

    Merci à toute la communauté pour la source d'inspiration


    Hello everyone,

    After a short presentation in the relevant section, I will present here my home simulator inspired RacongMat Sim that I thank already for allowing me to embark on the adventure.

    Before some photos here is a recap of my installation:

    2DOF: based on Arduino Uno, Moto Monster Shield, MEG Smolka 24v, 12V DSP-600 power supply (replacing a PVC tubular fixed frame) with depth adjustment pedal / steering wheel / Shifter

    Steering wheel: G27

    Projection room games / cinema (built for the occasion): Viewsonic PJD 7820HD 1080P 3D + glasses

    Photos soon.

    Thank you to the whole community for the inspiration
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  2. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Oups RacingMat. je voulais pas écorcher ton pseudo ;)

    Oops RacingMat. I did not want to skin your nickname ;)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  3. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,293Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Dommage de ne pas utiliser du 24V avec ces moteurs !

    Sinon j'attends de voir quelques photos du projet :)
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,501
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    95,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,051 / 39 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am looking forward to the pictures and if possible a video of your sim @Tifred07.

    Google translate -

    Hello everyone,

    After a brief introduction to the relevant section , I will present here my house inspired by the simulator Sim RacongMat I already thank you for allowing me to get into the adventure.

    Before a recap here some pictures of my installation :

    2DOF : based Arduino Uno Motorcycle Monster Shield MEG Smolka 24V , 12V power supply DSP- 600 ( to replace a PVC pipe fixed frame ) with adjustable depth pedals / steering wheel / shifter

    Steering wheel: G27

    Projection room games / movies (built for the occasion) : Viewsonic PJD 7820HD 1080P 3D glasses +

    Pictures soon.

    Thank you to all the community for inspiration
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2015
  5. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Quelques photos du simu.
    Some pictures of the simulator.

    1.jpg
    2.jpg

    Petite description rapide :
    Un cardan d'une opel corsa sur laquelle j'ai fais mes premiers pas il y a 12 ans (comme ça elle me fera faire quelques kilomètres virtuels encore)
    Un chassis en 20x20 pour le pédalier/volant/shifter fixer à la glissère du siège de la corsa
    La glissière fixée sur le chassis en 30x30 (oui j'ai peut etre vu gros effectivement) reposant en crois de 1mx1m soit un encombrement latéral de 73cm
    Un baquet d'occaz.
    Potentiomètre fixé avec des chutes de rail a placo m'ayant servi pour la salle de projection. La taille du trou de passage de gaine faisant exactement la taille du bossage du moteur.
    Pour l'alim c'est pour le moment en 12v mais je n'ai pas encore essayé dans un jeu (mais juste en mouvement). Peut être que je passerais en 24v si c'est ce que vous me conseillez :D.


    Pour la video j'ai un test sur youtube au lien suivant:


    Quick description:
    A gimbal opel corsa on which I made my first steps 12 years ago (so it will make me do a few more virtual kilometers)
    A chassis in 20x20 for the pedal / steering wheel / shifter fixed to the slide of the seat of the corsa
    The slide fixed on the frame in 30x30 (yes I can be seen fat actually) resting in cros of 1mx1m is a side space of 73cm
    A bucket of OCCAZ.
    Potentiometer fixed with rail falls a placo having served me for the projection room. The size of the duct passage hole exactly the size of the engine boss.
    For the power supply is for the moment in 12v but I have not tried in a game (but just moving). Maybe I would spend 24v if that's what you recommend: D.


    For the video I have a test on youtube at the following link:



    Bon par contre ça fais beaucoup de bruit car les patins sont pas serré et sans bonhomme dessus il décolle un peu du sol.

    it makes a lot of noise because the skates are not tight and no man on it takes off a little soil.

    ;)
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  6. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,293Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Tu devrais faire un copier/coller de la traduction google de tes posts...

    Pour le 24V je crois qu'il te faudra une autre carte que la Monster moto shield (soit une par moteur) pour bénéficier du 24V.

    You should copy / paste the google translation of your posts ...

    For the 24V I think you need another card that Monster moto shield (one per motor) to benefit from 24V.
  7. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    je fais des essais mais je ne comprend pas trop la calibration sous simtool.
    Je m'explique :

    J'ai brancher l'ensemble (une première fois avec les polarités inversée sur les moteurs j'ai failli casser les potars puisque la consigne sur la position d'arrivée était inateignable => première grosse frayeur).
    Ce qui se passe maintenant c'st que le mouvement de la bielle fais 180° or d'après ce que j'ai lu dans le code de l'arduino j'avais compris qu'on faisait qu'un quart de tour ? je me trompe?

    Ensuite sur le moteur gauche j'ai l'impression que le 0 se décale. Est-ce forcément lié au potar qui serait pas assez serré ?
    Comment limiter la plage angulaire ? peut être il y a un tuto sur le site pour expliquer la calibration parce que j'ai un peu de mal à comprendre.

    Autrement je viens de télécharger la démo de liveforspeed pour essayer de lancer mon simu avec un jeu hahaha : Suspens et moment fort je vous raconte ça dans un moment.

    J'ai aussi project cars en béta mais je ne sais pas comment on ajoute un plugin (trop pressé d'essayer j'ai pas encore regarder le principe de fonctionnement) :)

    @tt


    I do tests but I do not understand the calibration under simtool.
    Let me explain :

    I connect all (a first time with the polarities reversed on the engines I almost broke the pots since the instruction on the position of arrival was inateignable => first big fright).
    What is happening now is that the movement of the connecting rod is 180 ° gold from what I read in the Arduino code I understood that it was a quarter turn? I am wrong?

    Then on the left engine I feel that the 0 shifts. Is it necessarily related to the potar that would not be tight enough?
    How to limit the angular range? maybe there is a tutorial on the site to explain the calibration because I have a little trouble understanding.

    Otherwise I just downloaded the liveforspeed demo to try to launch my simu with a game hahaha: Suspense and moment I tell you that in a moment.

    I also have project cars in beta but I do not know how we add a plugin (too eager to try I have not yet look at the principle of operation) :)

    @tt
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  8. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Wanegain : il me semblait que la traduction se faisait toute seule

    @Wanegain: It seemed to me that the translation was done alone

    Que penses tu de mon simu. j'ai encore consulté personne et j'espère ne rien avoir oublié ou raté :S
    What do you think of my sim. I still consult anyone and I hope to have forgotten or missed nothing: S
  9. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,293Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Pour la traduction effectivement il y a google qui traine par ici et qui permet de traduire la page ^^

    Ton simu me semble très correct, à partir du moment où le centre de gravité est bien positionné sur le cardan tu ne devrais pas avoir trop de soucis.

    Est-ce que tu as déjà configuré Interface settings dans Game Engine ?

    Ensuite dans Axis Assignments, charge le profil par défaut et il faut que tu mettes un ou deux effets sur les Axis1 et Axis2 (par exemple Roll et pitch) et clique sur Save settings :
    [​IMG]

    A partir de ça tu pourras alors aller dans Output Testing et tester les axes séparés et les effets (DOF)

    Attached Files:

    • axis.jpg
      axis.jpg
      File size:
      153.6 KB
      Views:
      250
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,501
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    95,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,051 / 39 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The SimTool Manual is here: http://www.xsimulator.net/simtools-complete-documentation/

    But specifically have a look at the section dealing with the GameEngine settings: http://www.xsimulator.net/simtools-game-engine/

    You can use axis limiting while you get things sorted, to minimise the risk of damage to pots.
  11. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes merci. je vais lire ça pour essayer de comprendre ce que je dois faire.
    Mais la c'est pause bébé qui pleure ;) y a des priorités dans la vie.

    Yes thank you. I'm going to read that to try to understand what I have to do.
    But it's baby break crying;) there are priorities in life.
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,501
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    95,938Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,051 / 39 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok ça à l'air simple comme tout. super boulot :)
    Merci

    Ok that looks simple like anything. great job :)
    Thank you
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  14. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    D'autres photos :)

    Avant branchements mais les cables sont un peu limite pour aller jusqu'aux moteurs. faudra rallonger tout ça par sécurité après avoir démonté le chassis pour le passage en peinture :)

    Other pictures :)

    Before connections but the cables are a bit limited to go to the engines. will have to lengthen all this for security after having dismantled the chassis for the passage in painting :)
    3.jpg

    Désolé pour la qualité de la photo. Il faudra rajouter un frein à main.
    Sorry for the quality of the photo. It will be necessary to add a handbrake.
    4.jpg
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  15. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Pour info j'ai peser l'ensemble !!!
    40kg quand même :S sans le bonhomme!

    Quel poids pour vos simu ? il me semble RacingMat donnait 25kg.

    For info I weigh the whole !!!
    40kg anyway: S without the guy!

    What weight for your simu? it seems to me RacingMat gave 25kg.
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,020Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Very well done! a compact setup!

    Don't forget the emergency button!

    watch out your toes with the X basement ;)

    Bravo ! ça bouge : c'est une super étape qui fait bien plaisir !
    ensuite branché avec le jeu et Simtools, on n'a qu'une envie : sauter dans le baquet

    Pense absolument à mettre un arrêt d'urgence à portée de main !

    Fais gaffe à tes orteils avec le pied en croix ;)
  17. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Pour l'arret d'urgence je n'ai pas (encore) compris pourquoi mettre un arret d'urgence ? je pensais mettre juste un bouton on/off entre le volant et le levier de vitesse. Et couper l'alim en fait ? non?

    for emergency stop I do not have (yet) to understand why an emergency stop? I thought just put an on / off button between the steering wheel and gear lever. And cut the power supply anyway? i dont no?
  18. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Wanegain : j'ai bien configurer comme tu m'as dit. Mais j'arrive a faire fonctionner les effets dans simtool mais pas dans liveforspeed qui reste désespérement figé :'(

    Je continue mes investigations sur le forum ;) c'est en cherchant qu'on devient trouveur ;)

    @Wanegain: I have configure well as you told me. But I manage to make the effects work in simtool but not in liveforspeed which remains desperately frozen: '(

    I continue my investigations on the forum;) it is by seeking that becomes a finder;)
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  19. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,293Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    T'as installé le plugin et patché le jeu ?

    Si tu veux un tuto en français, je l'ai écrit ici
  20. Tifred07

    Tifred07 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    Design office engineer
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Wanegain : Merci, j'ai relu ton tuto. pour moi j'ai bien respecter ce que tu dis. Mis à part que j'ai pas téléchargé de plugin ? ni installé. En fait ça me propose Liveforspeed par défaut et j'ai essayer de lancer la démo.
    Je me posais une question : dans le gameEngine, il faut faire turn on dans la rubrique "input testing" avant de lancer un jeu ? enfin dans les deux cas rien ne se passe.
    Je suis sur un seul pc. c'est bien marqué connecté, je lance le jeu, si j'appuis sur windows la case est bleue et marqué "détecté" (je crois je suis plus devant) mais rien...

    J'ai patché le jeu et ça m'a dit sucessful.
    Le jeu se lance par le raccourci bureau ? ou dans l'appli ?

    Wanegain: Thank you, I read your tutorial. for me I really respect what you say. Apart from that I have not uploaded any plugin? or installed. In fact it offers me Liveforspeed default and I try to start the demo.
    I asked myself a question: in the GameEngine, you have to turn on in the "input testing" before launching a game? Finally, in both cases nothing happens.
    I'm on one pc. it is marked connected, I run the game, if I press the windows box is blue and marked "detected" (I think I'm more front) but nothing ...
    I patched the game and it told me sucessful.
    The game will launch from the desktop shortcut? or in the app?