1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF Platform - 1.5HP SEW AC Motors + Gearbox + VFD

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Sim Lift, May 27, 2019.

  1. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Finally - This forum inspired me to make my dream project i.e. 2 DOF motion platform. I am hoping the platform will look something like this

    motion 2.jpg

    I have started to gather the needed components. So far I have got following

    1.5HP SEW Motors + GearBox. This combination gives 140 rpm without load

    motors.jpg

    I have also installed brakes on these motors. I am not sure if I will need them but since they are already installed, why not. The motors are three phase so I have wired them in Delta configuration.

    Next, I have got 2 x LG iG5A VFDs. These VFDs are single phase to three phase.

    s-l300.jpg

    These VFDs support speed control using 4-20ma signal as well as 0-10V signal.

    For control, I will be using Arduino UNO.

    uno.jpg


    Next, I will be making motor shafts and will add 10k ohm potionmeters to these.

    As the build continues, I will keep you posted. Will also need help of members as I get stuck in something :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  2. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    A question and a small update on the project.

    QUESTION: I am reluctant to use a 10k Potentiometer due to its limited life. Would an OMRON incremental encode be a better choice? If I use an incremental encoder, homing the platform on startup will be an issue. Any code that is pre-written to cater for homing issue? I am planning to use RacingMat code for platform control.


    UPDATE: Made 2x Steel shafts, 35mm dia. Will be making a bracket once pot/ encoder is finalised.

    shaft.jpg
  3. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    New Update

    Bought 10k, single turn, Wire wound pots

    pot1.jpg pot2.jpg pot3.jpg
  4. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    UPDATE: 35mm shafts installed in both motors
    shaft.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Added Pots on Shaft of motors

    shaft5.jpg shaft 6.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    A small issue I encountered which I was able to solve. Sharing here for benefit of others

    If I went into "Axis testing" and moved the slider, the motors moved. However, when I played LFS and opened "Virtual Axis", the sliders did not move as I played the game

    Didnt work.PNG

    The problem is with LFS configuration. to correct this, you need to open cfg.txt (found in installation directory of LFS). Scroll to bottom of file and change following

    Conn To Master 1
    OutSim Mode 1
    OutSim Delay 1
    OutSim IP 127.0.0.1
    OutSim Port 4123
    OutSim ID 0

    Your port ID must match the Port Used ID identified in Game Profile Editor

    Sni.PNG

    If everything is correct, once you play the game, the sliders should move as well.

    Hope this helps
  7. Eliseu Ferreira

    Eliseu Ferreira New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    23Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi, thanks for your sharing, i had the same problem some time ago and i solved with uninstall and install the lfs again, i don't know why...


    I'm also starting do the simulador like you, i'm doing the software in C# with pid, connected with Arduino to Control I/O connected to VFDs with AC motors...

    I saw that you used motors 1.5HP with 140rpm out...
    Is it to much power?

    I'm thinking using motors 0,37KW with 50rpm out..
    I don't have much experience about this...
    Much power is not a problem, the problem is the cost of the motors..


    What you think about this? I need your opinion...
  8. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Small Update:

    The SEW gearboxes didn't hold position under load. Hence I changed gear to classical worm type. Gearbox is 1:40.

    Secondly I have learnt that output RPM (gear shaft) between 35-50 is good. Any fast is too fast and any slow is slow. This, however, is linked with your platform geometry. Platform picture is attached

    platform.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    I need help

    Using SMC3, however VFD sometimes goes into over current error when baud rate between PC and Arduino is 50,000. Once I reduce the buad rate to 115200, everything becomes fine. Only issue is that SMC3 desktop utility stops connecting with Arduino. Is there a way to change Buad rate of SMC3 utility? Tried doing it using .ini file but no option to do that.

    There can be workarounds such as hardcoping PID values. However I would really love if I can use the SMC3 utility.

    Thanks
  10. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    Occupation:
    Industrial Maintenance Manager
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    I use SMC3 with VFD and that problem has never happened to me, the baudrate must be at 500,000 only in simtools not in the device manager
  11. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    What was the gear box ratio before the 1:40 gear box?Thanks.
  12. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    It was 1:10 before. However SEW eurodrive does not hold even at 1:40. Self locking is important
  13. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Oh okay,I have two gearboxes,the ones they initially came with, ratio 1:29 and the ones I guess I will now change to, ratio 1:53,just will have to accept the drop in rpm.
  14. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    whats the rated RPM of your motor? You could try enabling Torque boost function in your VFD and that might solve any torque issue.

    1:53 will be very slow. You will not get the rumble effect if its slow.
  15. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    It is 1380 rpm.I think it will be about 25rpm with the 1:53 ratio.Will just have to test with the different gear boxes and vfd settings as you mentioned.
  16. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    Occupation:
    Industrial Maintenance Manager
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    That unless you have 50 rpm output, 25 rpm I see very little
  17. Sim Lift

    Sim Lift New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    With VFDs, there is issue of Shaft Voltage. One safety is to ground the frame. Any other safety measure that should be added? I read that covering VFD-to-motor wire in Corrugated Aluminium pipe helps. Anyone using any means to reduce shaft voltage?
  18. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    265Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Guys so what ratio gear boxes do you guys have and at what rpm are your'll getting?
  19. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    Occupation:
    Industrial Maintenance Manager
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    In my case I use 1300rpm engines and 1:25 reducer the result is 52rpm
  20. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    Occupation:
    Industrial Maintenance Manager
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    259Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    In my case I have the frame grounded, an emergency stop that instantly deactivates the voltage of the motors, and I am thinking of adding some safety detectors in the high / low part