1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2DOF motion simulator with a rotation axis

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by degrancanaria, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi all,

    some people has requested the X-sim2 config file.
    I attached it.
    I have used it with rFactor game


    Regards,
    David

    Attached Files:

  2. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    What did you experience while trying to use the Yaw axis?
  3. AaronMR

    AaronMR New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Chacho, y las botellas de ron del video???, es el combustible :D

    jaja, buen trabajo, enhorabuena
  4. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    A rotation movement is similar to yaw effect, but it is not drifiting.
    When i used the yaw effect (29), the motion simulator moved to the right when I turned on the the left, and vice versa. However, the car was not skidding

    Therefore, i use yaw acceleration (32). When the car is skiding the motion simulator is moved to the left or right.

    Perhaps, this effect is more enjoyed with other games, not with rFactor.

    Do Someone know if yaw acceleration is availabe in rally games, like Collin McRae Dirt?
  5. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Great Work! :cheers:

    You are correct. I have been this for the last several months while developing the SimXperience Drifting module. We are using the more cost effective SCN5 actuator on the rear and a different design to make that possible, but I have been observing similar behavior with the Yaw axis. I am looking into some plugin customizations to improve this effect. I noticed when applying your profile to the McLaren F1 series of vehicles (they have a VERY loose rear-end) that it also begins to rotate when it should not be. My goal at this point is two-fold. I would like to simulate drifting, but more importantly, I would like to provide drivers with a seat of the pants assistance for traction loss as they would have in a real car. I believe that I have finally achieved this. After some more testing, I will update the Commander software to include this third axis and profiles for it. When it is ready, your input would be much appreciated, as I am not sure that anyone else has the ability to try it.
  6. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    You are right. For that reason we fix the effect minimum value to 50 (in order to eliminate rotational movements when is should not be done). I have played with Mercedes/Audi of DTM, BMW Sauber F1 07, and some historical rally cars. It goes good, although sometimes it moves slightly when it should not be. Perhaps, with McLaren F1 the effect minimum value should be higher.

    Excellent. :thbup:
    If it simulates a more realistic drifting, I will try

    Regards,
    David
  7. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Portland/USA
    Balance:
    305Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hey! David!

    That is a great sim you have there!
    Very nice design, indeed!

    Tell me something...
    How are the SCN5 holding all this load you have there?
    Have you calculated how much weight each one is holding?

    I always wanted to have such moving platform design, but I am afraid the SCN5 cannot give the juice needed.
    I have 6.2 with 230 pounds... Sounds too much, even more considering the 20-25 pounds that the ECCI set might have!!! :p

    I noticed your sim moves slower than the pivoted seat versions, is it your settings or the SCN5 can't move faster with this config?

    Thanks m8!

    Cheers,

    MY
  8. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks.

    The seat structure (A), that is, seat, pedals, wheel and structure, weights about 20 kg. This structure is put over a pivot, and it is moved by two SCN5 100mm. It is like 2DOF motion simulator (Mr Burn).
    That structure is above of another structure (B) that moves from left to right and vice versa (rotational movement)
    The whole structure (A+B) weights about 35-40 Kg, but is moved by an SCN6 (20Kgf-100 mm).

    SCN5 have fixed a percentage limiter to 60%, and SCN6 to 80%
    Perhaps, in the video may look slower, but the response of system is faster. :)


    Regards,
    David
  9. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Portland/USA
    Balance:
    305Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Nice! Thanks for the info.

    So, you have about 100Kg sustained by both SNC5s....
    Do they bip (stress warning) too much?

    I am really willing to give a try changing my extrusions set up to have a motion 2-DOF platform.

    What do you guys think? Would it hold it up? About 125Kg?

    Cheers,

    MY
  10. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes, you are right. Structure weigths about 20 kg and I weight 75 kg.
    However, the pivot is below of seat. Therefore, the pivot sustains about 100kg.
    SCN5 moves the structure.


    Only once


    Regards,
    David
  11. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Portland/USA
    Balance:
    305Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hey! David,

    Today I changed my setup here from moving seat to a moving 2DOF platform.
    So far, I've got to say it is really nice feeling. Not easier to drive, tho.
    But, I need more mileage to get used to it.

    I could notice that the actuators seem to be working better now.
    I was afraid it would be too much weight. But, actually, they do not blip (complain) at all.
    I believe they work better now as they are free, and the weight is properly balanced.
    Although I have heavy pedals and wheel, this might be helping on the balance.

    I used to have eventual blips before, that I believe happened not due to weight or improper pivot positioning. But, actually, due to my force acting against the actuators.
    When you have the moving seat, with fixed pedals and wheel, you make a lot of counter force against the actuators, and this was what caused the blips.

    I still need to change/fix somethings.
    The pivot Frex provided is a piece of crap and is not doing the job properly, it is bouncing too much because of that!

    In a nutshell, I am pretty happy with the results so far and I will keep testing this setup a little more.

    Thanks.

    Cheers,

    Erick
  12. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Erick,

    it is fantastic. I'm glad that everything goes well. :cheers:

    I used a car suspension ball-and-socket joint as pivot. I think that is well written in English. In Spanish is la rótula de suspensión de un coche. It moves in all directions.

    I attached a photo
    IMAGE_161_mini.jpg


    Regards,
    David
  13. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Portland/USA
    Balance:
    305Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    WOW! That thing might be able to hold a ton! :)

    Did you manufactured the plate yourself?

    I need to see what I can find locally, a damper / isolator rated to 200Kgs should be more than enough... Suggestions are welcome!

    Cheers,

    Erick
  14. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,


    A friend and I are building the motion simulator. He works a welder and he is responsible for the structure of motion simulator

    I attach a video of pivot movements

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhXq7q0z9QU

    And two photos of motion simulator recently painted and mounted

    IMAGE_203_mini.jpg

    IMAGE_204_mini.jpg


    Regads,
    David
  15. MasterYoda

    MasterYoda Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Portland/USA
    Balance:
    305Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    WOW! It looks really sharp!

    And, the pivot seems to work smoothly...
  16. patatrac

    patatrac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    My simulator and my family.
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    318Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I do a test with a friend with a weight of 126.4 KG and the simulator works well. In addition, the gravity center wasn't adjust for him.
  17. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Very nice work. Are you able to fit it through the door to your home?
  18. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    :D , it has to be disassemble for moving an another place,

    regards,
    David
  19. degrancanaria

    degrancanaria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi all,

    after painting, improving and playing with motion simulator, I have recorded a new video where you can see our full simulator.
    Last improvements are a G25 wheel and a handbrake for rally cars.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzqGLcbFXRQ


    Regards,
    David
  20. ledfoot

    ledfoot Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Very nice work.

    Now that I have the first phase of my simulator complete, I'll be making some modifications to add a 3rd actuator for drifting motion as well. I am also thinking about suspending the pedals and wheel as well as there are times when I can feel my feet lifting off the pedals during acceleration when using an extrememe profile and I also feel a bit compressed during heavy braking. This effect would not exist if the entire cockpit was elevated and it seems from a few examples that the SCN5's can handle this as long as the weight is properly distributed.

    Would an SCN5 work for the Yaw effect in this setup now that you have completed the build or is it recommended to go to an SCN6?

    ....Mike