1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2dof for existing diy playseat

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Arazok, Mar 27, 2018.

  1. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi,
    I would like to build a 2dof platform below my exsiting playseat made by timber (see pic).
    As I am not expereinced with welding, I would like to use as much lumber as I can.
    I am still reading in this forum, but my plan is do have the complete motion platform below the exsiting playseat, so no shoulder holder.
    what do I have taken into account for this with regards to motors etc.
    With software, arduino, raspi, ... I am experienced, but not with mechanical design, motors etc.

    looking for some help of you

    cheers,
    Arazok

    Attached Files:

  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi, can someone give me a hint, if there is some kind of calculation tool for the motors I need ?
    How do I know, which torque or power the motor should have, or a gear ratio of 50:1 or 25:1 ?

    thx, Arazok
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Did you have a play with SimCalc? What you need in terms of motors is significantly influenced by what you plan to build, where you place the motors and how much mass you want to move at what sort of speed.

    So at least sketch what you have in mind, so members have an idea and can advise.
  5. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok thanks. i couldn‘t play with simcalc, my windows 10 crashed, currently I have only Linux.
    So I need to reinstall win10 first and then I take a look.
    My idea is to have a fullframe seat with shoulder mounted rods. As I have a seat already (made by lumber) I only want to build a frame that carries this seat. I need to check if I can also use lumber for this or a 40x40 alu construction. I will post my construction idea once Simcalc is running...
  6. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So, here is my first outcome of SimCalc.
    Irritating for me is, that the geometry info is in metres, where other values are in millimeters.
    Can somebody check if the values make sense ?
    I don`t have frame or motors yet, just starting to think. So I took the default values for the motors and enter only the x,y and z coordinates for pivot, motor and rod.
    Is this feasible ?

    Thanks,
    Arazok 2018-04-03 10_25_36-SimCalc Beta.png
  7. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok, as the degrees are very low, I increased the CTC length. Now it seems better...
    Any idea, if this is feasible and which motor to choose and where to get rods ?

    Attached Files:

  8. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    My project is making progress.
    I received the
    - Monster Moto shield
    - 12V power amplifier
    - 2 wiper motors (only for testing)
    - 35x35x2 V2A steel (2x 6m)

    I will post some pictures till of the week.

    cheers,
    Arazok
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Do you have specs for the wiper motors, as I suspect they would have far less than 40Nm torque, plus lower rpm?
  10. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    No, caught them on ebay for less than 10 €.
    Both Bosch, one is from Mercedes CLK, other from Audi A8. I saw one technical info on the net, there was a torque of 23Nm stated.
    Anyway, it is just for testing (maybe without the frame) the electrical wiring etc.
    So, I do not really take care about Nm.

    I will order the real motors later (if I exactly know, which one).

    cheers,
    Arazok
  11. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Here some Pics from the U joint and the server PSUs.
    IMG_20180413_173411.jpg IMG_20180413_173323.jpg IMG_20180413_173331.jpg
  12. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I made some progress with regards to wiring and electronical stuff.
    I tested with code from @RacingMat and the SMC3 code. Both works :)
    First I had an issue with Simtools: Even if direct entering commands to SerialPort was working, the output test of Simtools was not. Nothing moves.
    I changed the interface (use tab "interface 2" in Simtools) with exactly the same settings, then it works. :)

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 8, 2018
  13. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi again,
    so I made some progress, first (bottom) frame is welded.
    I also ordered 2 motors from pgsaw (25:1 ratio).

    I´ll keep you updated.

    IMG_20180523_202928.jpg

    IMG_20180523_203924.jpg

    IMG_20180523_205859.jpg

    cheers,
    Arazok
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yesterday we made some progress after month of silence in terms of the playseat.
    We finished the aluminium frame and placed the wodden seat upon it.
    Now we have to place the motors (pgsaw 1:50) and the shoulderplate...
    Why do a lot of people here place the rods so high ? Is it due to the minimised force ?

    IMG_20181228_194909.jpg IMG_20181228_201825.jpg IMG_20181228_202026.jpg IMG_20181228_202031.jpg IMG_20181228_204324.jpg IMG_20181228_204555.jpg IMG_20181228_210150.jpg
  15. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So, we did a first 2e2 test. It works, but it is far away from beeing perfect.
    The center of gravitiy is much to high !
    Now I know, why in most cases the rods are at shoulder height.
    So we have to adapt, reduce weight, increase pitch angle, .... a lot of work.

    Here is a video....



    cheers,
    Dirk
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 2
  17. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    yes, I will follow this advice. thx
  18. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,504Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, one thing is that the center of gravity is rather high, but the other thing is that the fully loaded rig including the pilot/driver needs to be balanced. As far as I see from your construction photos, this has not been done, because it seems that you have welded the universal joint to the frame before determining its optimal position.
    The link provided by @noorbeast includes a link to another page that explains how to balance a rig.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks Marcus,
    no, we balanced it, so the joint is exactly at the center of gravity (when I am sitting on it), at least in xy direction.
    The problem is the height of the center of gravity (z axis), it is too big/too high.
    So we have to reduce the height of the seat and put the rod mounting point much higher, I think.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  20. Ijanen

    Ijanen Living Room Mechanic Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    precision mechanic, media designer
    Location:
    Germany, NRW, Halver
    Balance:
    319Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino